chessbase india logo

60th National Championship 2023 R7: Neelash Saha swerves Abhijeet Gupta

by Shahid Ahmed - 23/08/2023

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) drew against GM Abhimanyu Puranik (AAI) to maintain his sole lead 6.5/7 at 60th National Chess Championship 2023. The battle between GM Mitrabha Guha (WB) and IM Aronyak Ghosh (RSPB) ended in a quick draw. The top seed of the event, GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB) suffered his second loss here. He could not convert his advantage, allowed his opponent, IM Neelash Saha (RSPB) to first get back in the game and later beat him. GM Iniyan P (TN) won against GM Venkatesh M R (PSPB) in a fantastic manner. Eight players are trailing by a half point at 6/7 each. GM Visakh N R (RSPB) will face Sethuraman in Round 8 which starts today at 3 p.m. IST. Photos: Siddhant Mahajan

Iniyan's immortal against Venkatesh

GM Iniyan P (TN) won 27th Creon Open 2023 in France earlier this month. We will mention it in detail in a separate report. He played perhaps his immortal game against GM Venkatesh M R (PSPB). IM Anuj Shrvatri (MP), IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H (RSPB), Apoorv Kamble (KAR) and Mandar Pradip Lad (Goa) held GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly (PSPB), GM Vignesh N R (RSPB), GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (RSPB) and IM Abhishek Kelkar (MAH) to a draw each respectively.

IM Neelash Saha (RSPB) defeated the top seed of the event - GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB) to move to 6/7

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) drew against GM Abhimanyu Puranik (AAI) to maintain his sole lead 6.5/7

Abhijeet - Neelash: 0-1

The top seed of the tournament, GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB, 2625) gained a decisive advantage against IM Neelash Saha (RSPB, 2435). However, he could not capitalize on it.

Position after 22...Nxf5

23.e6! Bxe6 24.Qxc6 would have ended things in White's favor. However, he missed and went with 24.Nxf5 which allowed Black to slightly get back in the game Bxf5 25.Rxf5 Qxf5  and eventually things started turning completely in Black's way.

Position after 35.e6

A dozen moves later, 35.e6?? gave Black a complete decisive advantage Qe3 36.Kh2 Rf2+ and Black went on to win the game comfortably.

The former National Junior champion, IM Neelash Saha (RSPB) defeated the five-time Commonwealth champion, GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB)

Iniyan - Venkatesh

Position after 22.Nxf7

GM Iniyan P (TN, 2502) launched a crushing attack by sacrificing his knight 22.Nxf7! Kxf7 23.Rd6 Bb5 24.Bxe6+ Ke7 25.Bxd7 Kxd6 26.Rd1+ Ke7 27.Qxc5+ Kf7 28.Rd6 Ne7 29.Qh5+ Kg8

Position after 29...Kg8

Find out the finish which Iniyan executed in the game.

GM Iniyan P (TN) played some amazing chess to beat GM Venkatesh M R (PSPB)

IM Anuj Shrivatri (MP) - GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly (PSPB): 0.5-0.5

IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H (RSPB, pictured) - GM Vignesh N R (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (RSPB) - Apoorv Kamble (KAR, pictured): 0.5-0.5

Mandar Pradip Lad (Goa, pictured) - IM Abhishek Kelkar (MAH): 0.5-0.5

Some notable results

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) - GM Abhimanyu Puranik (AAI): 0.5-0.5

GM Mitrabha Guha (WB) - IM Aronyak Ghosh (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB) - IM Neelash Saha (RSPB): 0-1

IM Anuj Shrivatri (MP) - GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly (PSPB): 0.5-0.5

IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H (RSPB) - GM Vignesh N R (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

GM Deepan Chakkravarthhy (RSPB) - Apoorv Kamble (KAR): 0.5-0.5

Mandar Pradip Lad (Goa) - IM Abhishek Kelkar (MP): 0.5-0.5

GM P Karthikeyan (RSPB) - Shadhursshaan R (TN): 0.5-0.5

IM D K Sharma (LIC) - Devesh Anand Naik (Goa): 0.5-0.5

IM Anup Deshmukh (MAH) - Priansh Das (ODI): 0.5-0.5


A total of 352 players including 18 GMs, 17 IMs and a WGM are taking part in this tournament from various states across the country. The eleven-round Swiss League Rating tournament is taking place at Boxing Hall, Shri Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Pune, Maharashtra from 16th to 26th August 2023. The time control of the event is 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1


The total prize fund of the tournament is ₹3000000. The top three prizes are ₹600000, ₹500000 and ₹400000 each.

Replay Round 7 games

Round 7 results

13GMSethuraman, S.P.2591PSPB6½ - ½GMPuranik, Abhimanyu2611AAI2PGN
28GMMitrabha, Guha2505WB½ - ½IMAronyak, Ghosh2538RSPB7PGN
31GMGupta, Abhijeet2625PSPB50 - 15IMNeelash, Saha2435RSPB16PGN
418IMAnuj, Shrivatri2420MP5½ - ½5GMGanguly, Surya Shekhar2583PSPB4PGN
55GMGhosh, Diptayan2568WB51 - 05IMDas, Arghyadip2413RSPB20PGN
619IMSidhant, Mohapatra2420RSPB50 - 15GMVisakh, N R2540RSPB6PGN
79GMIniyan, P2502TN51 - 05GMVenkatesh, M.R.2434PSPB17PGN
825IMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.2384RSPB5½ - ½5GMVignesh, N R2501RSPB10PGN
9169Bhoopnath,1706BIH50 - 15GMSengupta, Deep2474PSPB12PGN
1013IMShyaamnikhil, P2467RSPB5½ - ½5IMSrihari, L R2407TN22PGN
1115GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.2446RSPB5½ - ½5Apoorv, Kamble2082KAR52PGN
1214GMAkash, G2456TN1 - 05Kolla, Bhaavan1727AP161PGN
1350CMJohn, Veny Akkarakaran2127KER0 - 1GMVishnu, Prasanna. V2411TN21PGN
1423IMKrishna, C R G2405RSPB1 - 0Sharsha, Backer1997KER66PGN
1555CMNagare, Kaivalya Sandip2071MAH0 - 1CMSoham, Kamotra2381J&K26PGN
1631GMSriram, Jha2316LIC1 - 0Ambarish, Sharma1993WB68PGN
1762Vignesh, Advaith Vemula2018TEL1 - 0FMWagh, Suyog2221MAH35PGN
1875Lad, Mandar Pradip1954GOA½ - ½IMAbhishek, Kelkar2217MAH36PGN
1941CMNayak, Rajesh2194ODI1 - 0AFMPawar, Harshit1970DEL72PGN
20253Vedant, Garg1529CHD1 - 0CMShreyans, K. Shah2170MAH42PGN


Standings after Round 7

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13GMSethuraman, S.P.IND2591PSPB6,531,535,532,5006
22GMPuranik, AbhimanyuIND2611AAI63134,528,2505
312GMSengupta, DeepIND2474PSPB6313427,5006
45GMGhosh, DiptayanIND2568WB6303327,7505
58GMMitrabha, GuhaIND2505WB6293226,0005
67IMAronyak, GhoshIND2538RSPB628,531,527,0005
79GMIniyan, PIND2502TN628,531,525,5006
86GMVisakh, N RIND2540RSPB6262924,5005
916IMNeelash, SahaIND2435RSPB6252823,7505
1010GMVignesh, N RIND2501RSPB5,530,53424,7505
114GMGanguly, Surya ShekharIND2583PSPB5,53033,525,7504
1226CMSoham, KamotraIND2381J&K5,5293325,0005
1321GMVishnu, Prasanna. VIND2411TN5,528,53223,7505
1415GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.IND2446RSPB5,528,531,523,7504
1523IMKrishna, C R GIND2405RSPB5,52831,523,2505
1618IMAnuj, ShrivatriIND2420MP5,527,530,523,2504
1722IMSrihari, L RIND2407TN5,527,530,521,2505
1813IMShyaamnikhil, PIND2467RSPB5,526,529,523,0004
1925IMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.IND2384RSPB5,526,52922,5004
20253Vedant, GargIND1529CHD5,5262922,5004


Round 8 pairings

16GMVisakh, N R2540RSPB6GMSethuraman, S.P.2591PSPB3
22GMPuranik, Abhimanyu2611AAI66GMIniyan, P2502TN9
38GMMitrabha, Guha2505WB66GMGhosh, Diptayan2568WB5
47IMAronyak, Ghosh2538RSPB66GMSengupta, Deep2474PSPB12
516IMNeelash, Saha2435RSPB6IMShyaamnikhil, P2467RSPB13
64GMGanguly, Surya Shekhar2583PSPBIMKrishna, C R G2405RSPB23
710GMVignesh, N R2501RSPBGMSriram, Jha2316LIC31
825IMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.2384RSPBGMAkash, G2456TN14
926CMSoham, Kamotra2381J&KGMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.2446RSPB15
1041CMNayak, Rajesh2194ODIIMAnuj, Shrivatri2420MP18
1152Apoorv, Kamble2082KARGMVishnu, Prasanna. V2411TN21
1222IMSrihari, L R2407TNVignesh, Advaith Vemula2018TEL62
1320IMDas, Arghyadip2413RSPB5Vedant, Garg1529CHD253
1464Imocha, Laishram2004PSPB55GMGupta, Abhijeet2625PSPB1
1580Setumadhav, Yellumahanthi1942AP55GMDas, Sayantan2489RSPB11
1682Ram, S. Krishnan1941BSNL55GMVenkatesh, M.R.2434PSPB17
1798Shankhodip, De1883WB55IMSidhant, Mohapatra2420RSPB19
18150Harsh, Himanshu1744BIH55Sahoo, Utkal Ranjan2367ODI27
1928GMLaxman, R.R.2349RSPB55Bharadia, Yash1997RAJ65
2033IMKonguvel, Ponnuswamy2250PSPB55Lad, Mandar Pradip1954GOA75



Tournament Details

Maharashtra Chess Association

Contact Us