chessbase india logo

60th National Championship 2023 R10: It's a one-man Sethuraman show

by Shahid Ahmed - 26/08/2023

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) defeated IM Neelash Saha (RSPB) to increase his lead by a full point 9/10. He needs a draw in the final round to win 60th National Chess Championship 2023 and secure a spot in the next FIDE World Cup. He is playing fantastic in this event, carrying all the momentum from Uralsk Open 2023. IM Aronyak Ghosh (RSPB) and GM Vignesh N R (RSPB) drew against GM Diptayan Ghosh (WB) and GM Vishnu Prasanna (TN) respectively. GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB), GM Abhimanyu Puranik (AAI) and GM Mitrabha Guha (WB) registered victories to move to 8/10. A total of seven players are full point behind the leader. Sethuraman will square off against Mitrabha in the final round which starts today at 9:30 p.m. IST. Photos: Siddhant Mahajan

Sethuraman is in a different league

The last time GM Sethuaraman S P (PSPB) won the National championship was back in 2014. Can he do it again in almost nine years? It is highly likely based on his current form.

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) is just a draw away from winning the tournament

Neelash - Sethuraman

Position after 34.Nd5

Black decided to give up an exchange to create an imbalance and keep the possibility open for a win. 34...Bxg4! 35.Rh4 Bf5 36.Nxe7 Rxe7 37.Rh5 Kg6 38.Rh8 Nd3+ 39.Kg3 Re3 40.Rg2? Kf7 41.Ra8 Be4 42.Rxa7+ Ke6 43.Kh4 Rxf3 soon White lost f4 and a2-pawns and the game too.

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) is in terrific form

GM Vignesh N R (RSPB) - GM Vishnu Prasanna (TN): 0.5-0.5

GM Sayantan Das (RSPB) - GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB): 0.5-0.5

GM Abhimanyu Puranik (AAI) - GM Akash G (TN): 1-0

GM Mitrabha Guha (WB) - GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (RSPB): 1-0

IM Srihari L R (TN) - GM Iniyan P (TN): 0.5-0.5

GM Deep Sengupta (PSPB) - IM D K Sharma (LIC): 0.5-0.5

FM Suyog Wagh (MAH) made the most out of his opportunity by winning against the reigning Commonwealth champion - IM P Shyam Nikhil (RSPB)

Apoorv - Anuj

Position after 19...Qf5

IM Anuj Shrivatri's (2420) position was quite difficult. 19...Qf5 made things worse. Find out the best continuation for White which Apoorv Kamble (KAR, 2082) executed in the game and went on to win.

Apoorv Kamble (KAR) is having a great tournament

Setumadhav Yellumahanthi (AP) - IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

A total of 352 players including 18 GMs, 17 IMs and a WGM are taking part in this tournament from various states across the country. The eleven-round Swiss League Rating tournament is taking place at Boxing Hall, Shri Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Pune, Maharashtra from 16th to 26th August 2023. The time control of the event is 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1


The total prize fund of the tournament is ₹3000000. The top three prizes are ₹600000, ₹500000 and ₹400000 each.

Replay Round 10 games

Round 10 results

116IMNeelash, Saha2435RSPB0 - 18GMSethuraman, S.P.2591PSPB3PGN
27IMAronyak, Ghosh2538RSPB½ - ½GMGhosh, Diptayan2568WB5PGN
310GMVignesh, N R2501RSPB½ - ½GMVishnu, Prasanna. V2411TN21PGN
411GMDas, Sayantan2489RSPB70 - 17GMGupta, Abhijeet2625PSPB1PGN
52GMPuranik, Abhimanyu2611AAI71 - 07GMAkash, G2456TN14PGN
68GMMitrabha, Guha2505WB71 - 07GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.2446RSPB15PGN
722IMSrihari, L R2407TN7½ - ½7GMIniyan, P2502TN9PGN
830IMUtsab, Chatterjee2322WB0 - 1GMGanguly, Surya Shekhar2583PSPB4PGN
96GMVisakh, N R2540RSPB1 - 0Kolla, Bhaavan1727AP161PGN
1012GMSengupta, Deep2474PSPB½ - ½IMSharma, Dinesh K.2203LIC37PGN
1135FMWagh, Suyog2221MAH1 - 0IMShyaamnikhil, P2467RSPB13PGN
1236IMAbhishek, Kelkar2217MAH0 - 1GMVenkatesh, M.R.2434PSPB17PGN
1352Apoorv, Kamble2082KAR1 - 0IMAnuj, Shrivatri2420MP18PGN
1448FMDhananjay, S2133CHAT0 - 1IMKrishna, C R G2405RSPB23PGN
1524IMNitin, S.2386RSPB1 - 0Samyak, Dharewa1789WB129PGN
1682Ram, S. Krishnan1941BSNL0 - 1Sahoo, Utkal Ranjan2367ODI27PGN
17253Vedant, Garg1529CHD0 - 1GMKarthikeyan, P.2325RSPB29PGN
1877Mukund, Hemant Agarwal1950GUJ60 - 16IMSidhant, Mohapatra2420RSPB19PGN
1920IMDas, Arghyadip2413RSPB61 - 06Bhosale, Shriraj1930MAH87PGN
2080Setumadhav, Yellumahanthi1942AP6½ - ½6IMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.2384RSPB25PGN


Standings after Round 10

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13GMSethuraman, S.P.IND2591PSPB96670,562,5008
27IMAronyak, GhoshIND2538RSPB8657055,0006
32GMPuranik, AbhimanyuIND2611AAI863,568,552,5007
410GMVignesh, N RIND2501RSPB8636851,7507
58GMMitrabha, GuhaIND2505WB862,56751,0007
65GMGhosh, DiptayanIND2568WB861,56651,0006
721GMVishnu, Prasanna. VIND2411TN8606550,2507
81GMGupta, AbhijeetIND2625PSPB858,562,548,5008
94GMGanguly, Surya ShekharIND2583PSPB7,56266,548,5005
109GMIniyan, PIND2502TN7,561,566,547,7507
1116IMNeelash, SahaIND2435RSPB7,561,564,545,2506
1217GMVenkatesh, M.R.IND2434PSPB7,5606547,0006
1327Sahoo, Utkal RanjanIND2367ODI7,5606545,5007
146GMVisakh, N RIND2540RSPB7,559,564,545,7506
1523IMKrishna, C R GIND2405RSPB7,55963,545,2506
1622IMSrihari, L RIND2407TN7,5596343,5006
1752Apoorv, KambleIND2082KAR7,5576142,5007
1835FMWagh, SuyogIND2221MAH7,5555942,2507
1924IMNitin, S.IND2386RSPB7,55256,542,0007
2029GMKarthikeyan, P.IND2325RSPB7,55155,541,2507


Round 11 pairings

13GMSethuraman, S.P.2591PSPB98GMMitrabha, Guha2505WB8
21GMGupta, Abhijeet2625PSPB88IMAronyak, Ghosh2538RSPB7
321GMVishnu, Prasanna. V2411TN88GMPuranik, Abhimanyu2611AAI2
45GMGhosh, Diptayan2568WB88GMVignesh, N R2501RSPB10
54GMGanguly, Surya Shekhar2583PSPBFMWagh, Suyog2221MAH35
617GMVenkatesh, M.R.2434PSPBGMVisakh, N R2540RSPB6
79GMIniyan, P2502TNIMNitin, S.2386RSPB24
827Sahoo, Utkal Ranjan2367ODIIMNeelash, Saha2435RSPB16
929GMKarthikeyan, P.2325RSPBIMSrihari, L R2407TN22
1023IMKrishna, C R G2405RSPBApoorv, Kamble2082KAR52
1137IMSharma, Dinesh K.2203LIC77GMDas, Sayantan2489RSPB11
1250CMJohn, Veny Akkarakaran2127KER77GMSengupta, Deep2474PSPB12
1314GMAkash, G2456TN77GMLaxman, R.R.2349RSPB28
1415GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.2446RSPB77Om, Nagnath Lamkane1786MAH133
1519IMSidhant, Mohapatra2420RSPB77CMSoham, Kamotra2381J&K26
1641CMNayak, Rajesh2194ODI77IMDas, Arghyadip2413RSPB20
1759WGMKiran, Manisha Mohanty2044LIC7IMUtsab, Chatterjee2322WB30
1813IMShyaamnikhil, P2467RSPBRam, S. Krishnan1941BSNL82
1918IMAnuj, Shrivatri2420MPSharma, Harish1930DEL88
2025IMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.2384RSPBMummana, Venkata Ruthvik1829AP111



Tournament Details

Maharashtra Chess Association

Contact Us