chessbase india logo

Liem Quang Le wins 55th Biel GMT, Gukesh third

by Shahid Ahmed - 25/07/2022

D Gukesh lost his final round game against the UAE no.1 Salem Saleh. Liem Quang Le drew with Andrey Esipenko to win 55th Biel Chess Festival GMT (Grandmaster Triathlon) 35.5/56. Esipenko finished second 32.5/37 and Gukesh third 29.5/37. The fourth-youngest to cross 2700 certainly delivered an impressive performance. He might look visibly upset on the podium, however he has etched his name in history by becoming the youngest Indian to cross, 2700 in the live ratings. IM Prraneeth Vuppala earned his second GM-norn. He needs one more GM-norm and cross the rating barrier to become India's next GM. 14-year-old Manmay Chopra won the ATO (Amateur Tournament). Harisurya Bharadwaj Gundepudi also scored 8/9, he was placed second on tie-breaks. Photo: Simon Bohnenblust/Biel Chess Festival

Visakh top Indian performer in MTO, Manmay Chopra wins the ATO

GM Visakh N R delivered a stellar performance to finish at fourth place, scoring an unbeaten 6.5/9. GM Sethuraman S P and GM Leon Luke Mendonca also scored the same. They were placed fifth and sixth according to tie-breaks. GM Aryan Chopra is the only other Indian to make a top 10 finish at ninth place scoring 6/9. Gukesh won 5000 CHF (approx. ₹413698), Visakh 3000, Sethuraman 2500, Leon 2000, Aryan 1000 and Manmay 1200 as their prize. The 55th edition of the iconic Biel Chess Festival in memory of Peter Burri - who worked for the festival for 40 years, came to a close on 24th July 2022.

L to R: IA Laurent Freyd, 2nd Andrey Esipenko, 1st Liem Quang Le, 3rd D Gukesh,and Peter Bohnenblust | Photo: Biel Chess Festival

GM D Gukesh receiving his prize from Peter Bohnenblust | Photo: Biel Chess Festival

The norm-makers - WFM Aydin Gulenay (WIM-norm), IM Prraneeth Vuppala (GM-norm) and IM Pranav Anand (GM-norm) | Photo: Simon Bohnenblust/Biel Chess Festival

ATO Top 3 (L to R): 1st Manmay Chopra and 3rd Majed Al Helaoy | Photo: Biel Chess Festival

Manmay Chopra in action at 55th Biel Chess Festival ATO | Photo: Biel Chess Festival
Replay 55th Biel Chess Festival GMT Round 7 Live commentary by GM Arturs Neiksans and Angelika Valkova | Video: Biel Chess Festival

A total of 114 players including 26 GMs, 23 IMs and 3 WIMs took part from 31 countries across the world. The nine-round Swiss League tournament was organized by Biel-Bienne Chess at Biel Congress House, Biel, Switzerland from 13th to 22nd July. The time control is 90 minutes/40 moves with 30 seconds increment + 30 minutes.

Replay GMT Round 7 games

Round 7 results

142684GMSalem A.R. Saleh1 - 0GMGukesh D26848
252664GMNaiditsch Arkadij1 - 0GMKeymer Vincent26863
362682GMEsipenko Andrey½ - ½GMLe Quang Liem27222
472655GMKamsky Gata1 - 0GMAbdusattorov Nodirbek26881
You are seeing this messa


GMT Final standings

Top three finished with a gap of three points each | Photo: Biel Chess Festival

Replay MTO Round 9 games

Round 9 results

12GMAlekseenko Kirill2708½ - ½GMMuradli Mahammad252321
217GMMendonca Leon Luke25676½ - ½6GMSargsyan Shant26615
39GMSethuraman S.P.26236½ - ½6GMVisakh N R250323
426GMRaja Harshit24770 - 1GMFedoseev Vladimir26863
54GMMartirosyan Haik M.26721 - 0GMPuranik Abhimanyu261211
616GMErdos Viktor2586½ - ½GMMotylev Alexander26327
728GMPavlovic Milos2461½ - ½GMIturrizaga Bonelli Eduardo261910
827IMPranav Anand24630 - 15GMYu Yangyi27201
98GMLagarde Maxime263150 - 15CMPrraneeth Vuppala245729
1012GMBanusz Tamas261151 - 05IMLicznerski Lukasz245130


Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2 
121GMMuradli MahammadAZE25237,045,5341,0
22GMAlekseenko KirillFID27087,045,0350,0
35GMSargsyan ShantARM26616,547,5354,5
423GMVisakh N RIND25036,547,0355,5
59GMSethuraman S.P.IND26236,547,0351,5
617GMMendonca Leon LukeIND25676,545,5348,0
73GMFedoseev VladimirFID26866,544,5346,5
84GMMartirosyan Haik M.ARM26726,543,0346,0
913GMAryan ChopraIND26106,048,5354,0
107GMMotylev AlexanderFID26326,048,0349,0


Replay ATO Round 1-9 games

Final standings in ATO

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2 
111Manmay ChopraIND19348,048,5372,0
212Harisurya Bharadwaj GundepudiIND19248,047,5372,0
32Al Helaoy MajedSYR20157,050,5363,0
46Smeets KobeNED19637,045,5356,5
521Mirski MichalPOL18687,044,0356,0
668Abdulrahim SalemUAE16627,043,5347,0
758Sala MatteoFRA17086,551,0375,0
81Hari Charan Sai KalluriIND20416,551,0364,5
97Stijve NielsSUI19586,548,5361,0
1014Wiesmann DominiqueSUI19146,547,0366,0



Official site

Contact Us