chessbase india logo

Haik Martirosyan wins 55th Biel QBT Open, Harshit Raja second and Bharath Subramaniyam third

by Shahid Ahmed - 18/07/2022

Armenia no.2 and the top seed of the tournament scored a mammoth 12.5/13 at 55th Biel Chess Festival QBT. It was an unprecedented result at the event. He finished a massive 2.5 points ahead of the competition. India's 69th GM Harshit Raja scored 10/13 to secure sole second place. Three player made 9.5/13. Out of them, India's 73rd GM Bharath Subramaniyam H was placed third according to tie-breaks. Gukesh scored 7.5/14 in the GMT Blitz event to finish fifth. Gata Kamsky won the segment scoring 8.5/14. However, Gukesh is still in the lead. MTO Round 5 will start today 18th July at 2 p.m. local time (5:30 p.m. IST), Today is a rest day for the GMT participants. Round 4 starts tomorrow Tuesday 19th July at the same time. Photo: Biel Chess Festival

Gukesh is still at the top

Gukesh won both games against Vincent Keymer (GER) and Arkadij Naiditsch (AZE). He scored 1.5-0.5 against Andrey Esipenko, drew a game each against Nodirbek Abdusattorov (UZB), Gata Kamsky (USA), Salem Saleh (UAE) and Liem Quang Le (VIE).

Top three in 55th Biel Chess Festival QBT Blitz Open (L to R) - 3rd GM Harshit Raja 10/13, 1st GM Haik Martirosyan (ARM) 12.5/13 and 3rd GM Bharath Subramaniyam H| Photo: Biel Chess Festival

Gata Kamsky (USA) won the 55th Biel Chess Festival GMT Blitz | Photo: Biel Chess Festival
55th Biel Chess Festival GMT Blitz Live Commentary by GM Arturs Neiksans and Angelika Valkova | Video: Biel Chess

A total of 106 players including 12 GMs, a WGM and 8 IMs took part from 25 countries across the world. The 13-round Swiss League tournament was organized by Biel-Bienne Chess at Biel Congress House, Biel, Switzerland on Sunday 17th July. The time control was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment.

Replay GMT Blitz Round 4-14 games

QBT Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2 
11GMMartirosyan Haik M.ARM270612,5103,51218,5
217GMRaja HarshitIND233810,0107,01208,5
325GMBharath Subramaniyam HIND22429,5107,51200,0
44GMSargsyan ShantARM26119,5102,51164,5
53GMLagarde MaximeFRA26259,5101,51145,5
66GMGagare ShardulIND24889,0106,01153,0
78GMIniyan PIND24509,0105,01172,0
810IMTayar JonathanCAN24349,093,51095,5
913IMKatz AlexanderUSA23869,090,01116,5
102GMIturrizaga Bonelli EduardoESP26538,5104,01157,0


GMT Blitz standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtg TB1 
17GMKamsky GataUSA26458,5
22GMSalem A.R. SalehUAE26798,0
3GMKeymer VincentGER25488,0
4GMAbdusattorov NodirbekUZB26638,0
56GMGukesh DIND25987,5
61GMLe Quang LiemVIE26577,0
5GMEsipenko AndreyFID26177,0
88GMNaiditsch ArkadijAZE25772,0


Overall standings

D Gukesh still in the sole lead 24/40 | Photo: Official site


Official site