chessbase india logo

55th Biel MTO R4: Visakh N R emerges sole leader

by Shahid Ahmed - 17/07/2022

GM Visakh N R completely outplayed GM Abhimanyu Puranik to emerge as sole leader at 55th Biel Chess Festival MTO. Visakh locked down the kingside to prevent any kind of onslaught on his king and then launched an attack on the queenside. Abhimanyu kept fighting in a crippled position to find a way to revive his chances, however Visakh thwarted all his attempts. IM Pranav Anand held GM Aryan Chopra to a draw. Aryan, Pranav, Shant Sargsyan (ARM), Sethuraman S P, Surya Sekhar Ganguly, Alexander Motylev and Leon Luke Mendonca are in pursuit at 3.5/4 each. Today is a rest day. MTO Round 5 will start tomorrow Monday 18th July at 2 p.m. local time (5:30 p.m. IST). Photo: Biel Chess Festival

Five Indians in pursuit

Sole leader - GM Visakh N R (left) 4/4 | Photo: Biel Chess Festival

Abhimanyu Puranik - Visakh: 0-1

Something went terribly wrong in the opening for GM Abhimanyu Puranik (2612). His opponent GM Visakh N R (2503) locks down the kingside before launching an attack of his own on the queenside.

Position after 18...f3

18...f3 certainly speaks volumes about White's chances of getting a breakthrough on the kingside. 19.Qf1 is forced b5 20.Bxd5 White had to exchange Black's theoretically bad bishop at d5 as his own bishop lacked a decent square due to space constraints cxd5

Position after 28...Nb5

White's position is absolutely crippled on both sides of the board. Abhimanyu still managed to put up some fight and create some chances for himself. However, it was not enough, Visakh managed to convert his advantage into a full point in another eleven moves.

IM Pranav Anand - GM Aryan Chopra: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Biel Chess Festival

The beautiful tournament hall at Biel Congress House in Biel, Switzerland | Photo: Biel Chess Festival

A total of 114 players including 26 GMs, 23 IMs and 3 WIMs are taking part from 31 countries across the world. The nine-round Swiss League tournament is organized by Biel-Bienne Chess at Biel Congress House, Biel, Switzerland from 13th to 22nd July. The sole rest day is Sunday 17th July. The time control is 90 minutes/40 moves with 30 seconds increment + 30 minutes.

Replay MTO Round 4 games

Round 4 results

111GMPuranik Abhimanyu261230 - 13GMVisakh N R250323
227IMPranav Anand24633½ - ½3GMAryan Chopra261013
31GMYu Yangyi2720½ - ½GMAzarov Sergei256618
45GMSargsyan Shant26611 - 0GMGagare Shardul251422
57GMMotylev Alexander26321 - 0GMIniyan P253320
69GMSethuraman S.P.26231 - 0GMPavlovic Milos246128
717GMMendonca Leon Luke25671 - 0GMBanusz Tamas261112
815GMGanguly Surya Shekhar26081 - 0GMBharath Subramaniyam H247924
931IMPanjwani Raja2450½ - ½GMErdos Viktor258616
1021GMMuradli Mahammad2523½ - ½2GMMartirosyan Haik M.26724


Round 5 pairings

123GMVisakh N R25034GMSargsyan Shant26615
215GMGanguly Surya Shekhar2608GMMotylev Alexander26327
327IMPranav Anand2463GMSethuraman S.P.26239
413GMAryan Chopra2610GMMendonca Leon Luke256717
516GMErdos Viktor258633GMYu Yangyi27201
62GMAlekseenko Kirill270833GMAzarov Sergei256618
729CMPrraneeth Vuppala245733GMFedoseev Vladimir26863
88GMLagarde Maxime263133GMMuradli Mahammad252321
910GMIturrizaga Bonelli Eduardo261933IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh244532
1026GMRaja Harshit247733GMPuranik Abhimanyu261211



Official site

Contact Us