chessbase india logo

49th National Women 2023 R7: Bhakti Kulkarni gains sole lead

by Shahid Ahmed - 07/07/2023

IM Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa) defeated IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB) to emerge sole leader 6.5/7 at 49th National Women Championship 2023. In a battle of former National Women champions, Bhakti made a beautiful staircase pawn break at the center of the board. She might not have correctly capitalized on her advantage. However, her opponent's erroneous play allowed her to regain control and win the game convincingly. WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB) and WIM Mahalakshmi M (RSPB) won their respective games against WIM Mounika Akshaya Bommini (AP) and Rebecca Jesumarian (TN). WIM Tejaswini Sagar (GUJ) handed IM Divya Deshmukh (MAH) her second consecutive loss which means she is virtually out of the race for her title defense. Round 8 starts today at 10 a.m. IST. Photo: Kolhapur Chess Association

Divya loses two in-a-row

The defending champion, IM Divya Deshmukh (MAH) suffered her second consecutive loss of the event. Despite having an advantageous position, she misplayed, then declined a draw by repetition and went on to lose the game. WIM Mrudul Dehankar (MAH), Mrittika Mallick (WB) and Sneha Halder (WB) drew against WGM Varshini V (TN), IM Eesha Karavade (PSPB) and WIM Sakshi Chitlange (MAH) respectively. Sarayu Velpula (TEL) scored an upset over WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB).

IM Bhakti Kulkarni is currently the sole leader 6.5/7 | Photo: Kolhapur Chess Association

Soumya - Bhakti: 0-1

IM Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa, 2315) has not lost a game against IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB, 2293) at a National championship since 2015. Bhakti ensured that remains unchanged.

Position after 19...f6

Having her king safely tucked away at a8 and White's king stranded at the middle of the board on d1, Bhakti found a nice staircase break 19...f6! 20.exf6 e5! 21.dxe5 d4! 22.Ke1 d3. 22...Bc2 was better as d3 allowed White to get back in the game 23.cxd3 cxd3 24.e6 now Black has things to be worried about. 24.Qxa4 Qxe5 25.Nf4 dxe2 26.Nxe2 Rxf6 27.Bf4 Qd5 and Black went on to win the game.

Mary - Mounika

Position after 30...Ra6??

WGM Mary Ann Gomes (2315) could have won her game a lot earlier, if she had spotted her opponent, WIM Mounika Akshaya Bommini (AP, 2094) blundering 30...Ra6?? Find out what White missed in the game.

WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB) is one of the two players at 6/7 | Photo: Kolhapur Chess Association

Rebecca - Mahalakshmi

Position after 32...Rg2+

h4 or h5 which is the safe square for the king move? Rebecca Jesumarian (TN, 1750) blundered and lost her game against WIM Mahalakshmi M (RSPB, 2242).

WIM Mahalakshmi M 6/7 | Photo: FA Lana Afandiyeva

WGM Varshini V (TN) - WIM Mrudul Dehankar (MAH, pictured): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Tejaswini - Divya

Position after 31.Qc3

A simple 31...Nxf2 32.Rxf2 fxg3 33.hxg3 Bxg3 would have kept the decisive advantage for Black. Instead, she went for the flashy 31...Nxh2? which allows White to equalize 32.Qd3 Qe7 33.Kxh2 fxg3+ 34.Bxg3 Rh4+ 35.Kg1 Qxg5 36.Rg2 Rg4 37.Kf2 Qf6+ 38.Kg1 Qg5 39.Kf2 Black should have been with a draw and repeated moves Qf6. Instead, she overpushed 39...Be5, tried her luck and eventually went on to lose.

WIM Tejaswini Sagar (GUJ) handed IM Divya Deshmukh (MAH) her second consecutive loss | Photo: Ankit Dalal

Mrittika Mallick (WB, pictured) - IM Eesha Karavade (PSPB): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Sneha Halder (WB, pictured) - WIM Sakshi Chitlange (MAH): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Sarayu Velpula (TEL, pictured) - WIM Arpita Mukherjee: 1-0 | Photo: Kolhapur Chess Association

A total of 156 players including 6 IMs, 6 WGMs and 10 WIMs are taking part from various states and units across the country in this eleven-day eleven-round Swiss League National Women Rating tournament. The tournament is organized by Gujarat State Chess Association at Rajpath Club in Ahmedabad, Gujarat from 30th June to 10th July 2023. The time control of the event is 90 mins/40 moves + 30 mins/end + 30 seconds increment from move no. 1.

Replay Round 7 games

Round 7 results

16IMSoumya, Swaminathan2293PSPB0 - 1IMKulkarni, Bhakti2315GOA3
24WGMGomes, Mary Ann2315PSPB51 - 05WIMBommini, Mounika Akshaya2094AP19
340Rebecca, Jesumarian1750TN50 - 15WIMMahalakshmi, M2242RSPB9
418WGMVarshini, V2120TN5½ - ½5WIMMrudul, Dehankar2030MAH23
528WIMTejaswini, Sagar1931GUJ1 - 0WGMDivya, Deshmukh2389MAH1
630WFMKotepalli, Sai Nirupama1899AP0 - 1IMPadmini, Rout2353PSPB2
727Mrittika, Mallick1948WB½ - ½IMKaravade, Eesha2293PSPB5
810WGMSrija, Seshadri2226TN1 - 0WFMNimmy, A.G.2151KER17
936Sneha, Halder1807WB½ - ½WIMChitlange, Sakshi2225MAH11
1012WIMSalonika, Saina2223ODI0 - 1WGMKiran, Manisha Mohanty2049LIC21


Standings after Round 7

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13IMKulkarni, BhaktiwNIND2315GOA6,5303330,2506
29WIMMahalakshmi, MwNIND2242RSPB62932,527,0005
34WGMGomes, Mary AnnwNIND2315PSPB62931,526,2505
410WGMSrija, SeshadriwNIND2226TN5,5293223,2505
56IMSoumya, SwaminathanwNIND2293PSPB5,528,532,523,7505
634Velpula, SarayuU18wSIND1845TEL5,52831,524,2504
718WGMVarshini, VwNIND2120TN5,52830,522,0004
823WIMMrudul, DehankarU20wNIND2030MAH5,5273021,7505
92IMPadmini, RoutwNIND2353PSPB5,526,53022,5005
1028WIMTejaswini, SagarwNIND1931GUJ5,52628,519,7505
1121WGMKiran, Manisha MohantywNIND2049LIC5,52527,521,7505
1219WIMBommini, Mounika AkshayaU20wNIND2094AP53033,522,0004
1311WIMChitlange, SakshiwNIND2225MAH52932,521,2504
145IMKaravade, EeshawNIND2293PSPB528,53222,0003
1527Mrittika, MallickU16wSIND1948WB528,531,521,2504
168WGMPratyusha, BoddawNIND2250AP526,529,519,5005
177WIMSharma, IshawNIND2267KAR525,528,519,2504
1840Rebecca, JesumarianU18wNIND1750TN525,52717,0005
1969ACMNivedita, V CU12wNIND1529TN52425,515,0005
2036Sneha, HalderU14wSIND1807WB52325,518,5004


Round 8 pairings

13IMKulkarni, Bhakti2315GOA6WGMGomes, Mary Ann2315PSPB4
29WIMMahalakshmi, M2242RSPB6IMSoumya, Swaminathan2293PSPB6
32IMPadmini, Rout2353PSPBWGMVarshini, V2120TN18
421WGMKiran, Manisha Mohanty2049LICWGMSrija, Seshadri2226TN10
523WIMMrudul, Dehankar2030MAHWIMTejaswini, Sagar1931GUJ28
619WIMBommini, Mounika Akshaya2094AP5Velpula, Sarayu1845TEL34
75IMKaravade, Eesha2293PSPB55Sneha, Halder1807WB36
87WIMSharma, Isha2267KAR55Mrittika, Mallick1948WB27
939Rindhiya, V1764TN55WGMPratyusha, Bodda2250AP8
1011WIMChitlange, Sakshi2225MAH55Rebecca, Jesumarian1750TN40



Tournament Details

Gujarat State Chess Association: Official site

Contact Us