chessbase india logo

49th National Women 2023 R6: Divya and Srija implode against Soumya and Bhakti

by Shahid Ahmed - 06/07/2023

The defending champion IM Divya Deshmukh (MAH) had already shown chinks in her armour. She blundered a piece early in the middlegame against IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB). The former National Women champion does not let these opportunities slip by. IM Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa) also scored a win similarly. Her opponent, WGM Srija Seshadri (TN) dropped a piece for no reason and succumbed easily. Soumya and Bhakti will invitably face each other in Round 7. Six players - WIM Mahalakshmi M (RSPB), WIM Mounika Akshaya Bommini (AP), WGM Varshini V (TN), WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB), WIM Mrudul Dehankar (MAH) and Rebecca Jesumarian (TN) are at 5/6 each. Round 7 starts today at 10 a.m. IST. Photo: Kolhapur Chess Association

Mrudul decimates Pratyusha

IM Eesha Karavade (PSPB) missed her opportunity to win against WIM Mounika Akshaya Bommini (AP). WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB) and IM Padmini Rout (PSPB) were held to solid draws by WIM Mahalakshmi M (RSPB) and Mrittika Mallick (WB) respectively. WIM Mrudul Dehankar (MAH) completely dominated WGM Pratyusha Bodda (AP). Yashita Rout (ODI) and WCM Bristy Mukherjee (WB) drew against WGM Kiran Manisha Mohanty (LIC) and WIM Vishwa Vasnawala (GUJ) respectively. The reigning National Under-13 Girls and Amateur Below 2300 Women champion, Sneha Halder (WB) got the better of IM Nisha Mohota (PSPB).

IM Soumya Swaminathan and... | Photo: Kolhapur Chess Association

IM Bhakti Kulkarni are the coleaders 5.5/6 | Photo: Kolhapur Chess Association

Divya - Soumya

Position after 15.Nb5??

IM Divya Deshmukh (MAH, 2389) made an unforced 15.Nb5?? Qc4 immediately dropped a knight 16.Nd6 Qxb4. Instead 16.Qa4 a5 17.Bd2 axb4 18.Qxa8 Qxb5 would have been slightly better for White than what she played. Soon her opponent, IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB, 2293) returned an exchange to free up her pieces, gain some activity and launched a devastating attack on the kingside.

Position after 35...g4

This is how Soumya likes to play, attacking chess. Since she had a total control of the position, launching a flank attack was quite natural. White won the game in another seven moves.

IM Soumya Swaminathan avenged her loss earlier this year at 20th National Team Women 2023 against IM Divya Deshmukh | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Bhakti - Srija

Position after 17...Rxe2?

Black made a questionable exchange in the previous move 16...Bxd4 17.Rxd4. There was no necessity to exchange the dark-square bishop for the knight at d4 which was harmless. A simple retreat of the knight after 16...Qb6 17.e3 Na6 would have sufficed. The game continued 17...Rxe2? 18.Bf1 Nc2 Black had already cornered herself, thus these type of moves had to be played. 19.Rxd5 Qxd5 20.Bxe2 Ne1 21.f3 Qc5+ 22.Kf1 Re8 23.Be3 Qh5 24.Qxe1 Black has lost too many pieces and there is too little to go on.

Eesha - Mounika

Position after 23...Rac8

IM Eesha Karavade (PSPB, 2293) missed a great opportunity to gain material against WIM Mounika Akshaya Bommini (AP, 2094). Find out what did white miss.

WIM Mounika Akshaya (AP) survived a nearly lost position to move to 5/6 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The reigning National Under-13 Girls and Amateur Below 2300 Women champion defeated IM Nisha Mohota showcasing nice technique in the endgame | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

A total of 156 players including 6 IMs, 6 WGMs and 10 WIMs are taking part from various states and units across the country in this eleven-day eleven-round Swiss League National Women Rating tournament. The tournament is organized by Gujarat State Chess Association at Rajpath Club in Ahmedabad, Gujarat from 30th June to 10th July 2023. The time control of the event is 90 mins/40 moves + 30 mins/end + 30 seconds increment from move no. 1.

Replay Round 6 games

Round 6 results

11WGMDivya, Deshmukh2389MAH0 - 1IMSoumya, Swaminathan2293PSPB6PGN
23IMKulkarni, Bhakti2315GOA1 - 0WGMSrija, Seshadri2226TN10PGN
39WIMMahalakshmi, M2242RSPB½ - ½WGMGomes, Mary Ann2315PSPB4PGN
45IMKaravade, Eesha2293PSPB4½ - ½WIMBommini, Mounika Akshaya2094AP19PGN
52IMPadmini, Rout2353PSPB4½ - ½4Mrittika, Mallick1948WB27PGN
623WIMMrudul, Dehankar2030MAH41 - 04WGMPratyusha, Bodda2250AP8PGN
715WIMArpita, Mukherjee2160WB4½ - ½4WIMTejaswini, Sagar1931GUJ28PGN
817WFMNimmy, A.G.2151KER4½ - ½4Velpula, Sarayu1845TEL34PGN
935Manasa, K.1827KAR40 - 14WGMVarshini, V2120TN18PGN
1020WFMSaranya, J2050TN40 - 14Rebecca, Jesumarian1750TN40PGN


Standings after Round 6

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13IMKulkarni, BhaktiwNIND2315GOA5,5222522,5005
26IMSoumya, SwaminathanwNIND2293PSPB5,5192220,0005
39WIMMahalakshmi, MwNIND2242RSPB52123,518,5004
419WIMBommini, Mounika AkshayaU20wNIND2094AP520,523,518,7504
518WGMVarshini, VwNIND2120TN520,522,517,5004
64WGMGomes, Mary AnnwNIND2315PSPB52022,518,2504
723WIMMrudul, DehankarU20wNIND2030MAH5182116,5005
840Rebecca, JesumarianU18wNIND1750TN51718,514,5005
91WGMDivya, DeshmukhU18wNIND2389MAH4,5232618,2504
1010WGMSrija, SeshadriwNIND2226TN4,5232517,2504
115IMKaravade, EeshawNIND2293PSPB4,5222517,7503
1211WIMChitlange, SakshiwNIND2225MAH4,52224,517,2504
1334Velpula, SarayuU18wSIND1845TEL4,520,52417,5003
1427Mrittika, MallickU16wSIND1948WB4,520,523,516,2504
1515WIMArpita, MukherjeewNIND2160WB4,520,52316,2504
162IMPadmini, RoutwNIND2353PSPB4,5202315,7504
1712WIMSalonika, SainaU20wNIND2223ODI4,52022,515,2504
1830WFMKotepalli, Sai NirupamawNIND1899AP4,5202215,2504
1921WGMKiran, Manisha MohantywNIND2049LIC4,518,52115,2504
2028WIMTejaswini, SagarwNIND1931GUJ4,518,52113,2504


Round 7 pairings

16IMSoumya, Swaminathan2293PSPBIMKulkarni, Bhakti2315GOA3
24WGMGomes, Mary Ann2315PSPB55WIMBommini, Mounika Akshaya2094AP19
340Rebecca, Jesumarian1750TN55WIMMahalakshmi, M2242RSPB9
418WGMVarshini, V2120TN55WIMMrudul, Dehankar2030MAH23
528WIMTejaswini, Sagar1931GUJWGMDivya, Deshmukh2389MAH1
630WFMKotepalli, Sai Nirupama1899APIMPadmini, Rout2353PSPB2
727Mrittika, Mallick1948WBIMKaravade, Eesha2293PSPB5
810WGMSrija, Seshadri2226TNWFMNimmy, A.G.2151KER17
936Sneha, Halder1807WBWIMChitlange, Sakshi2225MAH11
1012WIMSalonika, Saina2223ODIWGMKiran, Manisha Mohanty2049LIC21



Tournament Details

Gujarat State Chess Association: Official site

Contact Us