chessbase india logo

Magnus Carlsen is the winner of Tata Steel Chess India 2019

by Satanick Mukhuty - 26/11/2019

The Tata Steel Chess India 2019 came to conclusion with yet another stupendous Magnus Carlsen domination. The reigning World Champion proved it once again that he is truly the best in the world by finishing ahead of the rest of the field by as many as four points which included performing at an astronomical 3027 rating in the rapid and scoring an impressive 12.0/18 points in the blitz! In this brief express report we bring you the highlights of the last day, the glimpses from the colourful closing ceremony, and more.  

Magnus Carlsen receiving the glittering champion's trophy from Chanakya Chaudhary, VP Corporate Services, Tata Steel Ltd | Photo: Amruta Mokal

After his stellar performances in the rapid section of the event and then in the first day of blitz, the World Champion Magnus Carlsen was already ahead of the rest of the field by five points. In order to clinch the tournament, all he needed to do was avoid a disaster and this he certainly succeeded in without much difficulty. After making quick draws in the first few rounds, the Norwegian beat Harikrishna Pentala and drew Ian Nepomniachtchi in rounds 13 and 15 respectively and that was sufficient for him to win the event with three blitz rounds to spare.

Magnus Carlsen won a prize money of 37,500 US Dollars (Approximately 29 Lakh rupees) for winning the Tata Steel Chess India. The World Champion will play the Grand Chess Tour final next in London which starts from 2nd of December | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Later it was revealed that Magnus wasn't particularly in the best of his health in the final day of the event and thus wanted to wind things up taking as little stress as possible. 

Magnus shocked everyone in the very first game of the day by making a draw in just five moves against Vidit Gujrathi! This might as well be the shortest game he has ever played in his career!

Hikaru Nakamura had a phenomenal run in the blitz portion of the event. He scored an unbeaten 12.0/18 points which helped him to secure the sole second place after Magnus | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Wesley So and Anish Giri, both of whom scored 18.5 points in all, were the next best performing players in the event and they were followed by Ding Liren who secured 18 points and impressed one and all by beating none other than Magnus Carlsen twice!

Ding Liren, the man of very few words, actually proved to be the real giant-killer in the event | Photo: Amruta Mokal

All the players were duly felicitated in what was a vibrant closing ceremony. It has to be said that they truly made chess special in the last few days in the city! | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Qualifiers to the Grand Chess Tour finals

The four players who qualified for the Grand Chess Tour finals that starts from 2nd of December in London are Magnus Carlsen, Ding Liren, Levon Aronian, and Maxime Vachier-Lagrave. Vishy Anand had to finish sixth in this Tata Steel Chess India event to make into the London finals but unfortunately he finished seventh and missed his chance narrowly.  

Tania Sachdev, the official commentator of Grand Chess Tour at the venue, asks Magnus a few questions about his overall playing experience in Kolkata | Photo: Amruta Mokal

The final standings (Rapid and blitz combined)

Magnus finished head and shoulders above the rest even though he was not seen at his best on the final day of the event. 

Results of blitz rounds from ten to eighteen

Round 10 on 2019/11/26 at 01.00 P.M.
110IND2617GMHarikrishna Pentala½ - ½GMAronian LevonARM28181
29RUS2830GMNepomniachtchi Ian1 - 0GMAnand ViswanathanIND27912
38CHN2840GMDing Liren½ - ½GMSo WesleyUSA27633
47NOR2828GMCarlsen Magnus½ - ½GMVidit Santosh GujrathiIND27444
56USA2871GMNakamura Hikaru½ - ½GMGiri AnishNED27405
Round 11 on 2019/11/26 at 01.30 P.M.
16USA2871GMNakamura Hikaru1 - 0GMHarikrishna PentalaIND261710
25NED2740GMGiri Anish½ - ½GMCarlsen MagnusNOR28287
34IND2744GMVidit Santosh Gujrathi½ - ½GMDing LirenCHN28408
43USA2763GMSo Wesley½ - ½GMNepomniachtchi IanRUS28309
52IND2791GMAnand Viswanathan½ - ½GMAronian LevonARM28181
Round 12 on 2019/11/26 at 02.00 P.M.
110IND2617GMHarikrishna Pentala0 - 1GMAnand ViswanathanIND27912
21ARM2818GMAronian Levon0 - 1GMSo WesleyUSA27633
39RUS2830GMNepomniachtchi Ian½ - ½GMVidit Santosh GujrathiIND27444
48CHN2840GMDing Liren½ - ½GMGiri AnishNED27405
57NOR2828GMCarlsen Magnus½ - ½GMNakamura HikaruUSA28716
Round 13 on 2019/11/26 at 02.30 P.M.
17NOR2828GMCarlsen Magnus1 - 0GMHarikrishna PentalaIND261710
26USA2871GMNakamura Hikaru½ - ½GMDing LirenCHN28408
35NED2740GMGiri Anish½ - ½GMNepomniachtchi IanRUS28309
44IND2744GMVidit Santosh Gujrathi1 - 0GMAronian LevonARM28181
53USA2763GMSo Wesley0 - 1GMAnand ViswanathanIND27912
Round 14 on 2019/11/26 at 03.00 P.M.
110IND2617GMHarikrishna Pentala0 - 1GMSo WesleyUSA27633
22IND2791GMAnand Viswanathan0 - 1GMVidit Santosh GujrathiIND27444
31ARM2818GMAronian Levon½ - ½GMGiri AnishNED27405
49RUS2830GMNepomniachtchi Ian0 - 1GMNakamura HikaruUSA28716
58CHN2840GMDing Liren1 - 0GMCarlsen MagnusNOR28287
Round 15 on 2019/11/26 at 03.30 P.M.
18CHN2840GMDing Liren0 - 1GMHarikrishna PentalaIND261710
27NOR2828GMCarlsen Magnus½ - ½GMNepomniachtchi IanRUS28309
36USA2871GMNakamura Hikaru1 - 0GMAronian LevonARM28181
45NED2740GMGiri Anish1 - 0GMAnand ViswanathanIND27912
54IND2744GMVidit Santosh Gujrathi½ - ½GMSo WesleyUSA27633
Round 16 on 2019/11/26 at 04.00 P.M.
110IND2617GMHarikrishna Pentala½ - ½GMVidit Santosh GujrathiIND27444
23USA2763GMSo Wesley½ - ½GMGiri AnishNED27405
32IND2791GMAnand Viswanathan½ - ½GMNakamura HikaruUSA28716
41ARM2818GMAronian Levon0 - 1GMCarlsen MagnusNOR28287
59RUS2830GMNepomniachtchi Ian0 - 1GMDing LirenCHN28408
Round 17 on 2019/11/26 at 04.30 P.M.
19RUS2830GMNepomniachtchi Ian1 - 0GMHarikrishna PentalaIND261710
28CHN2840GMDing Liren1 - 0GMAronian LevonARM28181
37NOR2828GMCarlsen Magnus1 - 0GMAnand ViswanathanIND27912
46USA2871GMNakamura Hikaru½ - ½GMSo WesleyUSA27633
55NED2740GMGiri Anish1 - 0GMVidit Santosh GujrathiIND27444
Round 18 on 2019/11/26 at 05.00 P.M.
110IND2617GMHarikrishna Pentala½ - ½GMGiri AnishNED27405
24IND2744GMVidit Santosh Gujrathi0 - 1GMNakamura HikaruUSA28716
33USA2763GMSo Wesley½ - ½GMCarlsen MagnusNOR28287
42IND2791GMAnand Viswanathan½ - ½GMDing LirenCHN28408
51ARM2818GMAronian Levon½ - ½GMNepomniachtchi IanRUS28309

A more comprehensive report on the event with extra photos, game analyses etc will be published soon on our website. Stay tuned!

Contact Us