chessbase india logo

Arjun Erigaisi set to battle Kramnik, Grischuk, Aronian, Gelfand, Yifan and co. at Satty Zhuldyz Rapid and Blitz

by Shahid Ahmed - 20/04/2023

India no.5 and World no.37, Arjun Erigaisi will take part in his second rated tournament of the year, Satty Zhuldyz in Astana, Kazakhstan. Arjun will battle against the 14th world champion - Vladimir Kramnik, three-time World Blitz champion - Alexander Grischuk, the only two-time World Cup winner in history - Levon Aronian, Germany no.1 Vincent Keymer, the former world championship challenger - Boris Gelfand, World no.1 woman - Hou Yifan, Armenia no.2 Haik Martirosyan, 44th Olympiad Gold medalists - Javokhir Sindarov and Jakhongir Vakhidov, former World Rapid and three-time World Blitz Women's champion, Kateryna Lagno, and the reigning two-time World Blitz Women's champion - IM Bibisara Assaubayeva. Who do you think will win the tournament? Round 1 starts today at 5 p.m. local time, 4:30 p.m. IST. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

A star-studded Rapid and Blitz event

The first side event of the FIDE World Championship 2023 concluded yesterday. The super-strong Satty Zhuldyz Rapid and Blitz event part of the Satty Zhulyz Chess Festival starts today. Arjun Erigaisi will face GM Haik Martirosyan (ARM), GM Jakhongir Sindarov (UZB), GM Hou Yifan (CHN) and GM Alexander Grischuk in the first four rounds starting today.

Two-time World Cup winner - GM Levon Aronian, reigning two-time consecutive World Blitz Women's champion - IM Bibisara Assaubayeva and 14th World Champion - GM Vladimir Kramnik | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Satty Zhuldyz Chess Festival Official logo | Photo: Official site

Press Conference

Press Conference panel (L to R): WFM Maria Emelianova, GM Levon Aronian, IM Bibisara Assaubayeva, GM Vladimir Kramnik and Alexandr Ten | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Press Officer - WFM Maria Emelianova (FRA) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The only two-time FIDE World Cup winner - GM Levon Aronian (USA) and reignin two-time consecutive World Blitz Women's champion - IM Bibisara Assaubayeva (KAZ) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

14th World Champion - GM Vladimir Kramnik | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Alexandr Ten, President of JSC Satty Zhuldyz | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Press Conference | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy


The star-studded line-up of dozen participants is - GM Vladimir Kramnik, GM Levon Aronian (USA), GM Boris Gelfand (ISR), GM Alexander Grischuk, GM Hou Yifan (CHN), GM Javokhir Sindarov (UZB), GM Vincent Keymer (GER), GM Hayk Martirosyan (ARM), GM Kateryna Lagno, GM Arjun Erigaisi, GM Jakhongir Vakhidov (UZB) and IM Bibisara Assaubayeva (KAZ).

The Satty Zhuldyz Rapid and Blitz line-up | Photo: Official site


The Rapid event will take place from 20th to 22nd April. Rest day is on 23rd April. The Blitz event will take place on 24th and 25th April 2023.

Satty Zhuldyz Chess Festival schedule | Photo: Official site

Total prize fund

The total prize fund is 120000000 KZT.


The Official Commentators for the Rapid and Blitz events will be - IM and WGM Jovanka Houska (ENG), FM James Canty (USA), Anvar Shaikhymov (KAZ) and Talgat Gubaidulin (KAZ).

The Official Commentary team | Photo: Official site
Arjun Erigaisi arrives in Astana, Kazakhstan | Video: ChessBase India
Inauguration Ceremony | Video: ChessBase India
Kramnik and Aronian answers at the Press Conference | Video: ChessBase India
I wish Arjun Erigaisi all the best - Digvijay Patil, Second Secretary, Embassy of India in Astana | Video: ChessBase India
Levon Aronian and Boris Gelfand watch Arjun Erigaisi play a friendly game | Video: ChessBase India
Watch Satty Zhuldyz Rapid Round 1-4 Live Commentary by IM and WGM Jovanka Houska, FM James Canty, Anvar Shaikhymov and Talgat Gubaidulin | Video: ChessBase India

Day 1 Rapid Round 1-4 pairings

Round 1 on 2023/04/20
112359IMAssaubayeva, BibisaraGMLagno, Kateryna248512
222626GMGelfand, BorisGMVakhidov, Jakhongir251311
332630GMKeymer, VincentGMGrischuk, Alexander273110
442756GMKramnik, VladimirGMHou, Yifan26189
552720GMAronian, LevonGMSindarov, Javokhir25788
662685GMErigaisi, ArjunGMMartirosyan, Haik M.25877
Round 2 on 2023/04/20
1122485GMLagno, KaterynaGMMartirosyan, Haik M.25877
282578GMSindarov, JavokhirGMErigaisi, Arjun26856
392618GMHou, YifanGMAronian, Levon27205
4102731GMGrischuk, AlexanderGMKramnik, Vladimir27564
5112513GMVakhidov, JakhongirGMKeymer, Vincent26303
612359IMAssaubayeva, BibisaraGMGelfand, Boris26262
Round 3 on 2023/04/20
122626GMGelfand, BorisGMLagno, Kateryna248512
232630GMKeymer, VincentIMAssaubayeva, Bibisara23591
342756GMKramnik, VladimirGMVakhidov, Jakhongir251311
452720GMAronian, LevonGMGrischuk, Alexander273110
562685GMErigaisi, ArjunGMHou, Yifan26189
672587GMMartirosyan, Haik M.GMSindarov, Javokhir25788
Round 4 on 2023/04/20
1122485GMLagno, KaterynaGMSindarov, Javokhir25788
292618GMHou, YifanGMMartirosyan, Haik M.25877
3102731GMGrischuk, AlexanderGMErigaisi, Arjun26856
4112513GMVakhidov, JakhongirGMAronian, Levon27205
512359IMAssaubayeva, BibisaraGMKramnik, Vladimir27564
622626GMGelfand, BorisGMKeymer, Vincent26303



Official site

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us