chessbase india logo

MPL 34th National U-12 R1-2: Daksha Rudra and Ayaan Garg score big upsets

by Shahid Ahmed - 10/04/2022

9-year-old Ayaan Garg (CHA) stunned one of the tournament favorites Mrinmoy Rajkhowa (ASM) in Round 2 of MPL 34th National Under-12 Open Chess Championship 2022. When Mrinmoy was unable to find a complex long line to seize his advantage, a retreat cost him the upper hand and the balance completely shifted towards the kid from Chandigarh. He converted his advantage without giving any chance to his opponent. In the Girls event, Daksha Rudra (WB) defeated second-seeded Arshiya Das (TRI) in the first round. The rating favorite blundered in the opposite color bishop endgame. Round 3 starts today at 10:00 a.m. IST today. Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

No easy start for the top seeds

Among the top seeds, third-seeded Shreya G Hipparagi (KAR) had an interesting major piece endgame which seemed like could have gone either player's way. However, a final mistake by Anaishaa Pinkesh Nahar (MAH) allowed Shreya to escape with a draw by perpetual check.

Ayaan Garg scored a fine victory against Mrinmoy Rajkhowa | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

Open Round 2: Ayaan - Mrinmoy: 0-1

9-year-old Ayaan Garg (CHA, 1220) got into trouble in the middlegame against the third seeded Mrinmoy Rajkhowa (ASM, 1705).

Position after 16.g3

15...exd4 16.g3 led to the above position. Black has the substantial advantage. He needed to play 16...d3 17.Bxd8 Qxd8 18.Kg2 Ne5 19.f4 Bh6 20.Rb1 c4 to maintain his advantage. However, it was certainly not an easy one to find. 16...Nf6 was played in the game which turned things in White's favor 17.cxd4 Bh3 18.Rfd1 b6 19.Nf4 Bg4 20.Re1 Re8 21.Bxf6 Bxf6 22.Nd5 Qd8 23.Qf4 Bg5 24.Qxg4 Bxc1 25.Rxc1. Black lost two minor pieces for a rook and soon he blundered another piece and went on to lose the game.

Ayaan Garg (CHA) capitalized on his opponent's mistake | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

Manas Gaikwad (MAH) survived a big scare in the endgame against Sai Abhinav Kuchibhotla (TN) | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

Satyaki - Tanmay: 0-1

Theoretically, a Rook vs Rook and Bishop endgame is a draw. Of course the defendant must play correctly to save the game by surviving 50 moves. If the defender has a pawn, does that change the equation? 9-year-old Satyaki G Gokul (KER, 1207) had a tall task to defend against 10-year-old Tanmay Rajbongshi (ASM, 1684).

Position after 70...Kd4

71.Rc8 was played and it was over for White after Bc4. Find out what White could have done instead to continue the fight.

Satyaki G Gokul (KER) put up a very good fight against Tanmay Rajbongshi (ASM) | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

Round 1 Girls: Arshiya - Daksha: 0-1

Second seeded Arshiya Das (TRI, 1569) gained an exchange on move no.17. She returned it to her opponent Daksha Rudraw (WB, 1028) in the next three moves. After a lot of back and forth play, the minor piece endgame liquidated into an opposite color bishop endgame.

Position after 62...Kc5

63.Bd2 would have been a good try for White to prevent the black king from advancing further. 63.Kf4 made things easier for Black 63...Kd4 and she won the game eventually.

Arshiya Das (TRI) made the final mistake against Daksha Rudra (WB) | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

Round 2: Shreya - Anaishaa: 0.5-0.5

Third seeded Shreya G Hipparagi (MAH, 1552) got herself a decisive advantage in the major piece endgame against her statemate Anaishaa Pinkesh Nahar (MAH, 1137).

Position after 42...f3

Black is making some deadly threats at g2 in the above position. How should White respond? White blundered 43.g3 which gave Black a completely winning position. She missed a perpetual check which allowed Shreya to escape with a draw.

Anaishaa Pinkesh Nahar (MAH) was on the verge of victory in the final moments of an exciting major piece endgame | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

Photo Gallery

Inaugural first move is being made | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

Players whose birthday was on the first day 9th April were celebrated before the first round | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

Special chess set which was used for the inaugural first move | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

Top boards of each section with trophies in the background | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

10-year-old visually challenged John Harris Sujin (TN) in action against Avyaya Kumara Bhat (KAR) in Round 1 | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

Karnataka State Chess Association President D P Anantha addresses the audience | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

The winners' trophies | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

The Chief Arbiter IA Vijayaraghavan V addresses the technical meeting | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

The tournament hall | Photo: Saishyam Srikanth

For more Round 1 and 2 photos, please click here.


A total of 237 players in the Open and 134 players in the Girls tournament are taking part. It is organized by Mandya Chess Academy, Mandya District Chess Associationn and New Tumkur District Chess Association. Both tournaments are taking place at Hotel Amaravathi, Mandya, Karnatak from 9th to 14th April 2022. The eleven-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1

Replay Open Round 1-2 games

Replay Girls Round 1-2 games

Open Round 2 results

164Joseph Tom122710 - 11Adireddy Arjun18891
22AIMVaz Ethan177211 - 01Anshul Panicker122065
366Ayaan Garg122011 - 01Mrinmoy Rajkhowa17053
44Gaikwad Manas169811 - 01Sai Abhinav Kuchibhotla121767
568Satyaki G Gokul120710 - 11Tanmay Rajbongshi16845
66Jain Kushagra167511 - 01Avyaya Kumara Bhat120369
78Aakash G161111 - 01Kishowre U119671
870Aatman Raval119910 - 11Goutham Krishna H16099
972Jagreet Misra119110 - 11Aansh Nandan Nerurkar156411
1012Sathvik Adiga156311 - 01AFMNehanraj Ramesh119073


Round 3 pairings

11Adireddy Arjun188922Ehaan Shaikh136938
240Mitul K H134722AIMVaz Ethan17722
341AIMMuthukumar Mukesh134522Gaikwad Manas16984
45Tanmay Rajbongshi168422Sriram Adarsh Uppala134542
543Vatsal Singla134322Jain Kushagra16756
645Mithiran A132822Aakash G16118
79Goutham Krishna H160922Challa Saharsha131648
811Aansh Nandan Nerurkar156422Aditya Kunal Patil129952
953Rishabh Kumar129922Sathvik Adiga156312
1013Sharnarthi Viresh154922Chinmay Kowshik127254


Girls Round 2 results

11AFMShubhi Gupta161011 - 01Sandeepa Priyadarshini Sahoo114238
23Shreya G Hipparagi15521½ - ½1Anaishaa Pinkesh Nahar113740
339Rudra Rajeev114110 - 11Singh Myra14404
45Kalyani Sirin143411 - 01Aadya Ranganath113342
547Advika Sarupria110810 - 11Prishita Gupta14176
648Arushi Severin Helen D Silva110511 - 01Yasaswi Krishna Bommi13578
79Sherali Pattnaik134311 - 01Kirthika B108852
849Aisha Wadhwani110111 - 01Sanivarapu Hasini134010
911WCMShriyana S Mallya127711 - 01Sreeha G108056
1051Shradha S Rai10971½ - ½1Charvi A126712


Round 3 pairings

121Gorli Nyna121322AFMShubhi Gupta16101
24Singh Myra144022AFMAadya Gupta120223
326Nihira Koul118322Kalyani Sirin14345
46Prishita Gupta141722Gifty R S117129
531AFMHiya Garg116422Sherali Pattnaik13439
632Vaishnavi S K116422WCMShriyana S Mallya127711
734Anandhi P115822Devaki Nandana126613
814Arockiaraj Cheryl Nancee124422Vidula Anbuselvan115933
936Saara Jain114922Dheeptha B123615
1016Aadhya Jain123422Arushi Severin Helen D Silva110548


Contact Us