chessbase india logo

Alexandr Predke wins Svetozar Gligoric Memorial Masters, Koustav Chatterjee second

by Shahid Ahmed - 26/07/2022

GM Alexandr Predke scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 and finished a full point ahead of the field to win Svetozar Gligoric Memorial Masters 2022. IM Koustav Chatterjee scored sole 7.5/9 to finish second. GM Nikita Petrov secured third place scoring 7/9. It was a successful event for the Indian contingency as S Rohith Krishna became the latest International Master of India, by scoring his final IM-norm. Vaibhav Jayant Raut and Ilamparthi A R scored their maiden IM-norms. The total prize fund of the tournament was €12500, €9950 for Masters and €2550 for Amateurs. Top three prizes were €2000, €1500 and €1000 respectively. Photo: Official site

Rohith Krishna, Ilamparthi and Vaibhav Raut score IM-norms

FM S Rohith Krishna earned his final IM-norm to become India's latest IM. He scored his second IM-norm at Serbia Masters 2022. We will have a separate article on Rohith's journey towards the IM title. IM Neelash Saha, IM Pranav Venkatesh and GM Arjun Kalyan are the remaining top 10 finishers at fourth, seventh and ninth place scoring 6.5/9 each.

Runner-up - IM Koustav Chatterjee 7.5/9 | Photo: Official site

Top 3 (L to R) - 2nd IM Koustav Chatterjee 7.5/9, 1st GM Alexandr Predke 8.5/9 and 3rd GM Nikita Petrov 7/9 | Photo: Official site

Champion - GM Alexandr Predke 8.5/9 | Photo: Official site

Second Runner-up - GM Nikita Petrov 7/9 | Photo: Official site

Koustav - Pranav, Round 5

Position after 21.e5

White already had fantastic position - space advantage, well coordinated pieces, yes even the a4-knight is attacking the c5-pawn and strong pawn center. 21.e5 just slowly disintegrates Black's position. 21...fxe5 22.fxe5 Nb6 23.Nxb6 Qxb6 24.g4 Bf4 25.e6 Black is completely lost positionally.

IM Koustav Chatterjee suffered his sole loss of the event against the eventual champion, GM Alexandr Predke | Photo: Official site

Merab - Neelash, Round 7

Position after 25.Nxb6

25.Rd6 would have been enough for a draw. However, 25.Nxb6 is a mistake which allows Black to win. Find out the correct continuation for Black.

4th IM Neelash Saha 6.5/9, gained 15.4 Elo rating points | Photo: Official site

7th IM Pranav Venkatesh 6.5/9 | Photo: Official site

9th GM Arjun Kalyan 6.5/9 | Photo: Official site

FM S Rohith Krishna scored 6/9, received his final IM-norm certificate and became the latest IM of India

FM S Rohith Krishna (2326) made a short work of GM Merab Gagunashvili (GEO, 2569).

FM S Rohith Krishna scored his final IM-norm with a performance of 2555

12-year-old Ilamparthi A R scored 5.5/9, earned his maiden IM-norm with a performance of 2450 | Photo: Official site

Ilamparthi gained a massive 136 Elo rating points

Vaibhav Jayant Raut scored 5.5/9 to earn his maiden IM-norm | Photo: Official site

Vaibhav Jayant Raut scored 5.5/9, performed at 2454 and gained 65.4 Elo rating points en route his maiden IM-norm

The tournament hall at Belgrade Metropol Palace hotel | Photo: Official site

A total of 145 players including 9 GMs, 19 IMs, 2 WGMs and 6 WIMs took part in the Masters section from 28 countries across the world including India. The tournament was organized by Association Svetozar Gligorić from 17th to 23rd July 2022 at Belgrade Metropol Palace hotel, Serbia. The nine-round Swiss league tournament had a time control of 90 minutes/40 moves + 15 minutes for whole game, 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay Round 1-9 games

Round 9 results

Rd.Bo.No. NameRtgPts.ResultPts.NameRtg No.
IMKoustav Chatterjee24851 - 0GMAtalik Suat2446
IMShahil Dey24026½ - ½6IMNeelash Saha2446
GMArjun Kalyan24991 - 06GMSedlak Nikola2480
Vaibhav Jayant Raut21690 - 1IMPranav V2512
IMMaksimovic Bojan2465½ - ½FMRohith Krishna S2326
IMStoyanov Tsvetan24501 - 0CMKushagra Mohan2359
Bazyrtsyrenov Kirill2147½ - ½IMSrihari L R2431
FMSamant Aditya S2431½ - ½IMOzer Omer Faruk2317
Ilamparthi A R21530 - 1IMRadovanovic Nikola2422
WIMSerikbay Assel222750 - 15IMMuthaiah Al2401
Joshua A P215351 - 05IMHarikrishnan.A.Ra2396
FMTisaj Domen235551 - 05IMMohota Nisha2148
Sanket Chakravarty220951 - 05FMKaraokcu Erkin2302
CMNamitbir Singh Walia22935- - +5Stamatiou Rodolfos2189
Shaik Sumer Arsh200750 - 15FMOmorjan Dejan2290


Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 nwwew-weKrtg+/-
GMPredke AlexandrFID26888,50,048,549,0098,57,401,101011,0
IMKoustav ChatterjeeIND24857,50,046,537,7597,55,531,971019,7
GMPetrov NikitaRUS25587,00,048,540,00976,610,39103,9
IMNeelash SahaIND24466,50,049,034,2596,54,961,541015,4
IMMakarian RudikRUS25336,50,046,536,7596,56,76-0,2610-2,6
IMRadovanovic NikolaSRB24226,50,045,034,2596,56,120,38103,8
IMPranav VIND25126,50,045,032,7596,56,57-0,0710-0,7
IMStoyanov TsvetanBUL24506,50,044,532,5096,56,000,50105,0
GMArjun KalyanIND24996,50,043,532,2596,56,320,18101,8
GMAtalik SuatSRB24466,50,043,032,7596,56,52-0,0210-0,2
IMShahil DeyIND24026,50,041,031,5096,56,380,12101,2
FMRohith Krishna SIND23266,00,050,032,50963,342,661026,6
FMErdogmus Yagiz KaanTUR23736,00,046,530,50964,561,442028,8
IMMaksimovic BojanBIH24656,00,046,529,50965,710,29102,9
FMSamant Aditya SIND24316,00,045,532,00966,000,00100,0



Official site

Tournament Regulations

Related news:
Raunak Sadhwani triumphs at Serbia Open 2023 Masters

@ 10/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Leelajai Krishna N outstanding at 16th Paracin Open B 2023, Pranesh clinches Blitz, Ethan Vaz second

@ 23/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prudhvi Kumar V wins Prestige Open B Below 2000 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 01/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhimanyu Puranik victorious at Serbia First League 2022 for ZMAJ - Beograd

@ 12/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
आर्यन चोपड़ा बने सर्बिया ओपन 2022 के उपविजेता

@ 07/07/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Evgenios Ioannidis wins Serbia Open 2022 Masters, Aryan Chopra second

@ 07/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Can Aryan Chopra win Serbia Open 2022 Masters?

@ 06/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open 2022 R7: Aryan Chopra in the title fray

@ 05/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open 2022 R6: Missed Opportunities

@ 04/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open 2022 R5: Ivic makes a narrow escape against Aditya Mittal

@ 03/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open 2022 R4: Adhiban and Emre Can share the lead

@ 02/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open 2022 R3: Harikrishnan outplays Serbia no.1 Aleksandar Indjic

@ 01/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open 2022 R2: Kushagra and Sakshi showcase endgame endurance

@ 30/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open 2022 R1: Arpita and Kashish score big wins

@ 29/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Nubairshah Shaikh wins the Silver Lake Open

@ 27/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
Outstanding Nihal Sarin wins Serbia Open 2021 Masters

@ 09/07/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
भारत के निहाल सरीन बने सर्बिया मास्टर्स के विजेता

@ 09/07/2021 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Serbia Open R8: Nihal gains sole lead 7.0/8 and breaks into World Top 100

@ 08/07/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
सर्बिया मास्टर्स में भारत के निहाल सयुंक्त बढ़त पर

@ 07/07/2021 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Serbia Open R6-7: Nihal and Kovalenko emerge as the leaders 6.0/7

@ 07/07/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open R5: Five players share the lead 4.5/5

@ 06/07/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open R4: Pranav stuns Perunovic

@ 05/07/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open R2-3: Pranav V holds Raunak to a draw

@ 04/07/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Serbia Open R1: Nihal, Abhimanyu, Arjun and Raunak start with a win

@ 03/07/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Series of tournaments in Serbia

@ 16/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us