chessbase india logo

Pravin Thipsay brings the Chess Olympiad Torch from Srinagar to Jammu

by Shahid Ahmed - 23/06/2022

The third Grandmaster in the Indian chess history is Pravin Thipsay. He is the first Indian to get a GM-norm. The Arjuna Awardee has won seven National titles and represented India at the Chess Olympiad for seven times. The revered coach and gentleman of the game has trained countless players who have won numerous medals for India. He is one of the few FIDE Senior Trainers in this country. Apart from inculcating knowledge and improving the strength of young talents, he also devotes his valuable time in creating trainers all over the country. He believes quality trainers will help to spread the game among the masses. Photo: AICF

The Gentleman who always enlightens

On Tuesday 21st June 2022, Hon'ble Lt. Governor of Jammu & Kashmir, Mr. Manoj Sinha received the Chess Olympiad Torch at Srinagar. He handed it over to India's third GM in history, Pravin Thipsay.

India's third GM Pravin Thipsay receives the Chess Olympiad Torch from Lt. Governor of Jammu & Kashmir, Mr. Manoj Sinha | Photo: AICF

GM Pravin Thipsay makes a ceremonial move | Photo: AICF

GM Pravin Thipsay brings the torch to Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir | Photo: AICF

GM Pravin Thipsay arriving in a car at Jammu | Photo: AICF

GM Pravin Thipsay arrives to Jammu, President of All J&K Chess Association and Joint Secretary of AICF, Atul Kumar Gupta (left) carries the Torch | Photo: AICF

Atul Kumar Gupta, GM Pravin Thipsay along with other officials | Photo: AICF

For more photos, please click here.

Where is the Torch heading next?

Check out the upcoming dates where the Chess Olympiad Torch is heading next. For exact timing and location, please contact your local district/state chess association.

S. No. Date City / State, UT
1 20th June 2022 New Delhi, Delhi
2 20th June 2022 Leh, Ladakh
3 21st June 2022 Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir
4 21st June 2022 Jammu, Jammu and Kashmir
5 22nd June 2022 Dharamshala, Himachal Pradesh
6 22nd June 2022 Shimla, Himachal Pradesh
7 23rd June 2022 Chandigarh, Chandigarh
8 23rd June 2022 Patiala, Punjab
9 23rd June 2022 Amritsar, Punjab
10 24th June 2022 Kurukshetra, Haryana
11 24th June 2022 Panipat, Haryana
12 24th June 2022 Gurugram, Haryana
13 25th June 2022 Dehradun, Uttarakhand
14 25th June 2022 Haridwar, Uttarakhand
15 25th June 2022 Meerut, Uttar Pradesh
16 26th June 2022 Noida, Uttar Pradesh
17 26th June 2022 Agra, Uttar Pradesh
18 26th June 2022 Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
19 27th June 2022 Prayagraj, Uttar Pradesh
20 27th June 2022 Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
21 28th June 2022 Ayodhya, Uttar Pradesh
22 28th June 2022 Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh
23 29th June 2022 Jaipur, Rajasthan
24 29th June 2022 Ajmer / Pushkar, Rajasthan
25 29th June 2022 Udaipur, Rajasthan
26 30th June 2022 Ahmedabad, Gujarat
27 30th June 2022 Kevadia, Gujarat
28 30th June 2022 Vadodra, Gujarat
29 1st July 2022 Surat, Gujarat
30 1st July 2022 Dandi, Gujarat
31 1st July 2022 Daman, Daman & Diu
32 2nd July 2022 Nagpur, Maharashtra
33 2nd July 2022 Pune, Maharashtra
34 2nd July 2022 Mumbai, Maharashtra
35 3rd July 2022 Panaji, Goa
36 3rd July 2022 Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh
37 4th July 2022 Indore, Madhya Pradesh
38 4th July 2022 Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
39 5th July 2022 Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh
40 5th July 2022 Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh
41 6th July 2022 Patna, Bihar
42 6th July 2022 Rajgir, Bihar
43 6th July 2022 Gaya, Bihar
44 7th July 2022 Ranchi, Jharkhand
45 7th July 2022 Kolkata, West Bengal
46 8th July 2022 Siliguri, West Bengal
47 8th July 2022 Gangtok, Sikkim
48 9th July 2022 Cooch Behar, West Bengal
49 9th July 2022 Guwahati, Assam
50 10th July 2022 Shillong, Meghalaya
51 10th July 2022 Imphal, Manipur
52 11th July 2022 Kohima, Nagaland
53 12th July 2022 Aizawl, Mizoram
54 13th July 2022 Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh
55 13th July 2022 Dibrugarh, Assam
56 14th July 2022 Nam Sai Arunachal Pradesh
57 14th July 2022 Agartala, Tripura
58 15th July 2022 Bhubaneswar, Odisha
59 15th July 2022 Puri, Odisha
60 15th July 2022 Konark, Odisha
61 16th July 2022 Raipur, Chattisgarh
62 16th July 2022 Hyderabad, Telangana
63 17th July 2022 Amaravati, Andhra Pradesh
64 17th July 2022 Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
65 18th July 2022 Bengaluru, Karnataka
66 19th July 2022 Mangaluru, Karnataka
67 20th July 2022 Kavaratti, Lakshadweep (Agatti Island Airport)
68 21th July 2022 Thrissur, Kerala
69 22st July 2022 Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
70 23rd July 2022 Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh
71 23rd July 2022 Puducherry, Puducherry
72 24th July 2022 Port Blair, Andaman & Nicobar Islands
73 25th July 2022 Madurai, Tamil Nadu
74 26th July 2022 Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu
75 27th July 2022 Chennai, Tamil Nadu


Related news:
45th Chess Olympiad Torch Handoff Ceremony begins FIDE's centennial celebration

@ 15/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Praggnanandhaa relay the Chess Olympiad Torch in the final leg with S Vijayalakshmi

@ 29/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vishnu, Akash and Neelotpal relay the Chess Olympiad Torch from Kerala to Andaman and Nicobar Islands

@ 26/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Thej Kumar, Stany, Girish and Viani relay the Chess Olympiad Torch in Karnataka

@ 22/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harika, Arjun Erigaisi, Lalit, Rithvik and Rahul relay the Chess Olympiad Torch at Telangana and Andhra Pradesh

@ 21/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kiran, Padmini, Satyapragyan and Anwesh relay the Chess Olympiad Torch in Odisha

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha relays the Chess Olympiad Torch at ten cities across the country

@ 15/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pravin Thipsay carries the Chess Olympiad Torch from Patna to Bodh Gaya

@ 08/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan travels 14000 km in four days to attend Chess Olympiad Torch Relay

@ 07/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saptarshi RoyChowdhury receives the Chess Olympiad Torch at Jhansi

@ 07/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Anurag Mhamal relays the Chess Olympiad Torch from Panaji to Bhopal

@ 06/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
How to balance chess and studies ft. Vantika Agarwal

@ 05/07/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
A Star-Studded Chess Olympiad Torch Relay in Maharashtra

@ 04/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Tejas Bakre and Ankit Rajpara relay the Chess Olympiad Torch from Ahmedabad to Daman

@ 03/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shardul and Iniyan receive the Chess Olympiad Torch at Jaipur

@ 01/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gopal relays the Chess Olympiad Torch at Ayodhya and Gorakhpur with Vantika and Tejas

@ 30/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vantika Agrawal carries the Chess Olympiad Torch from Taj Mahal to Varanasi with Tejas Bakre

@ 28/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Tejas Bakre and Akash Ganesan relay the Chess Olympiad Torch from Dehradun to Meerut

@ 26/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himanshu Sharma passes the Chess Olympiad Torch to Prithu Gupta

@ 25/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta relays the Chess Olympiad Torch from Dharamshala to Amritsar

@ 24/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Olympiad Torch Run Open Rapid Chess Tournament 2022

@ 22/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dibyendu Barua carries the Chess Olympiad Torch from New Delhi to Leh

@ 22/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vishy Anand - The True Torch Bearer of Indian Chess

@ 21/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Play at the Olympiad Torch Run International Open Rapid Chess Tournament 2022

@ 12/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us