chessbase india logo

Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

by Shahid Ahmed - 06/11/2023

GM Nikita Petrov (MNE) and GM Sayantan Das scored an unbeaten 7/9 each at 1st Annemasse International Chess Festival 2023. Nikita won the tournament due to better tie-breaks, Sayantan secured second place. Their seventh round game against each other ended in a draw. Nine players scored 6.5/9. Out of them, five are Indians. GM Sahaj Grover, GM Deep Sengupta, GM Sankalp Gupta, GM Diptayan Ghosh and IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H were placed third, fourth, fifth, sixth and eleventh respectively. The total prize fund of the festival was €22000. The top three prizes were €3000, €2000 and €1500 along with a trophy each. Photos: Cercle d’Échecs du Bassin Annemassien

Indians claim five out of top six

After this event, GM Deep Sengupta went on to win 21st Cap d'Agde Grand Prix. GM Sayantan Das finished at second place for the second consecutive tournament. It will be mentioned in detail in a separate report.

Champion - GM Nikita Petrov (MNE) 7/9

Runner-up - GM Sayantan Das 7/9

Second Runner-up - GM Sahaj Grover 6.5/9

4th GM Deep Sengupta 6.5/9

5th GM Sankalp Gupta 6.5/9

6th GM Diptayan Ghosh 6.5/9

1st in Rating category 2201-2400 - IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H 6.5/9

Best Junior 1st - GM Raja Rithvik R 6/9

Best Junior 2nd - IM Manish Anto Cristiano F 6/9

Best Cadet 1st - GM Prraneth Vuppala 6/9

Best Cadet 2nd - GM Pranesh M 5.5/9

Best Women 1st - Vrushali Umesh Deodhar 5.5/9

1st in Rating category 1801-2000 - Siddhant Tamhankar 5/9

The tournament hall at Martin Luther King Complex in Annemasse, France

A total of 175 players including 15 GMs, 17 IMs, a WGM and two WIMs took part from 19 countries all over the world in this seven-day nine round Rating Open tournament. It was organized by Cercle d'Échecs du Bassin Annemassien at Martin Luther King Complex in Annemasse, France from 21st to 27th October 2023. The time control of the event was 40 moves in 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Pl NomEloCat.FedeLigueClubPtsTr.Me.Perf
1gPETROV Nikita2551 FSenM743½302656
2gDAS Sayantan2486 FSenM742½292599
3gGROVER Sahaj2496 FSenM43½30½2583
4gSENGUPTA Deep2467 FSenM43½302566
5gSANKALP GUPTA2518 FSenM4329½2581
6gGHOSH Diptayan2570 FSenM42½292568
7gZANAN Evgeny2465 FSenM42292558
8mBOYER Mahel2471 FJunMPACL'Echiquier du Roy René4228½2548
9gNASUTA Grzegorz2585 FSenMIDFEchiquier de Franconville4027½2511
10mGIREL Joseph2494 FJunMPACMarseille-Echecs4027½2500



Official site

Tournament details

Cercle d’Échecs du Bassin Annemassien: fb page, youtube and instagram

Related news:
'The Lighting Kid' Vishy Anand dominates 13th Quenza Blitz Open 2024 with a 3123 performance

@ 08/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan A Ra dominates 2nd Noisiel Blitz Rating Open 2024, third in Classical

@ 07/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us