chessbase india logo

Can Aravindh do it in 2018 what he couldn't do in 2017?

by Sagar Shah - 18/12/2018

Aravindh Chithambaram has played an excellent tournament at the National Championship in Jammu. After 12 rounds he is on 9.5/12, half a point ahead of the field. In round 12 he played a wonderful game to beat GM Karthikeyan Murali from the black side of the Sicilian Dragon. Exactly a year ago Aravindh had a chance to become the National Champion 2017. He had lost his nerves and his chance of winning the tournament. If he is able to keep his nerves today he can become the national champion for the first time in his chess career, win Rs.5,00,000 and a spot in the World Cup 2019. Do you think he can do it? The final round has begun at 9 a.m. and Aravindh faces CRG Krishna. You can watch the game live here!

Exactly a year ago Aravindh Chithambaram had a chance to win the National Championship 2017 in Patna Bihar. He went into the final round leading along with Lalith Babu. Lalith quickly drew his game against Swapnil Dhopade. The ball was now in Aravindh's court. If he did beat Debashis Das then he would become the National Champion. The tension, drama and the pressure was all too much for Aravindh to handle. He crashed to a defeat and lost the game.

Amruta Mokal captured the moment right after the game ended. Debashis extends his hand to Aravindh. The Chennai GM gave a nice smile, in spite of having lost the game | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Lalith Babu went home with the title of being the National Champion, Aravindh had to settle for the second place | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Fast forward one year and Aravindh once again has chance to become the National Champion. Going into the final 13th round, this is how things stand at the National Championship 2018.

Rank after round 12

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 nwwew-weKrtg+/-
14GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.IND2584TN9,50,085,091,0129,57,661,841018,4
23GMVaibhav SuriIND2589PSPB9,00,086,092,01298,020,98109,8
316IMKrishna C R GIND2464RSPB9,00,078,083,51298,640,36103,6
412IMStany G.A.IND2509AAI8,50,087,092,5128,57,231,271012,7
55GMSengupta DeepIND2565PSPB8,50,086,593,0128,58,420,08100,8
610GMVishnu Prasanna. VIND2518TN8,50,082,588,5128,58,020,48104,8
745Srijit PaulIND2298WB8,50,075,080,0128,55,612,892057,8
88GMVenkatesh M.R.IND2528PSPB8,50,074,578,0128,510,03-1,5310-15,3
97GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.IND2550RSPB8,00,084,590,01288,53-0,5310-5,3
1024GMBakre TejasIND2433AI8,00,083,088,01287,200,80108,0
1125GMNeelotpal DasIND2412PSPB8,00,082,587,51287,430,57105,7
122GMKarthikeyan MuraliIND2591PSPB8,00,082,088,01289,44-1,4410-14,4
1355FMNavalgund NiranjanIND2240KAR8,00,081,586,51283,984,022080,4
1418IMVignesh N RIND2455TN8,00,081,087,01287,720,28102,8
159GMKarthik VenkataramanIND2527AP8,00,080,085,01289,23-1,2310-12,3
1622IMAkash GIND2443TN8,00,079,584,51287,740,26102,6
1721IMShyaamnikhil PIND2448RSPB8,00,078,083,51288,72-0,7210-7,2
186GMChanda SandipanIND2555WB8,00,077,583,01289,71-1,7110-17,1
1932IMGusain HimalIND2379RSPB8,00,074,079,51288,65-0,6510-6,5
2013GMAnurag MhamalIND2491GOA7,50,087,594,0127,57,120,38103,8

Aravindh played a wonderful game in round 12 to beat Karthikeyan Murali. Here's how he did it:

If Aravindh can win his final round against IM CRG Krishna, he becomes the National Champion. If he draws his game and Vaibhav Suri manages to beat Srijit Paul with the White pieces, the Delhi boy could become the Champion. Let's have a look at round 13 pairing:

Round 13 pairing:

14GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.25849IMKrishna C R G246416
23GMVaibhav Suri25899Srijit Paul229845
310GMVishnu Prasanna. V2518GMSengupta Deep25655
48GMVenkatesh M.R.2528IMStany G.A.250912
522IMAkash G244388GMKarthikeyan Murali25912
66GMChanda Sandipan255588IMShyaamnikhil P244821
724GMBakre Tejas243388GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.25507
89GMKarthik Venkataraman252788GMNeelotpal Das241225
932IMGusain Himal237988IMVignesh N R245518
1055FMNavalgund Niranjan22408GMAnurag Mhamal249113
1136IMRathnakaran K.2366GMGupta Abhijeet25971
1256FMWagh Suyog2240GMSwapnil S. Dhopade249014
1358Prasannaa.S2218IMSwayams Mishra245219
1420IMNitin S.2450IMSatyapragyan Swayangsu239428
1526IMRajesh V A V2402Neelash Saha235137
1641IMGirinath P.D.S.2313GMThipsay Praveen M240027
1739Ritviz Parab2338Tiwari Arjun221859
1854Saurabh Anand224677GMSundararajan Kidambi245817
1960Kumar Gaurav221377GMLaxman R.R.243623
2062IMGokhale Chandrashekhar218977IMViani Antonio Dcunha239230

It's an exciting round and you can watch it LIVE now below!

Final round at 9 a.m. IST. Watch it LIVE!

The Live games are powered by FollowChess.

Contact Us