chessbase india logo

Nationals 2018 Round 8: Vaibhav Suri's beautiful middlegame play

by Sagar Shah - 14/12/2018

The National Championship 2018 consists of such great players that there are beautiful games being played in each round. It's quite a difficult task to choose the best game of the day, but in the eighth round it was clearly GM Vaibhav Suri who took the honours with some fantastic middlegame play and showing great alertness to beat his strong opponent Swapnil Dhopade. We now have four players in the lead GM Vaibhav Suri, Aravindh Chithambaram, Stany GA and Deep Sengupta. They are followed by seven players on 6.0/8. Specially to note is the performance of veteran GM Pravin Thipsay. An illustrated report from Jammu on round 8 of the National Championship 2018.

GM Vaibhav Suri scored a big win by beating Swapnil Dhopade and joining the leaders | Lennart Ootes

Swapnil Dhopade vs Vaibhav Suri, Round 8

Black has just moved his rook to c7. How did Vaibhav take advantage of this fact?

Black is a pawn up, but White's play is very easy. Mainly because the black pawns are very weak and the bishop on e6 is passive. White plays his pieces on dark squares and puts a lot of pressure on Black's position. But breaking through is not easy. In the above position Vaibhav found an excellent combination starting with e4!

A fantastic move! fxe4 is not possible as the queen is hanging. Swapnil took dxe4 and...

...Vaibhav took the bishop on e6! Now fxe6 loses to Rd7+ and Qxe6 as was played in the game is met with Rd6! attacking the queen and if it moves, the h6 pawn falls. Swapnil had a few more tricks under his sleeve but Vaibhav was accurate and the game was all over!

The battle between Aravindh Chithambaram and Vishnu Prasanna ended in a draw | Photo: Atul Kumar Gupta

Stany managed to beat overnight leader Anurag Mhamal showing the power of two bishops! | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Deep Sengupta won his game against Harshvardhan GB and joined the leaders | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Deepan Chakkravarthy beat Rajesh VAV | Photo: Atul Kumar Gupta

Top seed Abhijeet Gupta (left) is slowly coming back into the reckoning after his win over Sammed Shete. | Photo: Atul Kumar Gupta

Showing some great chess at the event in veteran GM Pravin Thipsay who beat IM Vignesh NR (2455) | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Results of round 8:

110GMVishnu Prasanna. V2518½ - ½6GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.25844
212IMStany G.A.25091 - 06GMAnurag Mhamal249113
33GMVaibhav Suri25891 - 0GMSwapnil S. Dhopade249014
45GMSengupta Deep25651 - 0Harshavardhan G B216366
51GMGupta Abhijeet259751 - 0Sammed Jaykumar Shete237834
67GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.255051 - 05IMRajesh V A V240226
715IMKarthikeyan P.24825½ - ½5IMViani Antonio Dcunha239230
827GMThipsay Praveen M240051 - 05IMVignesh N R245518
933IMRahul Srivatshav P237950 - 15IMNitin S.245020
1036IMRathnakaran K.23665½ - ½5IMAkash G244322
1139Ritviz Parab233850 - 15GMBakre Tejas243324
1255FMNavalgund Niranjan22405½ - ½5GMNeelotpal Das241225
1317GMSundararajan Kidambi24581 - 05Mahindrakar Indrajeet210676
1435Sankalp Gupta2378½ - ½GMKarthikeyan Murali25912
1543IMNavin Kanna T.U.2307½ - ½GMChanda Sandipan25556
1641IMGirinath P.D.S.23130 - 1GMKarthik Venkataraman25279
1749IMKonguvel Ponnuswamy22820 - 1IMKrishna C R G246416
1819IMSwayams Mishra2452½ - ½IMSaravana Krishnan P.234638
1921IMShyaamnikhil P2448½ - ½FMDushyant Sharma227150
2023GMLaxman R.R.2436½ - ½GMRoy Chowdhury Saptarshi229646

Standings after round 8:

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
14GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.IND2584TN6,50,039,042,5
212IMStany G.A.IND2509AAI6,50,038,542,5
33GMVaibhav SuriIND2589PSPB6,50,037,541,5
45GMSengupta DeepIND2565PSPB6,50,037,541,0
513GMAnurag MhamalIND2491GOA6,00,038,542,5
61GMGupta AbhijeetIND2597PSPB6,00,038,041,5
710GMVishnu Prasanna. VIND2518TN6,00,037,540,0
87GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.IND2550RSPB6,00,036,039,5
927GMThipsay Praveen MIND2400MAH6,00,035,539,0
1020IMNitin S.IND2450RSPB6,00,032,035,5
1124GMBakre TejasIND2433AI6,00,032,035,0
1266Harshavardhan G BIND2163TN5,50,037,540,5
1315IMKarthikeyan P.IND2482RSPB5,50,036,540,0
1425GMNeelotpal DasIND2412PSPB5,50,036,039,5
1514GMSwapnil S. DhopadeIND2490RSPB5,50,036,039,0
1636IMRathnakaran K.IND2366RSPB5,50,035,538,5
1755FMNavalgund NiranjanIND2240KAR5,50,035,538,0
1834Sammed Jaykumar SheteIND2378MAH5,50,035,038,0
1922IMAkash GIND2443TN5,50,033,036,5
209GMKarthik VenkataramanIND2527AP5,50,032,535,0


Related news:
The other side of Chess

@ 26/06/2022 by Aditya Sur Roy (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram is the Indian National Champion 2018

@ 20/12/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Can Aravindh do it in 2018 what he couldn't do in 2017?

@ 18/12/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Nationals 2018 Round 10+11: Stany or Aravindh?

@ 17/12/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
It happens only with the Indian Tal

@ 13/12/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)

Contact Us