chessbase india logo

Aravindh Chithambaram dominates MPL National Blitz Chess Championship 2023 with a perfect 11/11

by Shahid Ahmed - 28/02/2023

GM Aravindh Chithambaram (TN) just keeps creating record after record. He scored a perfect 11/11 to win MPL National Blitz Chess Championship 2023. Thus, he became the first person in Indian chess history to become National Rapid and Blitz champion for three consecutive editions* between 2019 and 2023. Of course his 11/11 first place finish record cannot be broken unless the total number of rounds increases in future editions which is highly unlikely. He also finished a staggering 2.5 points ahead of the field. IM Nubairshah Shaikh (MAH) and IM Avinash Ramesh (TN) scored 8.5/11 each to finish at second and third place respectively. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The Undisputed Hat-trick King of National Rapid and Blitz

Aravindh Chithambaram has shown that he is undoubtedly the strongest player to win National Rapid and Blitz Chess Championships 2023. If you are wondering why, the answer is, he is the only player to have won it three years in-a-row. No other player has won it twice, ever since it became an annual eventt from the year 2012. This was also the first time, two women finished in top ten. The reigning National Women and Asian Blitz Women champion, WGM Divya Deshmukh and former National and Asian Women's champion, IM Padmini Rout scored 8/11 and 7.5/11 to secure eighth and tenth place respectively. IM Bhakti Kulkarni remains the only woman to make a podium finish in 2019 at third place. Divya tied Bhakti's second best performance in 2014, finishing at eighth place.

Champion - GM Aravindh Chithambaram (TN) 8.5/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy
GM Aravindh Chithambaram wins National Blitz for the third consecutive edition | Video: ChessBase India

The tournament had a total prize fund of ₹250000. The top three prizes were ₹50000 + trophy, ₹40000 and ₹30000 each respectively.

Runner-up - IM Nubairshah Shaikh (MAH) 8.5/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Apart from Aravindh, IM Nubairshah Shaikh (MAH) also showed consistency and secured second place in both Rapid and Blitz events with the exact same score.

Second Runner-up - IM Avinash Ramesh (TN) 8.5/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Top 3 (L to R) - 2nd GM Mitrabha Guha (WB), 1st GM Aravindh Chithambaram (TN) and 2nd IM Nubairshah Shaikh (MAH) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Aravindh Chithambaram scored a perfect 11/11, performed at 2975 and gained 17.6 Elo rating points

4th Srihari L (PUD) 8/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Srihari L (PUD) is the only untitled player to make a top ten finish. He scored 8/11 to finish fourth. A last round loss against IM Avinash Ramesh (TN) denied him a podium finish.

5th FM Aradhya Garg (DEL) 8/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

6th GM Mitrabha Guha (WB) 8/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

7th GM Raja Rithvik R (TEL) 8/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

8th WGM Divya Deshmukh (MAH) 8/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

9th IM Ameya Audi (Goa) 8/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

10th IM Padmini Rout (PSPB) 7.5/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Padmini Rout made an unbeaten start 7.5/9. Two consecutive losses in the last two rounds cost her dearly, nevertheless she had a great tournament.

11th GM Neelotpal Das (PSPB) 7.5/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

12th Vignesh B (TN) 7.5/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

13th CM Aaditya Dhingra (HAR) 7.5/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

14th Mihir Shah (MAH) 7/11 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

After Srihari L, Mihir Shah (MAH) is the only other untitled player to make a top 15 finish. Despite starting the tournament with a loss against a former National Rapid champion, GM Neelotpal Das (PSPB), he chained seven wins in-a-row including wins over former National Blitz champion - GM Sriram Jha (LIC), IM Sidhant Mohapatra, two eventual runner-ups - IM Nubairshah Shaikh and IM Avinash Ramesh. Considering the fact that he has played less than 40 tournnaments including non-rated events, this teenager is certainly a talent to watch out for.


*There were no National Rapid and Blitz Chess Championships in 2020 and 2021 due to Covid-19 pandemic.


For more photos, please click here.


A total of 111 players including 5 GMs, 11 IMs, 3 WGMs and a WIM are took part in this one-day eleven-round Swiss League Blittz Rating tournament. It was organized by Crown Trust from 27th February 2023 at The Kangra Fort, Jammu. The time control was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment.

Round 11 results

11GMAravindh, Chithambaram Vr.2578Tamil Nadu101 - 08GMMitrabha, Guha2520West Bengal2
215IMAvinash, Ramesh2264Tamil Nadu1 - 08Srihari, L2256Puducherry17
38IMMohammad, Nubairshah Shaikh2339Maharashtra1 - 0GMNeelotpal, Das2327West Bengal9
412IMAudi, Ameya2301Goa71 - 0IMPadmini, Rout2305Petroleum Sports Promotion Board11
516IMSidhant, Mohapatra2256Railways70 - 17GMRaja, Rithvik R2411Telangana4
610WGMDivya, Deshmukh2325Maharashtra71 - 07Daksh, Goyal1849Delhi45
714FMAradhya, Garg2278Delhi71 - 07Shah, Mihir1520Maharashtra68
83IMRavi, Teja S.2442Andhra Pradesh½ - ½IMPrraneeth, Vuppala2345Telangana7
96IMSharma, Dinesh K.2346Life Insuranace Corporation Of Indi½ - ½IMDhulipalla, Bala Chandra Prasad2394Andhra Pradesh5
1030AGMVignesh, B2058Tamil Nadu1 - 0CMSoham, Kamotra2204Jammu And Kashmir21


Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
11GMAravindh, Chithambaram Vr.IND2578Tamil Nadu117579,579,50011
28IMMohammad, Nubairshah ShaikhIND2339Maharashtra8,572,57857,0008
315IMAvinash, RameshIND2264Tamil Nadu8,56872,554,5007
417Srihari, LIND2256Puducherry876,58153,0008
514FMAradhya, GargIND2278Delhi872,577,551,2507
62GMMitrabha, GuhaIND2520West Bengal871,576,551,0008
74GMRaja, Rithvik RIND2411Telangana87075,552,5008
810WGMDivya, DeshmukhwIND2325Maharashtra865,57048,7507
912IMAudi, AmeyaIND2301Goa860,565,549,0008
1011IMPadmini, RoutwIND2305Petroleum Sports Promotion Board7,57983,552,7506
119GMNeelotpal, DasIND2327West Bengal7,570,575,548,2507
1230AGMVignesh, BIND2058Tamil Nadu7,567,571,545,2507
1332CMAaditya, DhingraIND2054Haryana7,5636739,0007
1468Shah, MihirIND1520Maharashtra777,581,547,5007
153IMRavi, Teja S.IND2442Andhra Pradesh775,580,546,2506
166IMSharma, Dinesh K.IND2346Life Insuranace Corporation Of Indi770,57644,0005
177IMPrraneeth, VuppalaIND2345Telangana767,57343,5006
1818GMSriram, JhaIND2237Life Insuranace Corporation Of Indi7677239,0007
195IMDhulipalla, Bala Chandra PrasadIND2394Andhra Pradesh766,571,542,5005
2045Daksh, GoyalIND1849Delhi7666938,0007
2116IMSidhant, MohapatraIND2256Railways765,570,542,5007
2241FMPurushothaman, ThirumalaiIND1979Andhra Pradesh765,57038,5007
2344Awadh, ChaitanyaIND1870Madhya Pradesh763,56839,5007
2440Kumar, GauravIND1983Bihar7636737,0007
2564Devansh, SinghIND1585Madhya Pradesh76366,540,2506


Contact Us