chessbase india logo

Mitrabha Guha wins a double at Melbourne Open 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 13/04/2024

GM Mitrabha Guha scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win the inaugural Melbourne International Open 2024. He finished a full point ahead of the competition. FM Felix Xie scored sole 6.5/9 to secure second place. Six players - IM Zhaoqi Liu (CHN), Yi Ren Daniel Chan (SGP), FM Christopher Wallis (AUS), CM Tri Kien Le (VIE), IM Ikeda Junta (AUS) and IM Arghyadip Das scored 6/9 each. They secured third to eighth place according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was AU $15000, $9750 in Major and $5150 in Open. The top three prizes were $3000, $2000 and $1500 each respectively. Apart from Mitrabha and Arghyadip, GM Sriram Jha is the only other Indian to make a top ten finish. He scored 5.5/9 to be placed ninth. Mitrabha also won the Blitz tournament scoring 8/9. Photo: FA Walter Wolffs / Independent Chess Australia

Mitrabha's seventh and eighth tournament victory in 2024

GM Mitrabha Guha was the sole leader 6.5/8 going into the final round. FM Felix Xie (NZL) was the only player trailing him by a half point at 6/8. Mitrabha defeated compatriot GM Sriram Jha in the final round to become a clear champion. Felix drew with IM Zhaoqi Liu (CHN), Felix secured second place and Zhaoqi third. Mitrabha has now won at least one tournament in each month of 2024. His tournament winning streak started in September 2023. Since then he has won at least one tournament each month.

Champion - GM Mitrabha Guha 7.5/9 in Classical and 8/9 in Blitz | Photo: FA Walter Wolffs / Independent Chess Australia

Runner-up - FM Felix Xie (NZL) 6.5/9 | Photo: FA Walter Wolffs / Independent Chess Australia

Sriram - Mitrabha, Round 9

Position after 31.Nca3?

GM Mitrabha Guha (2537) beautifully outplayed GM Sriram Jha (2312). 31.Nca3? Bb2 32.Nb1 Nd4 33.Nc7 Rb8 34.Rd2 Bc1 35.Rd1 Bh6 36.Nb5 Nxb3 37.f3 gxf3+ and Black won the game in another 20 moves.

GM Mitrabha Guha soaking in the beautiful Australia | Photo: Arghyadip Das

GM Mitrabha Guha scored an unbeaten 7.5/9, finished a full point ahead of the field, drew against the runner-up and defeated the second runner-up

Various prizes | Photo: FA Walter Wolffs / Independent Chess Australia

A total of 42 players including 5 GMs an 5 IMs took part from ten countries all over the world in this five-day nine round Rating tournament in Major (>2000) category. It was organized by FA Walter Wolffs at Fitzroy, Melbourne, Victoria in Australia from 3rd to 7th April 2024. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Replay all available Major section games

Final standings in Major

11 GM Mitrabha, Guha2537IND IND7.539.049.540.252257
211 FM Xie, Felix2291NZL NZL6.535.045.531.502262
35 IM Liu, Zhaoqi2402CHN CHN6.
49 FM Chan, Yi Ren Daniel2316SGP SGP6.037.548.529.002259
513 FM Wallis, Christopher2259AUS AUS6.036.545.027.502234
612 CM Le, Tri Kien2261VIE VIE6.035.545.030.002221
76 IM Ikeda, Junta2391AUS AUS6.033.542.026.002162
84 IM Das, Arghyadip2405IND IND6.032.041.527.252154
910 GM Sriram, Jha2312IND IND5.537.549.027.502206
1021 FM Chan, Luis2145AUS AUS5.536.545.526.752239



Official site

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us