chessbase india logo

Mitrabha Guha dominates Armageddon Challenge, Laxman second and Jval third

by Shahid Ahmed - 10/03/2024

We have seen tournaments of many chess variants. But have you heard about Armageddon chess tournament? Chess Federation of Sri Lanka organized a one-day Sri Lanka Chess Classic (Armageddon Chess Challenge) tournament on 23rd February, a day before the rest day of Commonwealth Championships 2023-24. Every game is Armageddon which means White must win and Black needs just a draw to win the match. Time is also same as usual - 5 minutes for white against 4 minutes for black. GM Mitrabha Guha won the tournament with a perfect 7/7. Four players - GM Laxman R R, Jval Saurin Patel, FM Villanueva Nelson (PHI) and WCM K M Dahamdi Sanudula (SRI) scored 6/7 each. They secured second to fifth place according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was RM700. This was Mitrabha's fourth tournament triumph in 2024. Photos: Chess Federation of Sri Lanka

Indians claim six out of top ten

Sneha Halder, CM Velavaa Ragavesh and WCM Prishita Gupta are the remaining three Indians to make a top ten finish. They scored 5/7 each to secure sixth, eighth and tenth place respectively according to tie-breaks.

Champion - GM Mitrabha Guha 7/7

Runner-up - GM Laxman R R 6/7

Second Runner-up - Jval Saurin Patel 6/7

GM Mitrabha Guha won all his games

6th Sneha Halder 5/7

8th CM Velavaa Ragavesh 5/7

Group photo of the prize winners

The tournament hall

A total of 85 players including 2 GMs and 7 IMs took parts from six countries across the world. The one-day seven round Armageddon tournament was organized by Chess Federation of Sri Lanka in Melaka, Malaysia on 23rd February 2024. The time control of the event was like a usual Armageddon, 5 minutes for white and 4 minutes for black where black has draw odds to win the game.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11GMMitrabha, GuhaIND25347031,52565
22GMLaxman, R.R.IND237960352011
37Jval, Saurin PatelIND17726033,51973
43FMVillanueva, NelsonPHI225760301805
59WCMSanudula, K M DahamdiSRI171560291745
611Sneha, HalderIND169650331766
74AGMNik, Nik Ahmad FarouqiMAS198550321806
88CMVelavaa, RagaveshIND174550321750
932AFMTeo, Hong Kai JavierSGP144050311710
1013WCMPrishita, GuptaIND16425030,51775


Contact Us