chessbase india logo

MPL National Junior 2022 R1-2: 103rd seed Yashasva draws with IM Raahul

by Shahid Ahmed - 10/03/2022

Top seeds had a relatively smooth start in MPL 50th National Junior Open and 35th National Sub-Junior Girls Chess Championships. There were no big upsets on the first day. 103rd seed Yashasva Anil Kanholkar (CHT) got himself a winning position against third seed IM Raahul V S (TN). However, the reigning Asian Junior champion, somehow managed to salvage a draw. In the Girls event, Sachi Jain (DEL) was completely winning against third seed WFM Bhagyashree Patil (MAH) but she could not make the most out of it. Everyday there will be double rounds except the final day. Round 3 starts today at 9:00 a.m. IST today. Photo: IA Jitendra Choudhary

Sachi misses her chance against Bhagyashree

Sachi Jain (DEL) got herself a very good opportunity against WFM Bhagyashree Patil (MAH). She made an incorrect break which only worsened her position.

Top seed GM Iniyan P won both of his games comfortably | Photo: IA Jitendra Choudhary

Open Round 1: Yashasva - Raahul: 0.5-0.5

Reigning Asian Junior champion IM Raahul V S (TN) was on the brink of loss against 103rd seeded Yashsva Anil Kanholkar (CHT).

Position after 29...Kh8

One of the best chances White had in the game was in the above position. 30.a4 bxa3 31.Qc3 Qf6 32.Bd4 is completely winning for White. The game continued 30.Bb7 d5 31.Kh1 White got a few more chances which he was unable to capitalize. Raahul managed to escape with a draw.

Round 2: Vishrut - Koustav: 0-1

Vishrut Parekh (GUJ) had IM Koustav Chatterjee (WB) on the ropes.

Position after 20...Qa4

Black's pieces are so badly tied up that none of them can come to the aid of the king except the rook. 21.f4-f5 seems devastating for Black. Koustav managed to endure a completely lost position, waited for his opponent to make a big mistake and swindle his opponent with a full point.

Vishrut missed a fantastic opportunity | Photo: IA Jitendra Choudhary

Kumaresh A (TN) - GM Arjun Kalyan (TN): 0-1 | Photo: IA Jitendra Choudhary

Girls Round 2: Shubhi - Priyanka: 0-1

WGM Priyanka Nutakki (AP) defeated Shubhi Gupta (UP) with a very pretty checkmate.

Final position after 35...Nf3#

Shubhi Gupta (UP) - WGM Priyanka Nutakki (AP): 0-1 | Photo: IA Jitendra Choudhary

WIM Mounika Akshaya (AP) - Prishita Gupta (DEL): 1-0 | Photo: IA Jitendra Choudhary

Bhagyashree - Sachi: 0.5-0.5

WFM Bhagyashree Patil (MAH) made an incorrect break which almost backfired her.

Position after 60.f4

60.f4 was uncalled for. It only created winning chances for her opponent 60...exf4 61.gxf4 Nxe4 62.Bxe4 Rae8 63.Rxg7+ now Kh8 was the better continuation. 63...Qxg7+ made things practically difficult for Black. Sachi Jain (DEL) could not make the most out of her opportunity and settled for a draw by perpetual check.

Bhagyashree survived a scare against Sachi | Photo: IA Jitendra Choudhary

Inauguration ceremony | Photo: IA Jitendra Choudhary

Inaugural first move is being made by guests and the top seed of the Open event - GM Iniyan P | Photo: IA Jitendra Choudhary

For more Round 1 and 2 photos, please click here.


A total of 186 players including 2 GMs, 6 IMs in the Open and 105 players including a WGM and a WIM in the Girls tournament are taking part. It is organized by Haryana Chess Association. Both tournaments are taking place at RPS International School, Gurgaon, Haryana from 9th to 13th March 2022. The nine-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1

Replay Open Round 1-2 games

Replay Girls Round 1-2 games

Open Round 2 results

11GMIniyan P2516Tamil Nadu11 - 01Chidvilash Sai Surapaneni1753Telangana56
255Kumaresh A1754Tamil Nadu10 - 11GMArjun Kalyan2506Tamil Nadu2
357Parekh Vishrut1747Gujarat10 - 11IMKoustav Chatterjee2466West Bengal4
45IMPranesh M2455Tamil Nadu11 - 01Arora Honi1738Rajasthan58
559Daksh Goyal1735Delhi10 - 11IMNeelash Saha2445West Bengal6
67IMHarshavardhan G B2402Tamil Nadu11 - 01Eldho Skaria1703Kerala64
761Karan J P1717Kerala1½ - ½1Avinash Ramesh2402Tamil Nadu8
89Hari Madhavan N B2380Tamil Nadu11 - 01Hriday Panchal1691Delhi66
965Daaevik Wadhawan1700Delhi10 - 11Utsab Chatterjee2324West Bengal10
1011FMRohith Krishna S2304Tamil Nadu11 - 01Md Bashiq Imrose1671Telangana68


Round 3 pairings

132Samal Ansuman1980Odisha22GMIniyan P2516Tamil Nadu1
22GMArjun Kalyan2506Tamil Nadu22Aditya Varun Gampa1947Andhra Pradesh35
34IMKoustav Chatterjee2466West Bengal22Mahendra Teja Mekala1875Andhra Pradesh39
434Pattnayak Nilsu1976Odisha22IMPranesh M2455Tamil Nadu5
56IMNeelash Saha2445West Bengal22Garv Rai1869Delhi41
636AFMPawar Harshit1921Delhi22IMHarshavardhan G B2402Tamil Nadu7
740Bagwe Gaurang1874Maharashtra22Hari Madhavan N B2380Tamil Nadu9
810Utsab Chatterjee2324West Bengal22Aditya P Melani1852Gujarat43
942Rakshith Srinivasan1856Karnataka22FMRohith Krishna S2304Tamil Nadu11
1012FMAyush Sharma2302Madhya Pradesh22Anup Shankar R1842Tamil Nadu45


Girls Round 2 results

134AFMShubhi Gupta1434Uttar Pradesh10 - 11WIMPriyanka Nutakki2301Andhra Pradesh1
22WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya2145Andhra Pradesh11 - 01Prishita Gupta1412Delhi35
33WFMBhagyashree Patil1974Maharashtra1½ - ½1Sachi Jain1401Delhi37
44WFMLakshmi C1968Tamil Nadu11 - 01Pournami S1390Kerala39
538Dakshita Kumawat1395Rajasthan10 - 11Rindhiya V1949Tamil Nadu5
640Swara Lakshmi S Nair1383Karnataka1½ - ½1Srimathi R1944Delhi6
742Charvi Patidar1367Rajasthan11 - 01Meenal Gupta1941Jammu And Kashmir7
88Ghosh Samriddhaa1877West Bengal11 - 01Mounikha Harini N1365Tamil Nadu43
944Mandakani Mishra1344Madhya Pradesh10 - 11Velpula Sarayu1875Telangana9
1010Kaur Palkin1861Delhi11 - 01Ananya Anamika1342Odisha45


Round 3 pairings

11WIMPriyanka Nutakki2301Andhra Pradesh22Femil Chelladurai1596Tamil Nadu24
217Poorna Sri M.K1763Tamil Nadu22WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya2145Andhra Pradesh2
319Anupam M Sreekumar1724Kerala22WFMLakshmi C1968Tamil Nadu4
45Rindhiya V1949Tamil Nadu22Yuti Mayur Patel1526Maharashtra26
521Divyabharathi Masanam1711Tamil Nadu22Ghosh Samriddhaa1877West Bengal8
69Velpula Sarayu1875Telangana22Varshita Jain1491Madhya Pradesh28
725Kanishka S1528Tamil Nadu22Kaur Palkin1861Delhi10
811WCMArushi Kotwal1854Jammu And Kashmir22Vakcheri Mohitha1459Andhra Pradesh30
927Marium Fatima1511Bihar22WFMTanishka Kotia1849Haryana12
1014Ishvi Aggarwal1833Haryana22WCMKriti Mayur Patel1440Maharashtra33


Contact Us