chessbase india logo

The top seeds have a smooth sailing on the first day of Karnataka State Chess Championship

by Hinduja Reddy - 03/10/2019

The Akshayakalpa Karnataka State Chess Championship started off yesterday at the Silicon City Academy of Secondary Education in Konanakunte, Bengaluru. As expected, the top seeds of the event registered easy victories in the first round against their less experienced opponents. Some of the encounters even lasted for less than twenty moves. The top seed of the event, WIM Isha Sharma, got the better of 11-year-old Akarsh S. Gowda in just fourteen moves; while Prachura P Padakannaya's opponent, Akshat Sharma, stuck to a lost position for three long hours. In this illustrated report Hinduja Reddy brings you the glimpses of first day's action from the venue.

The top-seeds WIM Isha Sharma and Prachura P.P. had smooth starts at the opening day of Akshayakalpa Karnataka State Open Chess Championship, organized by Innovators Chess Academy and hosted by Silicon City Secondary Education in Bengaluru here on Wednesday. WIM Isha Sharma dictated the terms from the word go and was not in the mood to give her opponent Akarsh S Gowda any chances. Isha stamped a smooth victory in less than fifteen moves to advance to the next round. Second-seed Prachura P.P outwitted Akshat Sharma in 39 moves to start his campaign on a rousing note.

Isha Sharma, the first ever WIM of Karnataka, needed barely a dozen moves to demolish her first round opponent Akash S Gowda, as the latter blundered away a full piece on move 10 | Photo: Akshayakalpa

Apparently, it was the first tournament for Prachura's opponent Akshat Sharma and he didn't know that a player could resign. Hence, the game prolonged for close to 3 hours | Photo: Akshayakalpa

Third, fourth, and fifth tables had walkovers. On board seven Santosh Kashyap Hg defeated Alok N Hegde with the black pieces | Photo: Akshayakalpa

Likhit Chilukuri checkmated his opponent Amey Anand in just 18 moves on board eight | Photo: Akshayakalpa

The five-day long FIDE rating championship, with a cash prize of 5 lakh rupees, is recognized by FIDE world chess association, All India Chess Federation and United Karnataka State Association. The top four finishers in this championship will represent Karnataka in National Premier Championship which is set to take place in December this year.

Earlier, Chief Guest Mr. Tony Pinto, General Manager- Finance of Akshayakalpa inaugurated the tourney along with Mr. Anand Yadwad, Marketing Manager of Akshayakalpa | Photo: Akshayakalpa 

Video Gallery

More than 500 players are participating in the Akshayakalpa Karnataka State Open Chess Championship 2019. Get a glimpse of the action through these exciting clips!

Below are the day one highlights comprising of the inauguration and few interesting moments of round one:

Highlights comprising of the best and the interesting moments of round one:

Akshayakalpa Organic Milk's General Manager-Finance Mr. Tony Pinto talks about the Karnataka State Open Chess Championship 2019.

Arnav from Vidyashilp Academy talks about his love for the royal game.

Hear from Avyan Shah of Silveroaks International school why he loves to play chess and how Akshayakalpa Organic Milk helps him become a better chess player.

Dhanushkka. S of Orchids International School daughter of Srithar S talks about her chess journey with Akshayakalpa.

Results of round one

Bo.No.NameRtgPts. ResultPts. NameRtgNo.
1249Akarsh S Gowda 00 0 - 10 WCMSharma Isha 21821
22Prachura P.P. 21300 1 - 00 Akshat Sharma 0250
3251Akshay G 00 + - -0 Joshua A P 20743
44Nambiar Vivek 20300 + - -0 Akshit Chaudhary 0252
5253Akshitha Babu 00 - - +0 Parthasarathy R 19845
66Varma Shabdhik 19470 1 - 00 Akul Anand M 0254
7255Alok N Hegde 00 0 - 10 Santoshkashyap Hg 19317
88Likhit Chilukuri 19260 1 - 00 Amey Anand 0256
9257Amogha Varsha G M 00 0 - 10 Rakshith Srinivasan 18999
1010Sharan Rao 18940 + - -0 Anand Krishnan 0258
11259Anandhi P 00 + - -0 Anbazhagan 188011
1212Raghavendra V. 18650 - - +0 Aneesha Ganesh Pai 0260
13261Anik Reddy Kolli 00 0 - 10 Manasa K. 183013
1414Jagadish P 18290 1 - 00 Anjana J 0262
15263Annika Santhosh Mallya 00 0 - 10 Sudarshan Bhat 181515
1616Chincholimath Halsagar 18120 1 - 00 Anurag R P 0264
17265Anwesha 00 0 - 10 AIMKaushik G Iyer 178817
1818Teja Kirthi 17850 1 - 00 Apoorva Bodas 0266
19267Aprameya A 00 0 - 10 Gavi Siddayya 178319
2020Keshav Kothari 17750 1 - 00 Aradyo Bhattacharyya 0268

Complete results

About author

Hinduja Reddy is a 24-year-old Chess Entrepreneur who lives in Bengaluru. She is a former National Women's B bronze medalist, chess writer, coach and co-founder of ChessMine events.

Contact Us