chessbase india logo

3rd Gujarat GM Open R7: Neelotpal, Ortik and Srihari in a three-way lead

by Shahid Ahmed - 05/04/2022

GM Neelotpal Das showed his endgame understanding as he beat GM Hesham Abdelrahman (EGY) to maintain his lead. IM Nitin S was unable to put up a fight against the other tournament leader, IM Ortik Nigmatov (UZB). IM Srihari L R continues his good form as he averted disaster to beat GM Adham Fawzy (EGY) and remain one of the three leaders 6.5/7. FM Suyog Wagh probably missed the biggest chance of the round against GM Stany G A. Srihari will face Ortik and Neelotpal will be up against Paraguay no.1 GM Neuris Delgado Ramirez in a crucial round which will certainly have serious implications for the championship. Round 8 starts today at 10:00 a.m. IST. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Srihari beats Adham

IM Srihari L R scored the biggest win of the round against GM Adham Fawzy (EGY). 14-year-old Vrashank Chouhan continues his fantastic run. He beat IM P Saravana Krishnan in the eighth round. He is currently the highest scorer among untitled players. He is also yet to lose against a titled player in this event so far.

GM Neelotpal Das is definitely a strong contender for the championship | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Hesham - Neelotpal: 0-1

GM Hesham Abdelrahman (EGY, 2424) went wrong in a seemingly equal double rook and bishop endgame against GM Neelotpal Das (2409).

Position after 31.exf5

31.Rc6 fxe4 32.Rd1 would have kept the game going. 31.exf5 allows Black to force the exchange of rooks 31...Rb4+ 32.Rb2 Rxb2+ 33.Kxb2 gxf5. Black also got rid of the doubled pawn and c7 cannot be defended for long. Everything worked out exactly the way Black could have asked for. Neelotpal went on to win the game and maintain his lead.

How to win rook and two pawns vs rook | Hesham vs Neelotpal | Video: ChessBase India

Hesham faltered in the endgame against Neelotpal | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Nitin S was unable to get out of the gate after getting a worse position in the Scotch Gambit against IM Ortik Nigmatov (UZB) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Srihari - Adham: 1-0

IM Srihari L R (2400) capitalized on his opponent GM Adham Fawzy's (EGY, 2490) final mistake in the end.

Position after 28...Rxe5

28.Rff1 would have been better for White compared to what was played 28.fxe5 Rxe5 29.Qxe5 Nxf2+?? 30.Kg1 Nd3 31.Qxd5+-. Instead, 29...Nxe5 30.Rd2 Qg7 31.Rxd5 h5 would have been playable for Black.

When a GM blunders a rook! | Srihari vs Adham | Video: ChessBase India

IM Srihari L R seized his opportunity against GM Adham Fawzy (EGY) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Stany - Suyog: 1-0

GM Stany G A (2517) survived a massive scare as his opponent FM Suyog Wagh (2328) missed a checkmate in four moves.

Position after 26.b3

Find out the forced winning combination for Black after 26.b3. In the game 26...Rxc1+ was played which is also winning for Black. However, it is a much longer path. Black eventually made a mistake which turned things in his opponent's favor.

FM Suyog Wagh missed a great opportunity to beat GM Stany G A | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Himal Gusain - GM Harsha Bharathakoti: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

FM Ranindu Dilshan Liyanage (SRI) - GM Boris Savchenko: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

FM L M S T De Silva (SRI) - GM Mikel Huerga Leache (ESP) : 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

GM P Karthikeyan - IM Rahul Sangma: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Moksh Amit Doshi - FM Jeet Jain: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Diego Del Rey (ESP) - WIM Priyanka K: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Vrashank Chouhan - IM P Saravana Krishnan: 1-0 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

GM Sandipan Chanda - Garv Rai: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM Raahul V S - Vishwa Shah: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more Round 7 photos, please click here.


A total of 374 players including 14 GMs, 30 IMs and 3 WIM are taking part from 14 countries across the world including India. The tournament is organized by Gujarat State Chess Association from 31st March to 7th April 2022 at Karnavati Club, Ahmedabad. The ten-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay Round 7 games

Round 7 results

118IMNitin S.2427India0 - 1IMNigmatov Ortik2445Uzbekistan14
219GMHesham Abdelrahman2424Egypt0 - 1GMNeelotpal Das2409India22
326IMSrihari L R2400India1 - 05GMFawzy Adham2490Egypt6
41GMDelgado Ramirez Neuris2622Paraguay51 - 05IMRajesh V A V2376India30
53GMStany G.A.2517India51 - 05FMWagh Suyog2328India38
623IMGusain Himal2408India5½ - ½5GMHarsha Bharathakoti2499India4
79GMMirzoev Azer2476Azerbaijan51 - 05CMDaakshin ArunU152173India62
811IMKrishna C R G2466India51 - 05IMWeerawardane Romesh2005Srilanka76
935Ritviz Parab2349India50 - 15IMVignesh N R2444India15
1043FMAyush Sharma2302India50 - 15IMAbdisalimov Abdimalik2435Uzbekistan16
1151WIMArpita Mukherjee2260India50 - 15GMLaxman R.R.2429India17
1221IMAudi Ameya2418India1 - 05Krishnan RitvikU151761India115
1337FMLiyanage Ranindu Dilshan2340Srilanka½ - ½GMSavchenko Boris25352
1449FMAaryan Varshney2277India0 - 1GMVenkatesh M.R.2493India5
1555FMDe Silva L M S T2220Srilanka½ - ½GMHuerga Leache Mikel2471Spain10
1658IMSuvrajit Saha2198India0 - 1IMNeelash Saha2445India13
1774Shiva Pavan Teja Sharma U2022India0 - 1IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.2422India20
1825IMShahil DeyU152400India½ - ½IMRatnakaran K.2316India40
1927GMKarthikeyan P.2397India½ - ½IMSangma Rahul2286India44
2029IMMoksh Amit Doshi2396India½ - ½FMJeet Jain2279India48


Round 8 pairings

114IMNigmatov Ortik2445UzbekistanIMSrihari L R2400India26
222GMNeelotpal Das2409India6GMDelgado Ramirez Neuris2622Paraguay1
315IMVignesh N R2444India66GMStany G.A.2517India3
416IMAbdisalimov Abdimalik2435Uzbekistan66GMMirzoev Azer2476Azerbaijan9
517GMLaxman R.R.2429India66IMKrishna C R G2466India11
64GMHarsha Bharathakoti2499IndiaIMAudi Ameya2418India21
75GMVenkatesh M.R.2493IndiaIMGusain Himal2408India23
832IMSidhant Mohapatra2359IndiaIMNeelash Saha2445India13
933IMKonguvel Ponnuswamy2358IndiaIMNitin S.2427India18
1034IMAnuj Shrivatri2350IndiaGMHesham Abdelrahman2424Egypt19
1120IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.2422IndiaVrashank ChouhanU151790India105
122GMSavchenko Boris253555IMManish Anto Cristiano F2236India53
136GMFawzy Adham2490Egypt55WIMArpita Mukherjee2260India51
1410GMHuerga Leache Mikel2471Spain55FMJain Kashish Manoj2162India63
1524IMSammed Jaykumar Shete2408India55FMDe Silva L M S T2220Srilanka55
1648FMJeet Jain2279India55IMShahil DeyU152400India25
1756WIMPriyanka K2215India55GMKarthikeyan P.2397India27
1828IMViani Antonio Dcunha2397India55Santu Mondal2063CCSCSB70
1962CMDaakshin ArunU152173India55IMMoksh Amit Doshi2396India29
2030IMRajesh V A V2376India55Adireddy ArjunU151796India103


Contact Us