chessbase india logo

Subhayan Kundu dominates Madaripur Festival Deputy Commissioner Rapid and Blitz Rating Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 03/02/2023

Subhayan Kundu scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 and 6.5/7 to win Madaripur Festival Deputy Commissioner Rapid and Blitz Rating Open 2023. He finished a full point ahead of the field in both events. CM Manon Reja Neer scored 7.5/9 and 5.5/7 to secure second and third place in Rapid and Blitz events respectively. Samrat Ghorai edged past three other players 7/9 to finish third in Rapid. FM Subrota Biswas was adjudged second in the Blitz scoring 5.5/7. The total prize fund of the Rapid event was Tk 60000 (₹45776 approx). The top three prizes were Tk 10000, 7000 and 5500 each respectively. The first prize in the Blitz event was Tk 1600.

Samrat Ghorai third in Rapid, Manon Reja claims podium in both

The reigning West Bengal State champion, Subhayan Kundu is in great form since October 2022. These two were the first tournament he started in 2023 and he won them both convincingly. Before this event, he won two Classical Rating tournaments and finished as the runner-up in the Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 Rapid Rating event. He also scored his second IM-norm at MPL 59th National Senior Championship 2022.

Champion in both Rapid and Blitz - Subhayan Kundu 8.5/9 and 6.5/7

Runner-up in Rapid and second runner-up in Blitz - CM Manon Reja Neer (BAN) 7.5/9 and 5.5/7 | Photo: Madaripur Chess Academy

Runner-up in Blitz - FM Subrota Biswas (BAN) 5.5/7 | Photo: Madaripur Chess Academy

Second Runner-up in Rapid - Samrat Ghorai 7/9 | Photo:  Madaripur Chess Academy

Inauguration Ceremony | Photo: Madaripur Chess Academy

Top boards in action | Photo:  Madaripur Chess Academy

Subhayan Kundu scored eight consecutive victories to win the tournament with a round to spare and gained 31.6 rapid rating points

Subhayan Kundu continued his great form in Blitz too, gaining 21.4 Blitz rating points

The tournament hall at Integrated Government Office Building at Madaripur, Bangladesh | Photo: Madaripur Chess Academy

A total of 87 players in the Rapid and 45 in the Blitz took part from various parts of Bangladesh and three from India in each event. The nine-round Swiss league Rapid Rating tournament took place on 20th and 21st January, the seven-round Blitz Rating tournament was held on 21st January 2023. Both events were organized by Deputy Commissioner, Madaripur at Integrated Government Office Building, Madaripur, Bangladesh. The time control for the Rapid Rating tournament was 25 minutes + 10 seconds increment and for Blitz 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment.

Final standings in Rapid

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 nwwew-weKrtg+/-
Subhayan, KunduIND22058,5051,556,553,50898,56,921,582031,6
CMManon, Reja NeerBAN20597,505255,544,00797,55,511,994079,6
Samrat, GhoraiIND197270475035,006864,361,642032,8
Md. Masum, HossainBAN19877046,550,534,507976,570,43208,6
CMNayem, HaqueBAN20607044,54834,006975,281,722034,4
Md. Aminul, IslamBAN1913704142,532,507754,740,26205,2
Ahmed, ShafiqBAN20006,5050,555,536,75696,54,911,592031,8
CMChowdhury, SohelBAN20696,50505437,75696,55,510,992019,8
Md.Abu, HanifBAN20936,5049,553,536,00585,55,410,09201,8
FMSubrota, BiswasBAN22336,504750,534,25696,57,55-1,0520-21


Final standings in Blitz

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgIPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 Rp
Subhayan, KunduIND22076,5029,527,527,2562397
FMSubrota, BiswasBAN21915,5032,52924,2552234
CMManon, Reja NeerBAN19425,5030,528,522,2552123
Md.Abu, HanifBAN21705,5027,525,520,2552007
FMRahman, Syed MahfuzurBAN21225,5027,525,520,0052107
Islam, Sheik Md. KhairulBAN19835032,529,518,0042105
Mrittika, MallickIND17485031,52822,0042159
CMChowdhury, SohelBAN2017503027,518,0052084
Khan, Md. Monir HossainBAN188150272418,5051869
Osman, GoniBAN17255025,522,518,0042082


Related news:
Subhayan Kundu dominates 3rd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 18/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us