chessbase india logo

Wang Hao and Inarkiev set up the all important round 7 clash in Sharjah

by Sagar Shah - 28/03/2019

The Sharjah Masters 2019 is excitingly placed after six rounds. Ernesto Inarkiev is in excellent form and has just dropped half a point. He is on 5.5/6. Wang Hao, the top seed of the tournament is on 5.0/6 and has set up an all important round seven clash with the leader. Indian hopes are pinned on seven Indians - Abhijeet Gupta, Nihal Sarin, Deepan Chakkravarthy, Vignesh NR, Vishnu Prasanna, Raunak Sadhwani and Aditya Mittal, who are on 4.5/6. In round six, the 12-year-old Aditya Mittal played an exciting game to beat Eduardo Iturrizaga. We have the complete analysis of that game. Photos and videos from Sharjah by Niklesh Jain.

Abhijeet Gupta is the highest scoring Indian and is on 4.5/6. After a fine win against Sargissian in round five, he lost his game to Inarkiev in round 6 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

The sole leader of the tournament - Ernesto Inarkiev | Photo: Niklesh Jain

The board two clash between Inarkiev and Gupta which ended in the Russian getting the full point | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Aditya Mittal with his mother Kusum and organizing secretary Talal Alzaabi. In round 6 Aditya played an excellent game to beat Eduardo Iturrizaga. | Photo: Niklesh Jain

If Raunak Sadhwani can finish well, he may well go back home with his second GM norm | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Nihal Sarin won his round 6 game and faces Vladimir Fedoseev in round 7 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

The top board clash between Wang Hao and Maghsoodloo ended in a draw | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Can Deepan show his fire on board approach in the last three rounds and finish on the top? | Photo: Niklesh Jain

The Uzbek boys are in top form at the Sharjah Masters! | Photo: Niklesh Jain

India's most experienced arbiter Anantharam with press officer of the Sharjah Masters Kema Goryaeva | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Inarkiev is the sole leader with 5.5/6 and is followed by Wang Hao, Parham Maghsoodloo, Shamsiddin Vokhidov and Nodirbek Yakkuboev

Inarkiev versus Wang Hao is the mouth watering clash that everyone is looking forward to

Player overview for IND

13GMGanguly Surya Shekhar26332633IND11½01½4,03110-6,30
17GMGupta Abhijeet26022602IND11½1104,56106,40
19GMNihal Sarin25782578IND11101½4,519104,80
23GMChanda Sandipan25342534IND11½10½4,02710-0,80
24GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.25342534IND1½½11½4,517103,80
25GMDebashis Das25322532IND11½0½½3,55610-6,00
26IMGukesh D25292529IND½110013,56610-9,00
28GMVishnu Prasanna. V25242524IND11½½½14,522103,00
30GMVenkatesh M.R.25172517IND110½103,56010-1,50
31GMStany G.A.25072507IND11½0½½3,55010-1,60
35GMHarsha Bharathakoti24972497IND½½1½103,56210-9,00
36GMKarthik Venkataraman24942494IND110½½03,08510-12,50
39IMIniyan P24872487IND11½0½½3,55910-4,50
42IMVignesh N R24762476IND11½½1½4,514109,80
45IMSadhwani Raunak24552455IND10111½4,521102,20
46CMAditya Mittal24542454IND1101½14,5201011,20
47CMMendonca Leon Luke24462446IND1½011½4,041107,30
50IMShyaamnikhil P24292429IND10½1013,57010-2,90
51GMLaxman R.R.24252425IND1011014,035103,70
53IMRaja Rithvik R24232423IND10110½3,55810-2,10
55IMAkshat Khamparia24152415IND½101013,56710-2,40
56GMSundararajan Kidambi24132413IND1½01½14,034106,90
57IMAkash G24112411IND1011003,08610-6,70
58IMNitin S.24082408IND1½01013,56310-0,60
62Saurabh Anand23852385IND101½½14,038201,00
63IMDhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad23842384IND1½½1½½4,0302020,60
67IMRathnakaran K.23612361IND1010114,042102,70
68IMFenil Shah23602360IND1001114,04810-5,40
69FMPranav Anand23592359IND½101013,57520-13,60
71IMRaghunandan Kaumandur Srihari23522352IND1½½½103,5551012,30
72IMSidhant Mohapatra23482348IND1½00½13,08810-3,60
73FMShailesh Dravid23162316IND1011003,080206,00
74CMBharath Subramaniyam H23012301IND101½½½3,5722015,00
75Ajay Karthikeyan22982298IND101½½03,090409,60
76WIMPriyanka Nutakki22972297IND1010114,0474031,20
78IMSharma Dinesh K.22862286IND1½00113,565104,30
80IMRavi Thandalam Shanmugam22762276IND½010012,512510-21,70
82CMMullick Raahil22752275IND1010103,09240-11,20
84WIMDivya Deshmukh22662266IND1010103,09340-14,00
86Kunal M.22582258IND11½0½14,0392040,60
87Pranav V22582258IND1011014,0462020,00
88IMPraveen Kumar C22432243IND11½½0½3,5491016,00
91FMJeet Jain22192219IND011½½14,0372029,00
93Panda Sambit22182218IND01½01½3,083404,40
95FMSrihari L R22112211IND0101013,09620-9,80
101IMGokhale Chandrashekhar21852185IND0011013,010210-7,30
103Gandhi Anish21562156IND001½102,512320-19,40
106Jaeel Atharva21452145IND010½½13,010340-25,20
110Thrish Karthik20962096IND½½011½3,5644079,20
111Shiva Pavan Teja Sharma U20932093IND0½10102,511720-10,20
114WCMMrudul Dehankar20782078IND010½102,512140-20,00
115WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya20762076IND½010102,51124010,40
116Kumar Gaurav20742074IND0101013,0100200,00
119Shanya Mishra20262026IND0110½02,51104041,20
121Sri Sai Baswanth P20182018IND½1½½002,51072037,20
122CMShahil Dey20072007IND0101½02,5116407,60
123WFMSanskriti Goyal20062006IND0011013,010540-4,00
124Mohammed Dilshad20062006IND½010012,5114204,60
125Krithigga K20022002IND0110002,01324019,20
126Niklesh Kumar Jain19951995IND010½0½0002,013820-24,00
127WIMGokhale Anupama19941994IND0101103,0972013,60
128Parthasarathy R19891989IND0100102,013520-6,80
132Anilkumar O.T.19751975IND0100102,013320-9,00
133Mota Pankit19741974IND½001012,5118202,80
138WCMIsha Sharma19351935IND010½102,51112033,40
139Rakshith Srinivasan19231923IND001½012,5126400,00
141Souradip Deb18991899IND0010113,01062011,00
142Gokhale Rishabh Chandrashekhar18951895IND0½½0102,01494013,20
144Abid Ali Mujawar18691869IND0010½12,512820-13,00
145Rohit S18681868IND½010012,51134069,60
146WFMMeghna C H18631863IND001½102,51242017,60
147WFMDhyana Patel18481848IND01000½1,515840-5,20
148Jinan Jomon18481848IND011½0½3,0874061,20
150Varsha Ramesh18311831IND0½001½2,015340-10,00
151AIMKaushik G Iyer17711771IND001½001,516640-2,40
153AIMSidharth Balaji Sridharan17321732IND0½00101,516440-18,40
155Devnani Kush16501650IND0100012,01414030,80
156Aagam Aditya E16491649IND00½0½½1,516140-6,40
157Antony Jesumarian Leslie16211621IND0½001½2,01484030,80
159Singh Gurmeher15891589IND0001001,017140-31,60
162Rebecca Jesumarian15611561IND00010½1,51674014,40
167AIMVishal Choudary B15191519IND00½1001,51604034,80
168Harikrishnan C15141514IND0001½001,51654014,80
169Sharon Rafael14741474IND½0010½2,01434060,80

Round 6 highlights by Niklesh Jain from the Sharjah Chess Club

Contact Us