chessbase india logo

Shahab Ahmad Farooqui wins 14th UP State under-25

by Shahid Ahmed - 28/07/2019

In a closely fought battle for 14th Uttar Pradesh State under-25 championship, five players finished at 6.0/7. However, due to a better tie-break score Shahab Ahmad Farooqui of Varanasi clinched the championship. Jai Saxena of Prayagraj secured the first runner-up position and top seed Vikash Nishad of Kanpur had to settle for second runner-up position. Total 76 players participated in this four-day tournament held in Kaushambi from 10 different districts across the state. Photo: FA Raghavendra Shukla

Shahab wins the five-way tie

Shahab Ahmad Farooqui (1647) of Varanasi scored 6.0/7 and became champion. He received a trophy, certificate and ₹4000 cash | Photo: Raghavendra Shukla

Shahab's performance at 14th UP State under-25

Top 3 (L to R): Champion Shahab Ahmad Farooqui (Varanasi, 1647), Runner-up Jai Saxena (Prayagraj, 1326) and Second runner-up Vikash Nishad (Kanpur, 1701) | Photo: Raghavendra Shukla

You can buy the t-shirt which top seed of the tournament, Vikash Nishad is wearing here



The seven-round Swiss League tournament was organized by Zilla Shatranj Sports Association Kaushambi at SP Memorial Institute of Technology from 12th to 15th July 2019. Total 76 players participated from 10 different districts across the state of Uttar Pradesh.


Final Ranking after 7 Rounds

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
13Shahab Ahmad FarooquiIND1647Varanasi6,00,031,032,0
29Jai SaxenaIND1326Ald6,00,030,532,0
31Vikash NishadIND1701KNP6,00,030,032,0
42Swapnil RajIND1680Varanasi6,00,029,531,0
55Gaha NarayanIND1591GZB6,00,027,531,0
616Shivam ChaudharyIND1162MTR5,00,029,532,5
76Rituraj SinghIND1560GZB5,00,029,032,0
87Sparsh YadavIND1508Ald5,00,027,530,5
949Jaikishan JaiswalIND0Gazipur5,00,027,529,5
104Bajpai VasuIND1637Lucknow5,00,027,529,5

Complete standings

Related news:
Aaryan Varshney wins 2nd Noida Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 04/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash Saha wins Bijnor Open Vol.2 2024

@ 24/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aaditya Dhingra triumphs at Noida Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 06/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
The other side of Chess

@ 26/06/2022 by Aditya Sur Roy (en)
Anuj Shrivatri wins C3 Chess Cup Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 03/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us