chessbase india logo

Raahul V S clinches AICF National Junior Open Online 2021

by Shahid Ahmed - 30/07/2021

Untitled Raahul V S of Tamil Nadu scored 9.5/11 to win AICF National Junior Open Online championship 2021. He won ₹25000 cash prize. IM Bharath Subramaniyam H secured sole second position 9.0/11, earned ₹18000. Six players scored 8.5/11. They had to play the Playoffs. According to that, GM Iniyan P was placed third and he got ₹15000. Total prize fund for the event was ₹125000 for the top 20 places. Tamil Nadu claimed six out of top ten places, West Bengal was the next state which won second-highest number of places among the prize winners. Check out two annotated games by the champion Raahul himself. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Tamil Nadu dominates top four places

Raahul V S of Tamil Nadu, was in a four-way lead 5.0/5 at the end of the fifth round. Then he suffered a loss in the next round against IM Mitrabha Guha. However, it did not deter him from his path to glory as he scored 4.5 points in the next five games to finish a half point ahead of the competition. He beat both eventual first and second runner-up IM Bharath Subramaniyam H and GM Iniyan P. The time control for the tournament was 15 mins + 5 seconds increment.

Champion Raahul V S 9.5/11 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

2nd IM Bharath Subramaniyam H 9.0/11 | Photo: Amruta Mokal

3rd IM Iniyan P 8.5/11 | Photo: Amruta Mokal

"It's really nice to win the tournament, I wasn't really expecting to win the tournament mainly after my loss against Mitrabha Guha, I am also happy that I got to play some good games against some good players. It was overall a really nice and educating experience for me." - Raahul V S on winning AICF National Junior Open Online 2021.

Raahul scored nine wins, one draw and one loss

Raahul shared a couple of his games from the tournament and he annotated them too

4th Harshavardhan G B 8.5/11 | Photo: IA Jitendra Choudhary

5th IM Mitrabha Guha 8.5/11 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th Subhayan Kundu | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th IM Rathanvel V S 8.5/11  | Photo: Rupali Mullick

8th IM Pranesh M 8.5/11 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

9th FM Nitish Belurkar 8.0/11 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

10th Vedant Panesar 8.0/11

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
113Raahul V SIND2344Tamil Nadu9,5177,082,569,80,0
26IMBharath Subramaniyam HIND2437Tamil Nadu9,0270,575,559,50,0
31GMIniyan PIND2506Tamil Nadu8,5379,084,562,80,0
49IMHarshavardhan G BIND2397Tamil Nadu8,5475,580,559,30,0
52IMMitrabha GuhaIND2467West Bengal8,5580,585,564,50,0
615Subhayan KunduIND2301West Bengal8,5674,079,059,80,0
73IMRathanvel V SIND2445Tamil Nadu8,5773,578,559,50,0
85IMPranesh MIND2437Tamil Nadu8,5870,075,556,50,0
911FMNitish BelurkarIND2351Goa8,0069,574,552,50,0
1017Panesar VedantIND2266Maharashtra8,0069,574,551,30,0
1110IMRajdeep SarkarIND2355West Bengal8,0069,074,052,50,0
1218Utsab ChatterjeeIND2239West Bengal8,0069,073,550,50,0
59Adireddy ArjunIND1658Telangana8,0069,073,550,50,0
1416FMAaryan VarshneyIND2277Delhi7,5077,582,051,80,0
154IMAronyak GhoshIND2440West Bengal7,5076,580,550,50,0
168FMSrihari L RIND2414Tamil Nadu7,5074,080,049,50,0
1722Srihari LIND2142Puducherry7,5072,577,548,80,0
1820Soham KamotraIND2229Jammu And Kashmir7,5072,076,549,80,0
1919Shome ShivIND2237Maharashtra7,5071,576,051,00,0
2012IMSiva MahadevanIND2349Tamil Nadu7,5071,074,546,50,0




Download final standings

Contact Us