chessbase india logo

MPL 48th National Women R2: Sunyuktha shines against Isha

by Shahid Ahmed - 28/12/2022

Sunyuktha C M N (TN) scored a clinical victory over WIM Isha Sharma (KAR) in the second round of MPL 48th National Women Chess Championship 2022. WCM Bristy Mukherjee (WB) defeated her statemate WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB) after the latter missed a checkmate combination. Reigning Telangana State Women and Junior Girls champion, Sarayu Velpula held WIM Mahalakshmi M (RSPB) to a draw. A total of 22 women are at 2/2 including the top two seeds WGM Vantika Agrawal (DEL) and the defending champion, WGM Divya Deshmukh (MAH). Round 3 starts today at 10:30 a.m. Photo: Maharashtra Chess Association

Bristy swindles Arpita

Sunyuktha C M N (TN) played a model game against WIM Isha Sharma (KAR).The West Bengal State Junior Girls 2021 champion, WCM Bristy Mukherjee defeated WIM Arpita Mukherjee for the second time in 3.5 weeks. Rutuja Bakshi (MAH) seized her opportunity against CM Aparajita Gochhikar (ODI).

Sunyuktha C M N defeated WIM Isha Sharma comfortably | Photo: Maharashtra Chess Association

Official logo of MPL 48th National Women Chess Championship 2022 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Isha - Sunyuktha: 0-1

Sunyuktha C M N (TN, 1820) launched a very simple yet devastating attack on WIM Isha Sharma's (KAR, 2212) king.

Position after 20...b4

Whether White takes on b4 or not, there is no good way to prevent the onslaught which Black has planned. 21.cxb4 Rxb4 22.b3 Na3+ 23.Kb2 d5 opening up the bishop's path. 24.exd5 will be met by e4! Hence, 24.Qc3 Qxc3+ 25.Kxc3 Rc8+ 26.Kb2 Rc2+ 27.Ka1 dxe4 28.Bg4 Rd4 29.Ne3 Bb4 and White resigned as Bc3# threat is unstoppable.

Bristy - Arpita: 1-0

WCM Bristy Mukherjee (WB, 1817) opted for the Bird's opening 1.f4 against WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB, 2211). It quickly transposed into a Stonewall structure. Despite having an advantageous position for the better part of the game, Arpita missed a simple checkmate combination.

Position after 34.Rc7

34.Rc7 has one threat 35.Rxf7+ Kxf7 36.Qxg6+ Kf8 37.Qg8#. 34...Ne3 would have defended the g6-pawn and Black would have been out of trouble after Ng4. She completely overlooked and enabled White's idea 34...Rb1 35.Rxf7+ and Black resigned.

WCM Bristy Mukherjee 2/2 | Photo: Maharashtra Chess Association

Aparajita - Rutuja

Position after 31...Qb6+

Sometimes letting things go is the best thing to do. Here White should have let the d2-rook go 32.Kh1 Rxd2 33.Nxh6+ Kg7 34.Qxg5+ Kh8 35.Qh4 and both players would have been forced to repeat moves and make a draw. However, 32.Rdf2 self-pinning the rook allowed Black to go 32...Rxf5 33.Bxf5 Bxf1 34.fxg5 Nd1 and White cannot save the rook.

Rutuja Bakshi 2/2 | Photo: Maharashtra Chess Association

The tournament hall at Sanjay Ghodawat University | Photo: Maharashtra Chess Association

A total of 102 players including 3 IMs, 7 WGMs and 12 WIMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Chess Association Kolhapur. The event is taking place at Sanjay Ghodawat University, Kolhapur, Maharasahtra from 26th December 2022 to 5th January 2023. The 11-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 2 games

Round 2 results

11WGMVantika Agrawal2352Delhi11 - 01WFMLakshmi C1974Tamil Nadu30PGN
233WFMBhagyashree Patil1920Maharashtra10 - 11WGMDivya Deshmukh2347Maharashtra2PGN
335WFMPatil Mitali1877Maharashtra10 - 11WGMGomes Mary Ann2320PSPB4PGN
45IMKulkarni Bhakti2319Goa11 - 01Mrittika Mallick1867West Bengal36PGN
537Velpula Sarayu1847Telangana1½ - ½1WIMMahalakshmi M2257RSPB6PGN
67WIMPujari Rucha2229Maharashtra11 - 01Femil Chelladurai1824Tamil Nadu38PGN
739WFMPotluri Supreetha1823Andhra Pradesh10 - 11WIMChitlange Sakshi2213Maharashtra8PGN
89WIMSharma Isha2212Karnataka10 - 11Sunyuktha C M N1820Tamil Nadu40PGN
941WCMBristy Mukherjee1817West Bengal11 - 01WIMArpita Mukherjee2211West Bengal10PGN
1011WGMSrija Seshadri2204Tamil Nadu11 - 01Anjali R. Sagar1804Gujarat42PGN


Round 3 pairings

116WIMBommini Mounika Akshaya2135Andhra Pradesh22WGMVantika Agrawal2352Delhi1
22WGMDivya Deshmukh2347Maharashtra22WFMShah Vishwa2128Maharashtra17
34WGMGomes Mary Ann2320PSPB22WFMNimmy A.G.2110Kerala21
418Bakshi Rutuja2127Maharashtra22IMKulkarni Bhakti2319Goa5
520WIMMakhija Aashna2123Maharashtra22WIMPujari Rucha2229Maharashtra7
68WIMChitlange Sakshi2213Maharashtra22WGMSwati Ghate2089LIC25
722WFMDeodhar Vrushali Umesh2108Maharashtra22WGMSrija Seshadri2204Tamil Nadu11
812WIMAakanksha Hagawane2202Maharashtra22WIMTejaswini Sagar2060Gujarat27
924WGMKiran Manisha Mohanty2096LIC22WIMPandey Srishti2198Maharashtra13
1014IMMohota Nisha2197PSPB22WCMBristy Mukherjee1817West Bengal41



Tournament Regulations

Chess Association Kolhapur: Official site, and facebook

Contact Us