chessbase india logo

MPL 48th National Women R8: Divya dethrones Mary

by Shahid Ahmed - 03/01/2023

WGM Divya Deshmukh showcased her endgame prowess against WGM Mary Ann Gomes in the eighth round of MPL 48th National Women Chess Championship 2022. Divya has taken sole lead 7/8. Mary is the sole player in the chase at 6.5/8. She is closely followed by six players at 6/6. They are - WIM Sakshi Chitlange, WGM Vantika Agrawal, Sunyuktha C M N, IM Soumya Swaminathan, WIM Isha Sharma and WGM Srija Seshadri. Untitled Sunyuktha is having a great event. She defeated WIM Rucha Pujari convincingly and will now face the tournament leader Divya in Round 9 which starts today at 10:30 a.m. Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Divya closes in on retaining her crown

Apart from Sunyuktha, Maharashtra's very own Saniya Rafique Tadavi scored a big win over WGM Swati Ghate (LIC). She moved to 5.5/8. Samriddhaa Ghosh (WB) is the only other untitled player at 5.5/8. She was winning against WGM Varshini V (TN). However, she decided to allow a draw by perpetual check.

WGM Divya Deshmukh gains sole lead 7/8 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Official logo of MPL 48th National Women Chess Championship 2022 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Divya - Mary: 1-0

Generally, Rook and minor piece endgame even being a pawn down is considered to have very less winning chances. However, the king's position apart from the coordination of the other pieces can also make a huge difference. Something like that is what happened between WGM Divya Deshmukh (MAH, 2347) and WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB, 2320).

Position after 50.Re2

Black has to make a critical choice - Where to move the bishop safely? There are four options - a1, a3, c1 and d4. Which one is the best and why? Try to find out. The game continued 50...Bd4 51.Re4 Bb2 and Black went on to lose the game.

Rucha - Sunyuktha: 0-1

Sunyuktha C M N (TN, 1820) scored a huge win over WGM-elect WIM Rucha Pujari (MAH, 2229).

Position after 49.f5

49.Qe6 Qxe6 50.Rxe6 would have kept the game going. However, 49.f5 turned things in Black's favor Kh7 50.Re6 Bd5 51.Re1 Qc7+ 52.g3 and now White's king is much weaker than Black's.

Sunyuktha C M N (TN) is the sole untitled player at 6/8 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Varshini - Samriddhaa

Position after 34.Qxg5+

Samriddhaa Ghosh (WB, 1778) was completely winning against WGM Varshini V (TN, 2141). She just needed to run away with the king 34...Kf8 35.Qh6+ Ke8 36.Qe3+ Qe5 White is out of checks and the knight cannot be saved either. Instead, Black allowed perpetual check 34...Kh7 35.Qh5+ Kg8 36.Qg5+ Kh7 37.Qh5+ Kg8 and it ended in a draw.

Samriddhaa Ghosh (WB) is having a great tournament 5.5/8 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

A total of 102 players including 3 IMs, 7 WGMs and 12 WIMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Chess Association Kolhapur. The event is taking place at Sanjay Ghodawat University, Kolhapur, Maharasahtra from 26th December 2022 to 5th January 2023. The 11-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 8 games

Round 8 results

12WGMDivya Deshmukh2347Maharashtra61 - 0WGMGomes Mary Ann2320PSPB4PGN
29WIMSharma Isha2212Karnataka½ - ½WIMChitlange Sakshi2213Maharashtra8PGN
31WGMVantika Agrawal2352Delhi½ - ½5IMKulkarni Bhakti2319Goa5PGN
439WFMPotluri Supreetha1823Andhra Pradesh50 - 15IMSoumya Swaminathan2322PSPB3PGN
57WIMPujari Rucha2229Maharashtra50 - 15Sunyuktha C M N1820Tamil Nadu40PGN
611WGMSrija Seshadri2204Tamil Nadu51 - 05WIMChandreyee Hajra1779West Bengal44PGN
720WIMMakhija Aashna2123Maharashtra5½ - ½5IMMohota Nisha2197PSPB14PGN
815WGMVarshini V2141Tamil Nadu5½ - ½5Ghosh Samriddhaa1778West Bengal45PGN
947Tejaswini G1773Tamil Nadu½ - ½WIMMahalakshmi M2257RSPB6PGN
1035WFMPatil Mitali1877Maharashtra½ - ½WIMArpita Mukherjee2211West Bengal10PGN


Standings after Round 8

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
12WGMDivya DeshmukhwIND2347Maharashtra74043,537,7506
24WGMGomes Mary AnnwIND2320PSPB6,538,542,532,7506
38WIMChitlange SakshiwIND2213Maharashtra637,540,529,0005
41WGMVantika AgrawalwIND2352Delhi63639,528,2504
540Sunyuktha C M NwIND1820Tamil Nadu635,53827,7505
63IMSoumya SwaminathanwIND2322PSPB63538,527,7505
79WIMSharma IshawIND2212Karnataka63437,526,7505
811WGMSrija SeshadriwIND2204Tamil Nadu63437,525,5006
920WIMMakhija AashnawIND2123Maharashtra5,538,54225,7505
1017WFMShah VishwawIND2128Maharashtra5,53638,523,5005
1114IMMohota NishawIND2197PSPB5,534,538,526,0004
125IMKulkarni BhaktiwIND2319Goa5,534,53825,2504
1321WFMNimmy A.G.wIND2110Kerala5,534,53823,2504
1445Ghosh SamriddhaawIND1778West Bengal5,53335,523,0004
1515WGMVarshini VwIND2141Tamil Nadu5,53235,523,0004
1662Saniya Rafique TadaviwIND1569Maharashtra5,531,53421,2505
1710WIMArpita MukherjeewIND2211West Bengal536,540,525,0004
186WIMMahalakshmi MwIND2257RSPB535,539,523,5003
1922WFMDeodhar Vrushali UmeshwIND2108Maharashtra535,53820,5005
2039WFMPotluri SupreethawIND1823Andhra Pradesh534,53720,2504


Round 9 pairings

140Sunyuktha C M N1820Tamil Nadu67WGMDivya Deshmukh2347Maharashtra2
24WGMGomes Mary Ann2320PSPB6WGMVantika Agrawal2352Delhi1
33IMSoumya Swaminathan2322PSPB66WIMSharma Isha2212Karnataka9
48WIMChitlange Sakshi2213Maharashtra66WGMSrija Seshadri2204Tamil Nadu11
55IMKulkarni Bhakti2319GoaWIMMakhija Aashna2123Maharashtra20
614IMMohota Nisha2197PSPBWFMNimmy A.G.2110Kerala21
762Saniya Rafique Tadavi1569MaharashtraWGMVarshini V2141Tamil Nadu15
845Ghosh Samriddhaa1778West BengalWFMShah Vishwa2128Maharashtra17
96WIMMahalakshmi M2257RSPB55WFMPotluri Supreetha1823Andhra Pradesh39
1035WFMPatil Mitali1877Maharashtra55WIMPujari Rucha2229Maharashtra7



Tournament Regulations

Chess Association Kolhapur: Official site, and facebook

Contact Us