chessbase india logo

MPL 48th National Women R9: Divya increases her sole lead

by Shahid Ahmed - 04/01/2023

WGM Divya Deshmukh increased her sole lead by a full point by defeating Sunyuktha C M N. Just like the previous edition, Divya is now full point ahead of the field heading into the penultimate round of MPL 48th National Women Chess Championship 2022. WGM Mary Ann Gomes is the sole player trailing her by a half point at 7/9. She is followed by seven players at 6.5/9 each including the top seed WGM Vantika Agrawal. WGM Srija Seshadri missed a win against WIM Sakshi Chitlange. WIM Isha Sharma held IM Soumya Swaminathan to a draw. She will now face Divya in the penultimate round. Round 10 starts today at 10:30 a.m. Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Sunyuktha scores a WIM-norm

Sunyuktha C M N (TN) earned her maiden WIM-norm by scoring 6/9 with a performance of 2226. She is already gaining 86.6 Elo rating points. Samriddhaa Ghosh (WB) and the current National Sub-Junior Girls champion, Tejaswini G (TN) are the only two untitled players at 6/9 along with eight others.

WGM Divya Deshmukh extends her sole lead 8/9 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Official logo of MPL 48th National Women Chess Championship 2022 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Sunyuktha - Divya: 0-1

Sunyuktha C M N (TN, 1820) sacrificed a pawn to gain control in the center against WGM Divya Deshmukh (MAH, 2347).

Position after 16...Nxf6

Since White had played 12.c5 Bxc5 13.Nb3 Bb6 14.e5 Nfd7 15.Qe4 f5 16.exf6 Nxf6 now White had to go for 17.Bf4 to ensure that Black does not get total control of the center. 17.Qh4 was played e5 and Black gained a firm grip in the center and it can be said that Black is positionally winning.

Sunyuktha C M N (TN) scored her maiden WIM-norm | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Mary - Vantika: 0.5-0.5

Top seed of the tournament, WGM Vantika Agrawal (DEL, 2352) had a good opportunity against WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB, 2320).

Position after 26.Ng4

Instead of 26...hxg3+, Black could have continued building up her attack on the kingside 26...Rh8 27.Kg1 Qf5 28.Rd3 Rc2 to create winning chances.

WGM Vantika Agrawal had a good opportunity to reduce the gap with the tournament leader | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Sakshi - Srija

Position after 30.h3??

30.h3?? is a blunder. Find out the winning continuation for Black which WGM Srija Seshadri (TN, 2204) missed against WIM Sakshi Chitlange (MAH, 2213).

WGM Srija Seshadri (TN) 6.5/9 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Reigning National Sub-Junior Girls champion - Tejaswini G (TN) 6/9 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

A total of 102 players including 3 IMs, 7 WGMs and 12 WIMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Chess Association Kolhapur. The event is taking place at Sanjay Ghodawat University, Kolhapur, Maharasahtra from 26th December 2022 to 5th January 2023. The 11-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 9 games

Round 9 results

140Sunyuktha C M N1820Tamil Nadu60 - 17WGMDivya DeshmukhF172347Maharashtra2PGN
24WGMGomes Mary Ann2320PSPB½ - ½6WGMVantika Agrawal2352Delhi1PGN
33IMSoumya Swaminathan2322PSPB6½ - ½6WIMSharma Isha2212Karnataka9PGN
48WIMChitlange Sakshi2213Maharashtra6½ - ½6WGMSrija Seshadri2204Tamil Nadu11PGN
55IMKulkarni Bhakti2319Goa1 - 0WIMMakhija Aashna2123Maharashtra20PGN
614IMMohota Nisha2197PSPB½ - ½WFMNimmy A.G.2110Kerala21PGN
762Saniya Rafique TadaviF171569Maharashtra0 - 1WGMVarshini V2141Tamil Nadu15PGN
845Ghosh Samriddhaa1778West Bengal½ - ½WFMShah Vishwa2128Maharashtra17PGN
96WIMMahalakshmi M2257RSPB51 - 05WFMPotluri Supreetha1823Andhra Pradesh39PGN
1035WFMPatil Mitali1877Maharashtra50 - 15WIMPujari Rucha2229Maharashtra7PGN


Standings after Round 9

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
12WGMDivya DeshmukhwIND2347Maharashtra849,55447,7507
24WGMGomes Mary AnnwIND2320PSPB748,553,539,2506
31WGMVantika AgrawalwIND2352Delhi6,54852,536,2504
48WIMChitlange SakshiwIND2213Maharashtra6,5485236,7505
53IMSoumya SwaminathanwIND2322PSPB6,544,548,533,2505
65IMKulkarni BhaktiwIND2319Goa6,54448,534,0005
711WGMSrija SeshadriwIND2204Tamil Nadu6,5444830,7506
89WIMSharma IshawIND2212Karnataka6,543,547,533,0005
915WGMVarshini VwIND2141Tamil Nadu6,5424632,2505
1040Sunyuktha C M NwIND1820Tamil Nadu64952,533,0005
1117WFMShah VishwawIND2128Maharashtra64548,528,5005
1245Ghosh SamriddhaawIND1778West Bengal6454830,5004
1310WIMArpita MukherjeewIND2211West Bengal6444932,5005
1422WFMDeodhar Vrushali UmeshwIND2108Maharashtra64447,529,0006
156WIMMahalakshmi MwIND2257RSPB64347,530,2504
1621WFMNimmy A.G.wIND2110Kerala64346,527,2504
1714IMMohota NishawIND2197PSPB642,54731,0004
1833WFMBhagyashree PatilwIND1920Maharashtra64244,526,7505
197WIMPujari RuchawIND2229Maharashtra641,54529,2505
2047Tejaswini GwIND1773Tamil Nadu6394226,2505


Round 10 pairings

19WIMSharma Isha2212Karnataka8WGMDivya DeshmukhF172347Maharashtra2
211WGMSrija Seshadri2204Tamil Nadu7WGMGomes Mary Ann2320PSPB4
31WGMVantika Agrawal2352DelhiIMSoumya Swaminathan2322PSPB3
415WGMVarshini V2141Tamil NaduWIMChitlange Sakshi2213Maharashtra8
55IMKulkarni Bhakti2319Goa6WIMMahalakshmi M2257RSPB6
67WIMPujari Rucha2229Maharashtra66WFMDeodhar Vrushali Umesh2108Maharashtra22
733WFMBhagyashree PatilF171920Maharashtra66WIMArpita Mukherjee2211West Bengal10
847Tejaswini GF151773Tamil Nadu66IMMohota Nisha2197PSPB14
917WFMShah Vishwa2128Maharashtra66Sunyuktha C M N1820Tamil Nadu40
1021WFMNimmy A.G.2110Kerala66Ghosh Samriddhaa1778West Bengal45



Tournament Regulations

Chess Association Kolhapur: Official site, and facebook

Contact Us