chessbase india logo

Charvi clinches MPL 34th National Under-10 Girls Chess Championship 2022 with a round to spare

by Shahid Ahmed - 01/05/2022

Karnataka's Charvi A won MPL 34th National Under-10 Girls Chess Championship 2022 with a round to go. She is now at an unbeaten 9.5/10. Her statemate Aadya Ranganath is the only one closest to her 8.0/10. However, she cannot catch up to her mathematically. In the Open section, Madhvendra Pratap Sharma (MP) extended his sole lead by a full point 8.5/9 heading into the final round. Second seed of the tournament, Vivaan Vishal Shah (GUJ) handed Madhvendra his first loss of the event and kept things exciting for the title fray. Both Vivaan and Madhvendra are now at 8.5/10, followed by Aansh Nandan Nerurkar (MAH), Shaashvat Gupta (MAH) and Krishay Jain (WB) at 8.0/10 each. Final Round 11 starts today at 8:30 a.m. IST. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Vivaan stops the Madhvendra juggernaut

Vivaan Vishal Shah (GUJ) became the answer to the perennial question - will anyone be able to stop Madhvendra's momentum? The second seeded boy checkmated Madhvendra to keep things exciting till the very last round in the Open section.

Charvi A is the convincing winner of MPL 34th National Under-10 Girls Chess Championship 2022 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Open Round 9: Madhvendra - Apaar: 1-0

Madhvendra Pratap Sharma (MP, 1527) extended his lead by a full point when he defeated Apaar Saxena (KAR, 1306).

Position after 17...b6

17...b6 was not the best way to defend the a5-pawn. It blindsided the a7-bishop for the rest of the game. 17...a4 or Ra8 are the plausible continuations. Black was virtually down by a piece, White had no trouble converting his advantage into a win.

Madhvendra Pratap Sharma (MP) defeated Apaar Saxena (KAR) comfortably | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Round 10: Vivaan - Madhvendra: 1-0

Second seede, Vivaan Vishal Shah (GUJ, 1665) brought an end to Madhvendra Pratap Sharma's (MP, 1527) unbeaten run.

Position after 18.Nf5

White launched a devastating attack via 18.Nf5. It is certainly not easy to defend for Black. Thus, Madhvendra could not manage to hold and Vivaan won the checkmated him eventually.

Not accepting draws today | Vivaan vs Madhvendra | Video: ChessBase India

Vivaan Vishal Shah ended Madhvendra Pratap Sharma's undefeated streak at the tournament | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Girls Round 9: Vedika - Charvi: 0-1

Vedika Pal (MAH, 1101) first dropped a pawn in the endgame against Charvi A (KAR, 1267). Then she allowed the tournament leader to have a protected passed pawn.

Position after 29.Bc4

29.e5 Nd5 and then 30.Bc4 would have continued the fight. However, an immediate 29.Bc4 allowed Black to protect the d4-pawn with the obvious move e5. Rest was just a matter of time and technique. Black grabbed a few more pawns and won the game with ease.

Round 10: Charvi - Tanusri: 1-0

Charvi A (KAR, 1267) beautifully maneuvered her knight against Tanusri S (TN, 1111).

Position after 16...Nh5

16...Nh5 is a mistake as it allows White to improve his knight's position. 17.Bxe7 Nxe7 18.Na4 Rf6 19.Nc5 b6 20.Nd7 Rf5 21.Ne5 Qg5 22.Qxg5 Rxg5 now 23.Nxc4 perhaps could have given a faster win. Nevertheless, 23.g4 Nf4 24.h4 allowed White to gain an exchange. With this win, Charvi won the tournament with a round to spare.

The heat signature of Charvi's knight maneuver from c3 to e5
Final moments: Charvi vs Tanusri | Video: ChessBase India

Tanusri was no match for Charvi | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more Round 9 and 10 photos, please click here.

Video Gallery

Treat every game as your first game | A former professional chess player and parent- Vineet Aggarwal | Video: ChessBase India
I want to play against Nakamura and become a Master Chef | Yuvir Raj Aggarwal | Video: ChessBase India
More women should be in the field of Chess| SNA Mansha Mahajan on her first tournament as an arbiter | Video: ChessBase India
I have played more than 250 tournaments | Fide Instructor & Senior National Arbiter- Sumit Grover| Video: ChessBase India

A total of 149 players in the Open and 89 players in the Girls tournament are taking part. It is organized by Crown Trust. Both tournaments are taking place at The Kangra Fort, Barnai, Jammu from 26th April to 1st May 2022. The eleven-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay Open Round 9-10 games

Replay Girls Round 9-10 games

Open Round 10 results

12Vivaan Vishal Shah1665Gujarat1 - 0Madhvendra Pratap Sharma1527Madhya Pradesh5
24Aansh Nandan Nerurkar1564Maharashtra½ - ½7Pranav Sai Ram R S1193Tamil Nadu26
313Apaar Saxena1306Karnataka70 - 17Krishay Jain0West Bengal102
439Shaashvat Gupta1135Maharashtra71 - 0Shashveen A K1389Delhi9
57Mayukh Majumder1406West Bengal1 - 0Parambrata Sarkar1117West Bengal43
648Rajveer Patil1095Goa0 - 1Niladri Banerjee1288West Bengal17
7105Madhesh Kumar S0Puducherry1 - 0Sanjay Narayanan P S1286Tamil Nadu18
834Mithilesh Ranjithkumar1151Tamil Nadu0 - 1Rudradaman Mertia1140Rajasthan37
912Pavan Karthikeya Varma Gunturi1312Telangana6½ - ½Badole Shaunak1102Maharashtra47
1031Abhir Prabhu1167Goa6½ - ½6Sri Akhil Prasad1300Andhra Pradesh14


Round 11 pairings

14Aansh Nandan Nerurkar1564Maharashtra8Vivaan Vishal Shah1665Gujarat2
25Madhvendra Pratap Sharma1527Madhya Pradesh8Shaashvat Gupta1135Maharashtra39
3102Krishay Jain0West Bengal8Madhesh Kumar S0Puducherry105
426Pranav Sai Ram R S1193Tamil NaduMayukh Majumder1406West Bengal7
517Niladri Banerjee1288West BengalRudradaman Mertia1140Rajasthan37
613Apaar Saxena1306Karnataka77Jagreet Misra1191Delhi27
747Badole Shaunak1102Maharashtra77Rishabh Kumar1299Delhi15
821Siddhanth Poonja1230Karnataka77Tarun Tapaan Shashikumar Pillay1156Tamil Nadu33
930Ritesh Maddukuri1170TelanganaAdhiraj Mitra1404Jharkhand8
109Shashveen A K1389DelhiAbhir Prabhu1167Goa31


Girls Round 10 results

12Charvi AU101267Karnataka1 - 07Tanusri SU101111Tamil Nadu13
212Aadya RanganathU101133Karnataka71 - 07Hanya ShahU101149Gujarat11
310Siddhi RaoU101151Karnataka1 - 0Krupha S UkkaliU101223Karnataka3
433Arpita PatankarU100Gujarat60 - 16Banker ReyaU101204Gujarat4
56Maitreyi MondalU101182West Bengal6½ - ½6Charudharshini RU101047Tamil Nadu20
68Anaya AgarwalU101171Telangana61 - 06Aishwarya NU100Telangana30
79Niharika ChakrabortyU101157Jharkhand6½ - ½6Jyotika SahooU100Odisha43
854Navieka JaiswalU100Jharkhand6½ - ½6Pal VedikaU101101Maharashtra14
917Anshika DongreU101067Madhya Pradesh60 - 16Tripurambika VU100Andhra Pradesh81
1061Pooja Shree RU100Tamil Nadu1 - 0Aaradhya DasU101196Tripura5


Round 11 pairings

18Anaya AgarwalU101171Telangana7Charvi AU101267Karnataka2
24Banker ReyaU101204Gujarat78Aadya RanganathU101133Karnataka12
313Tanusri SU101111Tamil Nadu7Siddhi RaoU101151Karnataka10
481Tripurambika VU100Andhra Pradesh77Hanya ShahU101149Gujarat11
53Krupha S UkkaliU101223KarnatakaPooja Shree RU100Tamil Nadu61
614Pal VedikaU101101MaharashtraMaitreyi MondalU101182West Bengal6
770Saranya Devi NarahariU100TelanganaNiharika ChakrabortyU101157Jharkhand9
820Charudharshini RU101047Tamil NaduVarniga RU100Andhra Pradesh85
943Jyotika SahooU100OdishaNavieka JaiswalU100Jharkhand54
1076Swadha Sunil DatirU100Maharashtra66Alankrita SharmaU101451Jammu And Kashmir1


Contact Us