chessbase india logo

MPL 34th National U-10 R1-2: Jyotika Sahoo stuns top seed Alankrita Sharma

by Shahid Ahmed - 27/04/2022

Unrated Jyotika Sahoo (ODI) scored the biggest upset in Round 2 of MPL 34th National Under-10 Girls Chess Championship 2022. The Odisha girl got a better position out of the opening against the top seed, Alankrita Sharma (J&K, 1451). The local girl eventually made a tactical blunder which allowed Jyotika to win the game. In the Open event, top seed Abhinav Benny (KER, 1683) survived a scare against Anagani Sasank (AP). The Kerala boy escaped with a draw when his opponent was unable to figure out a win as it was not an easy one for someone who is less than ten years old. Round 3 starts today at 9:00 a.m. IST. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Top seeds face tough challenge

In the second round of the Open section, second seed Kaushal Kohli (J&K, 1566) was held to a draw by Aryaman Ganguly (WB, 1104). 30 players in the Open and 19 in the Girls made a perfect start 2.0/2.

Jyotika Sahoo (ODI) scored an upset victory against Alankrita Sharma (J&K) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Open Round 1: Abhinav - Anagani: 0.5-0.5

Top seed of the Open section, Abhinav Benny (KER, 1683) played an interesting opening, King's Gambit. Anagani Sasank (AP) eventually got a winning Knight vs Bishop endgame.

Position after 35.a3

It might be easier for most of the readers and players to figure out that this is completely winning for Black after 35.a3. However, the game was played between two under-10 players who are eight or nine years old. It is certainly not easy for them to come to a correct evaluation in this endgame. The game eventually ended in a draw.

Anagani Sasank (AP) held the top seed Abhinav Benny (KER, 1683) to a draw | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Round 2 Girls: Jyotika - Alankrita: 1-0

Top seed of the Girls event, Alankrita Sharma (J&K, 1451) went wrong early in the opening against Jyotika Sahoo (ODI).

Position after 6...Qe7

6...d5 7,Bb5 Ne4 8.cxd4 Bb6 is the main line. 6...Qe7 just invites trouble 7.0-0 Nxe5 worsened things further 8.Nxe5 Qxe5 9.Re1 Ne4. Now 10.Qe2 would have been a quicker finish for White. The game continued 10.Qf3 d5 11.Bxd5 Qxd5 12.Qxe4+ and White won the game eventually after her opponent blundered a piece in the endgame.

Photo Gallery

Chief Guest Nuzhat Gull, Secretary of Jammu and Kashmir sports council was the Chief Guest at the Inauguration Ceremony | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The tournament hall | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The Kangra Fort, Barnai, Jammu is the venue | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Diwan-E-Khas inside The Kangra Fort | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more Round 1 and Round 2 photos, please click at the respective links.

Video Gallery

Jammu Kashmir has this beautiful chess venue for the MPL 34th National Under-10 | Video: ChessBase India
10-year-old boy shows how to checkmate with a King and Rook | Video: ChessBase India
When your King is the lone soldier | Marysil Silveira Lyia vs Reya Banker | Video: ChessBase India
When you decline a draw only to accept it | Tanusri S vs Pardeshi Chaturthi | Video: ChessBase India
"Can I adjust your piece!" | Video: ChessBase India

A total of 149 players in the Open and 89 players in the Girls tournament are taking part. It is organized by Crown Trust. Both tournaments are taking place at The Kangra Fort, Barnai, Jammu from 26th April to 1st May 2022. The eleven-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay Open Round 1-2 games

Replay Girls Round 1-2 games

Open Round 2 results

12Vivaan Vishal Shah1665Gujarat11 - 01Siddhant Bharti1107Maharashtra45
246Aryaman Ganguly1104West Bengal1½ - ½1Pazhany Kaushal Kohli1566Jammu And Kashmir3
34Aansh Nandan Nerurkar1564Maharashtra11 - 01Badole Shaunak1102Maharashtra47
450Sahrudh M P1087Andhra Pradesh10 - 11Madhvendra Pratap Sharma1527Madhya Pradesh5
56Aryan Behera1426Odisha11 - 01Navaneel Chhatui1094West Bengal49
67Mayukh Majumder1406West Bengal11 - 01Kathir Kaman T1086Tamil Nadu51
78Adhiraj Mitra1404Jharkhand11 - 01Atharv Singh Bisht1045Haryana57
852Pratiyush Kumar1076Bihar1½ - ½1Shashveen A K1389Delhi9
910Alfred Joe Johns1374Kerala10 - 11Srinandhan A1021Tamil Nadu59
1054Shiyam Satyansh1063Odisha10 - 11AFMMithun Pranav1327Tamil Nadu11


Round 3 pairings

132Tanish Ragavan S1164Tamil Nadu22Vivaan Vishal Shah1665Gujarat2
233Tarun Tapaan Shashikumar Pillay1156Tamil Nadu22Aansh Nandan Nerurkar1564Maharashtra4
35Madhvendra Pratap Sharma1527Madhya Pradesh22Mahir Taneja1143Delhi36
437Rudradaman Mertia1140Rajasthan22Aryan Behera1426Odisha6
539Shaashvat Gupta1135Maharashtra22Mayukh Majumder1406West Bengal7
640Aarav Sarbalia1130Karnataka22Adhiraj Mitra1404Jharkhand8
711AFMMithun Pranav1327Tamil Nadu22Sairaj Narvenkar1020Goa60
813Apaar Saxena1306Karnataka22Aditya Trehan0Uttar Pradesh72
943Parambrata Sarkar1117West Bengal22Sri Akhil Prasad1300Andhra Pradesh14
1059Srinandhan A1021Tamil Nadu22Mehul Sondhi1288Delhi16


Girls Round 2 results

143Jyotika SahooU100Odisha11 - 01Alankrita SharmaU101451Jammu And Kashmir1
22Charvi AU101267Karnataka11 - 01Hiranmayee KulkarniU100Maharashtra40
352Modipalli DeekshithaU100Telangana11 - 01Krupha S UkkaliU101223Karnataka3
44Banker ReyaU101204Gujarat1½ - ½1Navieka JaiswalU100Jharkhand54
570Saranya Devi NarahariU100Telangana1½ - ½1Aaradhya DasU101196Tripura5
66Maitreyi MondalU101182West Bengal11 - 01Pooja Shree RU100Tamil Nadu61
78Anaya AgarwalU101171Telangana11 - 01Sana GU100Tamil Nadu69
810Siddhi RaoU101151Karnataka11 - 01Shreya RajeshU100Karnataka71
972Sravyasree BheemarasettyU100Andhra Pradesh10 - 11Hanya ShahU101149Gujarat11
1014Pal VedikaU101101Maharashtra11 - 01Sri Darshini TU100Karnataka73


Round 3 pairings

120Charudharshini RU101047Tamil Nadu22Charvi AU101267Karnataka2
221Shashini PuviU101045Karnataka22Maitreyi MondalU101182West Bengal6
322Aahna GulatiU101014Haryana22Anaya AgarwalU101171Telangana8
423AFMDiya Digamber SawalU100Goa22Siddhi RaoU101151Karnataka10
511Hanya ShahU101149Gujarat22Arpita PatankarU100Gujarat33
643Jyotika SahooU100Odisha22Pal VedikaU101101Maharashtra14
717Anshika DongreU101067Madhya Pradesh22Modipalli DeekshithaU100Telangana52
888Yati AgarwalU100Assam22Ameya A RU101053Kerala18
919Ishani DasU101049Odisha22Srinika SU100Tamil Nadu74
104Banker ReyaU101204Gujarat2Vitasta KoulU100Haryana86


Contact Us