chessbase india logo

IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni wins Bijnor Open 2023

by Niklesh Jain - 08/12/2023

Maharashtra's experienced International Master Vikramaditya Kulkarni won the Bijnor Open FIDE Rated Chess Tournament! This was the first event of the UP Booster Series, which was started with the aim of bringing a new chess revolution in Uttar Pradesh With his brilliant game, Showcasing brilliant play Vikramaditya won with a 100% score - he won all seven of his games and secured first place. In the final round, he defeated the second seed of the tournament, IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam from Tamil Nadu. Sparsh Yadav from Uttar Pradesh stood second, and Gopal Krishna Maheshwari took third place. On the last day, ChessBase India organized a simul given by WIM Angela Franco from Colombia, and also announced the best game award from all the seven rounds. The next event of Bijnor Open has been proposed in March! Read the article below for the final report.

IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni receiving the first place cheque and trophy from Bijnor District Magistrate Ankit Kumar Aggarwal, and Director and Secretary of Vivek College. 

IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni wins Bijnor Open 2023, won all seven rounds 

Maharashtra's International Master and top seed Vikramaditya Kulkarni won the first Bijnor Open FIDE Rating Tournament held in Bijnor, Uttar Pradesh by winning all the rounds. He was awarded INR 40,000 and a magnificent trophy as a reward for his excellent performance!

In the final round, he defeated the second seed of the tournament - IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam from Tamil Nadu.

Sparsh Yadav of Uttar Pradesh took 2nd place in the tournament, winning a cash prize of INR 26,000 along with a beautiful trophy!

Sparsh defeated Harish Sharma from Delhi in the final 7th round.

Whereas Gopal Krishna Maheshwari from Uttar Pradesh stood 3rd, bagging a cash prize of Rs. 15,000.

He defeated a player from his own state, Aabhas Kumar Srivastava in the final round to claim 3rd position.

Just before the final round, ChessBase India had organized another amazing event! Women International Master Angela Franco from Colombia gave a simultaneous chess exhibition to all age group winners and the top two female players of the tournament.

During this simul, Sananda R ( TN ) and Ayush Saxena ( UP ) was successful in defeating Angela by playing some amazing chess!

Angela scored 6.5 points, with 5 wins and 3 draws. Her win percentage in the simul was 65%!

ChessBase India Best Game Award

ChessBase India, in collaboration with the organizing committee, had given away a total of seven prizes for the Best Game of the Round, in which apart from a cash prize of Rs 1,000, a one year ChessBase account was also given away. International Masters Vikramaditya and Balasubramaniam won this award twice during the event!

80-year-old International Master Wazir Ahmed Khan of Uttar Pradesh won the first round best game award!

The best game award was given to Ramanathan Balasubramaniam in the second and sixth rounds. In the sixth round, he sacrificed a full Rook and made a brilliant draw!

Ashu Verma in the fourth round and....

Gaurav Sunil Dutt Rana in the 5th round were recipients of the best game award.

The winner of the tournament, IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni bagged the best game prize in the 3rd and 7th rounds respectively!!/ChessBase-Account-Premium/p/67203081/category=20218049

Check out all the games which won the "best game" awards in each round 

Photo Gallery

The students of Vivek College made an auspicious start to the event with Ganesh Vandana!

The students who offered the prizes to the top position holders of the tournament!

The trophies awarded to the age-group winners of the tournament

The trophies awarded to the top 20 players of the Bijnor Open 2023

The top five players of Bijnor Open with the chief guests in the closing ceremony!

Players ranked 11th-15th in the final standings, and...

Players ranked 16th-20th.

The top 3 players from Uttar Pradesh!

The best unrated players of the tournament

Best Under-10 age category players

The top 3 players rated Under 1500.

All the members of the organizing team at Bijnor Open 2023!

Chief Arbiter of the tournament, Sandesh Nagarnaik and tournament director Niklesh Jain conducted the prize distribution ceremony.

Final Ranking after 7 rounds

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
11IMKulkarni VikramadityaIND2209Maharashtra7303333,0007
212Sparsh YadavIND1598Uttar Pradesh6313528,0006
311AIMGopal Krishna MaheshwariIND1627Uttar Pradesh63032,525,5006
427Amartya KumarU15IND1375Delhi629,532,527,0005
519Mohammad SameedIND1468Uttar Pradesh62931,525,7505
610Verma AshuIND1674Uttar Pradesh62931,525,5006
76Daksh GoyalU15IND1814Delhi6273025,0006
87Anchal RastogiIND1770Uttar Pradesh626,528,523,5006
99IMWazeer Ahmad KhanIND1686Uttar Pradesh62628,524,5006
103IMRamnathan BalasubramaniamIND1920Tamil Nadu5,530,533,523,5005
1117Vatsal MakolIND1478Delhi5,528,531,524,0004
1273AFMAbhibhav KumarU15IND1127Delhi5,526,52920,5005
1364Rahul SuriIND1184Delhi5,52627,519,2505
1414Ayush SaxenaU15IND1567Uttar Pradesh531,534,523,0005
1544Prabindra Mani VermaIND1273Uttar Pradesh529,532,521,0005
1660Nikhil ChopraIND1197Uttar Pradesh529,532,520,5005
174Sharma HarishIND1904Delhi528,532,522,5005
1849Ujjwal ChauhanIND1243Uttar Pradesh528,531,520,5005
1930Ravish ChaudharyIND1351Uttar Pradesh528,531,519,5005
2066Shivansh SharmaU15IND1163Uttar Pradesh5283222,0004

Check out the full standings

Round 1-7 games

This article is translated from Hindi to English by Himank Ghosh.

Contact Us