chessbase india logo

Al Muthaiah wins 1st ICA Wayanad Open 2019

by Shahid Ahmed - 26/05/2019

IM Al Muthaiah wins third tournament in three months and his fourth in the year when he scored 7.5/9 and won 1st ICA Wayanad Open 2019. Four players finished at the same score of 7.5/9, they are IM Al Muthaiah, Senthil Maran K, Anilkumar O T and S Prasanna. Due to a better tie-break score, Muthaiah was declared the champion of the tournament. Senthil Maran was placed 2nd, Anilkumar and Prasanna had to be content with 3rd and 4th place respectively. The tournament took place at Hotel Regency, Sulthan Bathery, Wayanad, Kerala from 11th to 15th May 2019. Total 262 players participated from various states across the country for a total prize fund of Rs 500001. Photo: MS Govindankutty

Al Muthaiah wins third tournament in three months

IM Al Muthaiah scored 7.5/9 and won a beautiful trophy and Rs 50001 cash | Photo: M S Govindankutty

Muthaiah scored an unbeaten 7.5/9

Senthil Maran also scored 7.5/9. He received a shining new trophy and Rs 30000 cash | Photo: M S Govindankutty

The top two finishers - Senthil Maran K (Runner-up) and IM Al Muthaiah (Champion) | Photo: M S Govindankutty

In a colourful closing ceremony, CK Sadasivan, Senior Member; Vineesh PS, ICA President; P C Biju ICA Vice President;  V R Santhosh Secretary ICA; R. Ramesh Joint  Secretary ICA; Rajesh Madavan, Tournament Coordinator; M K Shibu,Treasurer ICA along with all other committee members gave away the cash prizes and trophies to the winners. Vineesh PS, President ICA announced their next International FIDE Rated chess tournament for the players of Below 1600 rating at same venue from 8-10 June 2019.

Final Ranking after 9 Rounds

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11IMMuthaiah AlIND24277,50,054,559,0
25Senthil Maran KIND21667,50,051,555,5
312Anilkumar O.T.IND19757,50,050,555,5
52IMSangma RahulIND22977,00,053,557,5
64IMRamnathan BalasubramaniamIND21937,00,050,555,5
78Augustin AIND20677,00,049,554,0
87IMHegde Ravi GopalIND21027,00,049,553,5
935Raju O AIND17347,00,047,051,0
1019Vijay Anand M.IND18387,00,047,051,0
1125Sharsha BackerIND17887,00,046,050,5
1239Anandha VenkatesanIND17126,50,050,553,5
1315Sooraj M RIND19196,50,049,053,0
1437Avinash HariIND17286,50,048,551,0
1514Akhilan E MIND19576,50,047,051,5
1661Rakesh NIND15586,50,047,050,5
1724Mansoor C MIND17886,50,046,550,0
186Manigandan S SIND21556,50,045,550,0
1940Ramachandra BhatIND17056,50,045,550,0
2018Sudarshan BhatIND18406,50,045,549,5
2113Viswanathan V NIND19676,50,045,548,5
2220Sanjay S PillaiIND18276,50,045,049,5
239Abhishek SarkarIND20276,50,045,049,5
2411Alex Thomas K.IND19826,50,044,549,0
2536Roshan HariIND17316,50,043,046,0

Complete Standings

Contact Us