chessbase india logo

Aaryan Varshney wins Om Banna Memorial Lakecity Rapid Rating Open 2021

by Shahid Ahmed - 15/01/2022

16-year-old FM Aaryan Varshney started the tournament with eight consecutive victories. Thus, a last round loss did not deter his chances of winning Shri Om Banna Memorial Lakecity Winter Rapid Rating Open 2021. Five players - Aaryan, Kushal R Jani, Harish Sharma, FM Sauravh Khherdekar and top seed of the tournament FM Vinay Kumar Matta scored 8.0/9 each. They were placed first to fifth according to tie-breaks. The tournament had a total prize fund of ₹300000 with the first prize being ₹30000 cash and trophy, ₹20000 for second and ₹15000 for third. This is Aaryan's first All India Rapid Rating Open triumph since December 2019. He is also the reigning Delhi State Open champion. Photo: IA Deepak Chavan/Chess in Lakecity

Five players score 8.0/9

It was a tough and close competition as all top ten finishers lost at least one game in the event. 13-year-old Dakshita Kumawat was the youngest finisher among top 20 as she scored 7.0/9 and was placed 13th. She was also the highest finisher among the female participants.

Top 3 (L to R) - 2nd Kushal Jani 8.0/9, 1st FM Aaryan Varshney 8.0/9 and 3rd Harish Sharma 8.0/9 | Photo: IA Deepak Chavan/Chess in Lakecity

The prizes were distributed by IAS Dr. T Shubmangla. Mr. William D’souza, Dr. Anand Gupta, Mr. Tushar Mehta, Mr. Rajiv Bharadwaj, President Chess In Lakecity, Mrs. Sonal Garg, National chess player &  IA Rajendra Teli,  Chief Arbiter of the tournament were among the other guests present at the ceremony.

Aaryan scored eight consecutive victories before losing his final round game against FM Vinay Kumar

Check out Aaryan's penultimate round game against Kushal R Jani.

Inaugural speech is delivered | Photo: FA Peter Joseph | Photo: IA Deepak Chavan/Chess in Lakecity

The tournament was inaugurated by  District Collector of Udaipur, IAS Chetan Devda and IAS Dr. T Shubmangla. The other dignitaries present were Mr. Rajiv Bharadwaj, President of Chess In Lakecity &  IA Rajendra Teli  Chief Arbiter and IA Vikas Sahu of Chess In Lakecity.

Inaugural move is being made by IA Chetan Devda and IAS Dr. T Shubmangla | Photo: IA Deepak Chavan/Chess in Lakecity

The tournament was organized by Chess in Lakecity on 29th and 30th December 2021 at Orbit Resort, Udaipur, Rajasthan. A total of 266 players took part in this nine-round Swiss league Rapid Rating tournament which had a time control of 20 minutes + 5 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final Standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
FMAaryan VarshneyU17IND1764Del8,053,557,049,000,08
Jani Kushal RU15IND1666Guj8,051,552,544,500,08
Sharma HarishIND2036Del8,050,554,048,000,08
FMSauravh KhherdekarIND2142Mah8,050,054,546,500,08
FMMatta Vinay KumarIND2170Ubi8,045,048,041,500,08
Ujjawal BansalU17IND1442Guj7,552,055,043,750,07
Manan GoyalU15IND1352Har7,052,055,539,500,07
Vrashank ChouhanU15IND1586Raj7,049,052,537,500,07
Jain AdiU15IND1512Guj7,048,552,536,500,07
Kherdekar ArnavU17IND1304Mah7,048,550,536,500,07
Bhatt JalpanIND1989Guj7,048,052,037,750,06
Harshit SinghU15IND1219Up7,048,050,036,250,06
Dakshita KumawatU13wIND1363Raj7,047,049,534,500,07
Anadkat KartavyaU17IND1942Guj7,045,549,536,000,07
Sunny BediIND1752Raj-Lakecity7,045,049,035,500,07
Sachin KalherIND1352Har7,045,047,035,000,06
CMGarv GaurU15IND1860Har6,550,553,534,750,06
AIMMandloi MukeshIND1746Raj6,550,053,534,500,06
Rathore Mahendra SinghIND1808Raj6,549,554,036,750,06
Hitesh S. JariyaIND1836Mp6,549,553,535,500,05

Complete standings

Related news:
Dhruv and Dakshita win ARCA State under-19

@ 29/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ujjwal and Yashasvi win ARCA State under-15 2019

@ 27/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vidit Gujrathi visits the land of Maharajas!

@ 21/11/2018 by Ankit Dalal (en)

Contact Us