chessbase india logo

Arjun Erigaisi to debut at 27th TePe Sigeman & Co Tournament 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 03/05/2022

The Limhamn Chess Club is organizing the 27th edition of one of the most prestigious events of the world, TePe Sigeman & Co Tournament 2022. This year eight players from eight different countries across the world are going to take part in a round-robin tournament. Arjun Erigaisi will battle against a very exciting line up of - Jorden van Foreest (NED), Michael Adams (ENG), Alexei Shirov (ESP), Salem Saleh (UAE), David Navara (CZE), Hans Niemann (USA) and Sweden no.1 Nils Grandelius. Round 1 starts today at 3:00 p.m. CET (6:30 p.m. IST). Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Eight players from eight different countries

The organizers have put up an exciting line up. They mentioned on their site - As usual, only players known for playing interesting games have been invited, and we would like to congratulate all chess fans on the opportunity to once again see world-class chess live. Do not miss the opportunity to visit Malmo Live and follow the games live, guided by our commentators, Swedish GM Stellan Brynell and Dutch GM Erwin l’Ami.

GM Arjun Erigaisi | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Players and Crosstable

The in-form Arjun Erigaisi has got the top seed. He will be joined by Sweden no.1 and the winner of 2013, 2017 and 2018 editions, GM Nils Grandelius, defending champion Jorden van Foreest, UAE no.1 Salem Saleh, recently concluded Capablanca Memorial 2022 winner Hans Niemann, legendary England no.1 Michael Adams, very creative and a gentleman of the game, Czech no.1 David Navara and the man who exemplifies exciting chess, Alexei Shirov.

Chief Arbiter IA Arno Eilens revealed the cross table | Photo: Tepe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament

Time Control

90 minutes for 40 moves and then 30 minutes for the remaining moves with 30 seconds cumulative increment for each move starting from the first move (Malmö rules-no draws before move 40).

Round 1 pairings

Bo.No.Rtg NameResultName RtgNo.
GMErigaisi ArjunGMShirov Alexei
GMSalem A.R. SalehGMNavara David
GMNiemann Hans MokeGMAdams Michael
GMGrandelius NilsGMVan Foreest Jorden

Complete pairings


3rd - 8th May - 3 p.m. CET (6:30 p.m. IST), 7th May - 2 p.m. CET (5:30 p.m. IST).

9th May - 12 p.m. CET (3:30 p.m. IST)


Official site

Tournament details

Contact Us