chessbase india logo

Sasikiran wins 8th Liffre Open 2022, Sayantan Das third

by Shahid Ahmed - 01/11/2022

GM Krishnan Sasikiran won his second Classical tournament of the year at 8th Liffre Open 2022. He scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 and finished a half point ahead of the field. GM Momchil Nikolov (BUL) scored sole 7/9 to finish second. IM Sayantan Das scored 6.5/9 to secure third place without the need of tie-breaks. The total prize fund was €5070 combining both categories. The top three prizes were €1000 and a trophy, €800 and €600 each respectively. Sanket Mehta Nehan and Aaditya Anand scored 7/9 each to finish at second and third place in Category B (<1600) according to tie-breaks. Photo: Kristine Leduc

Sasikiran's third triumph of the year

GM Krishnan Sasikiran won Fagernes Open 2022 a little over six months ago, before winning the Gaprindashvili Cup at the 44th Chess Olympiad 2022. Sasikiran's triumph at 8th Liffre Open makes it now the fifth Indian to win this event out of the eight editions held since 2015.

Second Runner-up - IM Sayantan Das and Champion - GM K Sasikiran on the left side | Photo: Kristine Leduc

Sasikiran - Pigeat, Round 9

Position after 20...Bc6

FM Alexandre Pigeat (FRA, 2336) decided to give up his exchange 20...Bc6 in order to gain some initiative on the kingside. White obviously took it 21.Nxa8 Rxa8 and gained a decisive advantage. Eventually in the end when Black attempted to salvage a half point, Sasikiran denied it.

Position after 55...Bd6

Black wants to take the d7-pawn without exchanging the rooks. However, White had a nice trick up his sleeve 56.Rxd6+ Kxd6 57.Rxa3 and now Black cannot take on d7 due to Rd3+ check skewer forcing the rook exchange. The resultant pawn ending is completely winning for White. The game continued 57...Ke5 58.Rd3 and White had no trouble converting his advantage into a full point.

GM K Sasikiran before a game | Photo: Kristine Leduc

Sasikiran's unbeaten run at 8th Liffre Open helped him recover the lost Elo rating points at Fagernes Autumn GM 2022

Sasikiran in action | Photo: Kristine Leduc

IM Sayantan Das during the opening phase of a game | Photo: Kristine Leduc

The tournament hall at Intergenerational Space, Liffre in France | Photo: Kristine Leduc

Kristine Leduc takes a selfie with the champion - GM K Sasikiran | Photo: Kristine Leduc

The trophies for the prize winners | Photo: Kristine Leduc

The trophies have the list of winners of the previous editions. Five out of the eight editions are now won by Indians. 2015 - Stany G A, 2016 - Thej Kumar M S, 2017 - Venkatesh M R, 2019 - Viani Antonio Dcunha.

7th edition 2021 runner-up - IM Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad (just below C R G Krishna), 4th - IM C R G Krishna (top right) | Photo: Kristine Leduc

5th edition 2019 winner - IM Viani Antonio Dcunha (right) and 4th IM P Konguvel | Photo: Kristine Leduc

3rd edition 2017 winner - GM Venkatesh M R, runner-up GM Neelotpal Das and 5th GM Sundararajan Kidambi (top right) | Photo: Kristine Leduc

A total of 86 players including 3 GMs and 4 IMs took part from five countries across the world in the Open A (>1400) section. The tournament was organized by Echiquier du Pays de Liffré from 22nd to 28th October 2022 at Intergenerational Space, Liffre in France. The nine-round Swiss league tournament had a time control of 100 minutes/40 moves + 30 minutes/rest with 30 seconds increment from move no. 1.

Replay Round 1-9 games

Final standings

Pl NomEloCat.FedeLigueR 1R 2R 3R 4R 5R 6R 7R 8R 9PtsTr.Bu.Perf
2636 FSenMIDF+ 13B+ 14N+  3B=  2N+  4B+  7N=  5B=  6N+ 12B43542699
2478 FSenMHDF+ 16B= 21N+ 50B=  1B+ 66N=  6B+ 12N+  4N=  5B742502530
DAS Sayantan
2489 FSenM+ 10N= 12B-  1N+ 18B-  9N+ 16B+ 66N+  8B+ 13N42512392
LUCAS Arthur
2351 FSenMNAQ+ 35N+  7B=  8N+ 12B-  1N=  9B+ 17N-  2B+ 22N643½532421
2529 FSenMEST=  9N-  8B+ 75N+ 15B+ 21N+ 19B=  1N=  7B=  2N643½522426
2433 FSenMPAC= 22B+ 13N+ 21B=  8N+ 50B=  2N= 14B=  1B=  7N64352½2451
2499 FSenMHDF+ 17B-  4N+ 25B+ 22N+  8B-  1B+ 34N=  5N=  6B64251½2419
2268 FJunMPAC+ 25B+  5N=  4B=  6B-  7N+ 50N+ 24B-  3N+ 14B64150½2439
2177 FSepMNOR=  5B= 22N= 15B+ 20N+  3B=  4N= 33B= 11N+ 24B640½502248
2097 FJunMBRE-  3B= 15N+ 44B+ 28N=- 33N+ 26B+ 39B+ 23N636½45½2028



Official site

Tournament regulations

Contact Us