chessbase india logo

Nitish Belurkar and Karthik Venkataraman win Chess at Dreamhack Rapid and Blitz Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 22/11/2023

The biggest open gaming convention in India, Dreamhack Hyderabad 2023 hosted a Rapid and a Blitz Open chess tournament. IM Nitish Belurkar and GM Karthik Venkataraman won the Rapid and Blitz event. Nitish and IM Viani Antonio Dcunha scored 8/9 each. Nitish won the event due to better tie-breaks, Viani secured second place. Both remained undefeated. IM FT Harikrishnan A Ra secured third place scoring 7.5/9. In the Blitz event, Karthik scored sole 8.5/9 to become the champion. IM Sammed Jaykumar Shete, IM Nitish Belurkar and Aakash Sharadchandra Dalvi scored 8/9 each. Only Aakash remained undefeated among them. They were placed second to fourth respectively. The total prize fund was ₹500000, ₹300000 for Rapid and ₹200000 for Blitz. Photos: Aditya Sur Roy

Nitish and Karthik's fourth tournament triumph of the year

IM Nitish Belurkar registered his fourth tournament victory of the year. After this event, he secured a second place finish at TTCA Blitz Rating Open 2023 in Goa. GM Karthik Venkataraman also won his fourth event of 2023. He went on to win another tournament within two weeks from the conclusion of this - 7th Mersin Metropolitan Municipality Rating Open 2023. Both of those events will have separate reports published soon.

Chess at Dreamhack Rapid and Blitz Open 2023 (L to R): IM Sammed Jaykumar Shete (4th in Rapid 7.5/9 and 2nd in Blitz 8/9), IM Viani Antonio Dcunha (2nd in Rapid 8/9 and 10th in Blitz 7/9), IM Nitish Belurkar (1st in Rapid 8/9 and 3rd in Blitz 8/9), GM Karthik Venkataraman (5th in Rapid 7.5/9 and 1st in Blitz 8.5/9) and IM FT Harikrishnan A Ra (3rd in Rapid 7.5/9
Interview with Chess at Dreamhack 2023 Rapid and Blitz Open champions - IM Nitish Belukar and GM Karthik Venkataraman | Video: ChessBase India

IM Nitish Belurkar scored 8/9 to win the Rapid Open event and faced the next four finishers

GM Karthik Venkataraman won eight games in-a-row, scored 8.5/9 and finished a half point ahead of the field

Chess at Dreamhack 2023 Rapid titled participants

Standing (L to R): IM Viani Antonio Dcunha, IM Raahul V S, IM Anup Deshmukh, IM Nitish Belurkar, GM Deepan Chakkravarthy, IM FT Harikrishnan A Ra, WIM Harshita Guddanti, IM Sammed Jaykumar Shete, IM Ravt Teja S, GM Arjun Kalyan, GM Karthik Venkataraman and IM Ajay Karthikeyan


Sitting: IM Padmini Rout and WGM Priyanka Nutakki

Chess at Dreamhack Rapid and Blitz 2023 overview | Video: ChessBase India

Players in action at HITEX Exhibition Center in Hyderabad, Telangana

For more photos, please click here.


A total of 288 in Rapid including 4 GMs, 11 IMs, a WGM and a WIM took part from various parts of the country and one from USA in this two-day Rapid Open. The tournament were organized by Nodwin Gaming, Samay Raina and ChessBase India at Dreamhack Hyderabad 2023, Hitex Exhibition Center in Hyderabad, Telangana on 3rd and 4th November 2023. The time control for the Rapid was 15 minutes + 10 seconds increment.

Final Standings in Rapid

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgIPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
IMNitish BelurkarIND23218545850,2507
IMViani Antonio DcunhaIND2277851,55446,2507
IMSammed Jaykumar SheteIND22807,55256,545,0007
GMKarthik VenkataramanIND24267,55256,544,5007
IMRavi Teja S.IND22527,549,55341,5007
IMRaahul V SIND22527,548,55242,5006
IMAjay KarthikeyanIND22117,54851,541,2507
GMArjun KalyanIND238975357,542,5006
IMKushagra MohanIND222875357,542,5006
FMThakur AkashIND2101747,55137,5007
Bharat Kumar Reddy PoluriIND2170747,549,536,2506
FMSharan RaoIND2154746,55138,0007
Dhruva ThotaU15IND1563744,546,533,5007
Mehta JwalinIND19717444834,0007
Kolla BhaavanU13IND1614742,546,534,0007
GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.IND23386,5515537,5006
WGMPriyanka NutakkiwIND22056,549,55436,5006
FMMd ImranU15IND21716,548,55335,2506
FMSingh Rishpal SIND20986,5485235,0006
GMSankalp GuptaIND24306,547,55134,5005
Aakash Sharadchandra DalviIND21316,5475134,0006
Sri Sai Baswanth PIND17926,546,549,531,2506
Pranay AkulaU15IND17126,545,549,532,7506
Narayan IyengarIND15886,544,548,532,0006


A total of 255 in Blitz including 4 GMs, 9 IMs and a WGM took part from various parts of the country and two from USA in this one-day Blitz Open. The tournament were organized by Nodwin Gaming, Samay Raina and ChessBase India at Dreamhack Hyderabad 2023, Hitex Exhibition Center in Hyderabad, Telangana on 4th November 2023. The time control for the Blitz was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment.

Final standings in Blitz

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgIPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
12GMKarthik, VenkataramanIND24408,55558,554,750
211IMSammed Jaykumar, SheteIND22968505546,500
37IMNitish, BelurkarIND2374848,55346,000
415Aakash Sharadchandra, DalviIND22678475043,750
51GMSankalp, GuptaIND24557,5535846,750
65GMArjun, KalyanIND2415754,558,542,000
78IMKushagra, MohanIND23587545841,500
814IMRaahul, V SIND2286752,556,541,500
917FMSharan, RaoIND22367525742,000
106IMViani, Antonio DcunhaIND23917525641,000
1113IMAjay, KarthikeyanIND2286751,556,540,500
124IMRavi, Teja S.IND2428749,553,539,750
1319FMMd, ImranU15IND2217749,553,539,500
1520Dhruva, ThotaU15IND21927485236,500
1621Bharat, Kumar Reddy PoluriIND2186746,550,537,250
1710GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.IND2306745,54834,000
189FMAditya, Varun GampaIND232674447,536,500
1916Praveen, Prasad P.IND2264743,54634,000
2018WGMPriyanka, NutakkiwIND22246,547,551,534,750
2123Chidvilash, Sai SurapaneniU15IND21666,5475134,250
2225FMSingh, Rishpal SIND21176,546,55135,250
23174Mokshith, PasupuletyU15IND10706,54650,534,250
2430FMRamakrishna, J.IND20416,545,54933,000
2529IMRamnathan, BalasubramaniamIND20446,5434732,250



Official site

Chess at Dreamhack

Nodwin Gaming

Related news:
Dreamhack Rapid and Blitz 2023 starts tomorrow Friday 3rd November

@ 02/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us