chessbase india logo

Aryan Joshi on fire at the National A for the blind

by Sagar Shah - 08/01/2019

The National A for the blind is becoming interesting with four rounds having been played. Youngster from Mumbai Aryan Joshi is on fire. He has scored 4.0/4 and is leading the tournament solely with his 100% score. On the second place we have Subhendu Kumar Patra and Kishan Gangolli both of who are on 3.5/4. With Aryan, Subhendu and Kishan not having played each other, the excitement in the event will grow with every passing round. We have a report from Nagpur on round three and four by chief arbiter of the event Murthy Manjunatha.

Round 3:

121563Marimuthu K1 - 0Patil Shirish167314
231747Makwana Ashvin K½ - ½Patra Subhendu Kumar16861
341697Krishna Udupa1 - 0Soundarya Kumar Pradhan181913
451863Aryan B Joshi1 - 0Waghmare Sachin Lahu155712
561634Prachurya Kumar Pradhan1 - 0Kavlekar Sanjay R.181211
671448Hariharan Gandhi0 - 1Swapanil Shah163410
781522Shashidhar K M0 - 1Kishan Gangolli20089

On the 2nd board Ashvin Makawana K of Gujarat played with white pieces against Patra Subhendu Kumar of Odisha. Subhendu converted the line to Pirc Defence and played safely. Ashvin said, in the opening he missed the move order, so the position petered out to equality. There after both players didn’t want to take any risks and agreed for a draw after completing the 34th move.

On Board No-3 Krishna Udupa of Karnataka played with white pieces against Soundarya Kumar Pradhan of Odisha. In Queen’s Indian opening on 11th move Soundarya over looked a move which cost him an exchange. Experienced Udupa punished him playing accurately and smiled with victory on the 26th move.

On 4th board Aryan B Joshi of Maharashtra played with white pieces against Waghmare Sachin Lahu of Maharashtra. Sachin played Sicilian Defence in the opening. He missed a move and budding talent Aryan punished Sachin very quickly and forced him to surrender on the 26th move. Aryan’s win made him the leader.

Aryan Joshi is in great form at the National A 2019 | Photo: Manjunatha Murthy

Round 4:

1141673Patil Shirish0 - 1Kishan Gangolli20089
2101634Swapanil Shah0 - 1Shashidhar K M15228
3111812Kavlekar Sanjay R.1 - 0Hariharan Gandhi14487
4121557Waghmare Sachin Lahu0 - 1Prachurya Kumar Pradhan16346
5131819Soundarya Kumar Pradhan0 - 1Aryan B Joshi18635
611686Patra Subhendu Kumar1 - 0Krishna Udupa16974
721563Marimuthu K1 - 0Makwana Ashvin K17473


On 1st board Patil Shirish of Maharashtra played with white pieces against Kishan Gangolli of Karnataka. In the Queen’s Gambit Declined opening Shirish played safely. Asian Para games gold medal winner built up his position slowly and played on the isolated queen pawn of Shirish. Kishan succeeded to get that extra pawn on the 36th move and there after in the knight end game he won one more extra pawn. Shirish accepted his loss on the 45th move.

On 4th board Waghmare Sachin Lahu of Maharashtra played with white pieces against Prachurya Kumar Pradhan of Odisha. The battle fought between both players was equal but in the end game Sachin lost a pawn. Prachurya played very calmly and enjoyed the win on 56th move. 

On the 5th board Soundarya Kumar Pradhan of Odisha played with white pieces against Aryan B Joshi of Maharashtra. Aryan played the Slav Defence. After the game he said that on the 12th move Soundarya placed his Knight on the wrong square on e5. This led to a minus position for Soundarya. Thereafter Aryan continued his form and finished the game nicely on the 24th move. Aryan is now the sole leader with 4.0/4.

Subhendu Kumar Patra is in the second spot with 3.5/4 |Photo: Amruta Mokal

Kishan Gangolli is on 3.5/4, half a point away from the leaders | Photo: Manjunatha Murthy

Standings after round 4

Rk.NameRtgFED1234567891011121314Pts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
1Aryan B Joshi1863IND*11114,00,03,504
2Patra Subhendu Kumar1686IND*11½13,50,06,503
3Kishan Gangolli2008IND*½1113,50,04,503
4Prachurya Kumar Pradhan1634IND½*½113,00,04,002
5Marimuthu K1563IND0*1113,00,02,503
6Shashidhar K M1522IND0*1113,00,01,503
7Krishna Udupa1697IND0*½112,50,01,252
8Makwana Ashvin K1747IND½0*½12,00,02,001
9Swapanil Shah1634IND0½0*11,50,01,501
10Kavlekar Sanjay R.1812IND00½*11,50,01,251
11Soundarya Kumar Pradhan1819IND000½*0,50,01,000
12Hariharan Gandhi1448IND0000*0,00,00,000
Waghmare Sachin Lahu1557IND0000*0,00,00,000
Patil Shirish1673IND0000*0,00,00,000


Related news:
Kishan Gangolli wins his sixth consecutive blind national title

@ 22/01/2019 by Manjunatha Murthy (en)

Contact Us