chessbase india logo

MPL 59th National Senior R8: Sethuraman emerges sole leader

by Shahid Ahmed - 30/12/2022

GM Sethuraman S P defeated GM Venkatesh M R convincingly to gain sole lead at MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship 2022. Venkatesh was unable to make the most out of the white pieces. He chose an opening which his opponent equalized with ease, accepting the exchange sacrifice did him no good and eventually Sethuramana invaded through the back rank. GM Leon Luke Mendonca could not find a way to seize his positional advantage against GM Mitrabha Guha. IM Koustav Chatterjee defeated IM Vignesh N R. Koustav will face Sethuraman in the ninth round which starts today at 2 p.m. IST today. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Mitrabha and Koustav in pursuit

Only GM Mitrabha Guha (WB) and IM Koustav Chatterjee (WB) are trailing by a half point at 6.5/8 each. They are followed by ten players at 6/8 each including untitled Hari Madhavan N B (TN).

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) is the sole leader 7/8| Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Venkatesh - Sethuraman: 0-1

GM Venkatesh M R (PSPB, 2459) did not make the choice of opening. His opponent, GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB, 2642) easily equalized out of the opening and made a strategic exchange sacrifice.

Position after 23...bxc2

White returned the exchange 23.Rxc2 bxc2 and then instead of keeping the d-file blocked, he opened it up. 24.Be3 Rd1 25.Rc1 Rxc1 26.Bxc1 Qb6 27.Qc2? Qf2+ and it was over for White. Instead 24.e3 Qxf3 25.Qxc2 would have kept the game going.

A total of 196 players including 18 GMs and 27 IMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Delhi Chess Association. The event is taking place in New Delhi from 22nd December 2022 to 3rd January 20233. The 13-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 8 games

Round 8 results

119GMVenkatesh M.R.245960 - 16GMSethuraman S.P.26421PGN
24GMMendonca Leon Luke2566½ - ½6GMMitrabha Guha248714PGN
310GMKarthik Venkataraman2503½ - ½IMAronyak Ghosh25217PGN
48IMKoustav Chatterjee25081 - 0IMVignesh N R249312PGN
527IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.2405½ - ½GMIniyan P25079PGN
628IMAudi Ameya24010 - 15GMGupta Abhijeet26013PGN
734IMAjay Krishna S23835½ - ½5GMVisakh N R25445PGN
815GMSengupta Deep248651 - 05GMNeelotpal Das238433PGN
954FMAradhya Garg231250 - 15IMSrihari L R242925PGN
1026IMAnuj Shrivatri24145½ - ½5Subhayan Kundu231951PGN
1130FMPanesar Vedant23875½ - ½5FMMohamed Anees M223763PGN
1232Hari Madhavan N B238551 - 05Sai Vishwesh.C221964PGN
1382Bharadia Yash211750 - 1GMChanda Sandipan247517PGN
1453IMRajesh V A V23140 - 1GMShyam Sundar M.25266PGN
1555IMRatnakaran K.23040 - 1IMShyaamnikhil P249013PGN
1620GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.2457½ - ½IMRaahul V S232550PGN
1722IMHarshavardhan G B2434½ - ½Surendran N216873PGN
1823IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh24331 - 0Dere Pushkar211483PGN
1958Varun V2250½ - ½IMKushagra Mohan239029PGN
2036GMLaxman R.R.2372½ - ½Nagare Kaivalya Sandip212480PGN


Round 9 pairings

11GMSethuraman S.P.26427IMKoustav Chatterjee25088
214GMMitrabha Guha24876GMKarthik Venkataraman250310
33GMGupta Abhijeet260166GMSengupta Deep248615
425IMSrihari L R242966GMMendonca Leon Luke25664
57IMAronyak Ghosh252166Hari Madhavan N B238532
69GMIniyan P250766GMVenkatesh M.R.245919
75GMVisakh N R25446IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.240527
86GMShyam Sundar M.2526IMAjay Krishna S238334
912IMVignesh N R2493IMAvinash Ramesh232749
1013IMShyaamnikhil P2490IMSaravana Krishnan P.224459
1117GMChanda Sandipan2475CMMayank Chakraborty217970
1251Subhayan Kundu2319IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh243323
1363FMMohamed Anees M2237IMAnuj Shrivatri241426
1466Dhananjay S2199IMAudi Ameya240128
1599Adireddy Arjun1980FMPanesar Vedant238730
1618IMDas Sayantan247555Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri224360
1762IMSharma Dinesh K.223955GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.245720
1864Sai Vishwesh.C221955IMDas Arghyadip243821
1978CMBorgaonkar Akshay213555IMHarshavardhan G B243422
2029IMKushagra Mohan239055Anadkat Kartavya214776



Delhi Chess Association

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us