chessbase india logo

Karthik Venkataraman dominates MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 04/01/2023

GM Karthik Venkataraman drew his final round game against GM Visakh N R to win MPL 59th National Senior Chess Championship 2022. Karthik scored an unbeaten 10/13 and finished a half point ahead of the field. GM Abhijeet Gupta, Visakh, IM P Shyam Nikhil and IM Sayantan Das scored 9.5/13 each. They were placed second to fifth according to tie-breaks. Karthik became the only player to remain undefeated among the top ten finishers. The 23-year-old from Andhra Pradesh has secured plenty of podium finish throughout 2022, however this was his sole and biggest triumph of the year. Photo: All India Chess Federation

RSPB claims four out of top ten

Four out of top ten finishers were from RSPB, two from PSPB and West Bengal each. GM Abhijeet Gupta suffered the maximum number of losses - three, among the top 15 finishers, still he managed to finish second. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹3000000. Top three prizes were ₹600000, ₹500000 and ₹400000 along with a beautiful and huge trophy each.

Champion - GM Karthik Venkataraman (AP) 10/13 | Photo: AICF
How GM Karthik Venkatraman became the 59th National Champion 2022 of India | Video: ChessBase India

Runner-up - GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB) 9.5/13 | Photo: AICF

Second Runner-up - GM Visakh N R (RSPB) 9.5/13 | Photo: AICF

Top 3 (L to R): 2nd GM Abhijeet Gupta, 1st GM Karthik Venkataraman and 3rd GM Visakh N R | Photo: IA Anandh Babu

Sethuraman - Deepan: 1-0

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB, 2642) scored a nice win against GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (RSPB, 2457) to finish ninth with a score of 9/13.

Position after 20.e5

After 19.Bxe6, Black had to recapture with the queen to avoid this deadly 20.e5! Qg6 21.exd6 d3 22.Qe1 cxd6 23.Bxd6 Kf7 24.Nc4 Qf6 25.Nfe5+ Nxe5 26.Bxe5 Qf3 27.b6 and White won the game in another four moves.

Norm makers

IM Koustav Chatterjee scored his third and final GM-norm to become India's latest Grandmaster | Photo: IA Anandh Babu

Hari Madhavan N B secured his final IM-norm to become India's latest International Master | Photo: IA Anandh Babu

Subhayan Kundu earned his second IM-norm | Photo: IA Anandh Babu

A total of 196 players including 18 GMs and 27 IMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Delhi Chess Association. The event is taking place in New Delhi from 22nd December 2022 to 3rd January 20233. The 13-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 13 games

Round 13 results

110GMKarthik Venkataraman2503Andhra Pradesh½ - ½9GMVisakh N R2544RSPB5PGN
218IMDas Sayantan2475RSPB9½ - ½9GMGupta Abhijeet2601PSPB3PGN
37IMAronyak GhoshU202521RSPB½ - ½GMMitrabha Guha2487West Bengal14PGN
432Hari Madhavan N BU202385Tamil Nadu½ - ½IMKoustav ChatterjeeU202508West Bengal8PGN
513IMShyaamnikhil P2490RSPB1 - 0IMSrihari L RU182429Tamil Nadu25PGN
61GMSethuraman S.P.2642PSPB81 - 08GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.2457RSPB20PGN
79GMIniyan PU202507Tamil Nadu81 - 08IMAnuj ShrivatriU182414Madhya Pradesh26PGN
828IMAudi Ameya2401Goa80 - 18IMVignesh N R2493RSPB12PGN
917GMChanda Sandipan2475West Bengal80 - 18FMPanesar VedantU202387Maharashtra30PGN
1037IMNitin S.2372RSPB8½ - ½8IMHarshavardhan G BU202434Tamil Nadu22PGN
1115GMSengupta Deep2486PSPB½ - ½8IMAjay Krishna S2383Tamil Nadu34PGN
1248CMSoham KamotraU182329Jammu and Kashmir+ - -GMShyam Sundar M.2526Tamil Nadu6
1346Sahoo Utkal Ranjan2333Odisha1 - 0GMVenkatesh M.R.2459PSPB19PGN
1449IMAvinash RameshU182327Tamil Nadu1 - 0IMDas Arghyadip2438RSPB21PGN
1523IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh2433Maharashtra0 - 1GMKarthikeyan P.2316RSPB52PGN
1699Adireddy ArjunU121980Telangana½ - ½IMMehar Chinna Reddy C.H.2405RSPB27PGN
1729IMKushagra MohanU182390Telangana1 - 0FMKrishnan RitvikU162266Maharashtra56PGN
1851Subhayan Kundu2319West Bengal½ - ½GMLaxman R.R.2372RSPB36PGN
1953IMRajesh V A V2314RSPB½ - ½Sanket ChakravartyU182367West Bengal38PGN
2042IMUtsab ChatterjeeU202350West Bengal0 - 1IMSaravana Krishnan P.2244Tamil Nadu59PGN


Final standings after Round 13

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
110GMKarthik VenkataramanIND2503Andhra Pradesh10100106,581,0007
23GMGupta AbhijeetIND2601PSPB9,5102,5108,577,2509
35GMVisakh N RIND2544RSPB9,510010776,7507
413IMShyaamnikhil PIND2490RSPB9,5909568,2507
518IMDas SayantanIND2475RSPB9,58893,567,5008
67IMAronyak GhoshIND2521RSPB9103,5110,574,0006
78IMKoustav ChatterjeeIND2508West Bengal910311072,7507
814GMMitrabha GuhaIND2487West Bengal9102,5109,574,0006
91GMSethuraman S.P.IND2642PSPB9101,5106,571,2507
1032Hari Madhavan N BIND2385Tamil Nadu998,5104,569,2507



Delhi Chess Association

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us