chessbase india logo

MPL 47th National Women R6-7: Divya Deshmukh emerges sole leader 6.5/7

by Shahid Ahmed - 01/03/2022

WGM Divya Deshmukh (MAH) defeated her co-leader WIM Sakshi Chitlange in Round 6. The double IM-norm holder defeated IM Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa) in Round 7 to become clear sole leader at MPL 47th National Women Chess Championship 2022. Divya is now a full point ahead of the field. Six women are at 5.5/7. They are - IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB), WIM Priyanka Nutakki (AP), IM Vaishali R (TN), WGM Pratyusha Bodda (AP), IM Padmini Rout (PSPB) and WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB). Divya will face the top seed Vaishali in the penultimate round. Round 8 starts today at 10:00 a.m. IST. Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Six women in the chase

The sixth round witnessed six decisive games among top ten boards. White won in all of them. The seventh round had seven decisive games and Black won in four of them.

WGM Divya Deshmukh beat WIM Sakshi Chitlange and IM Bhakti Kulkarni to gain sole lead | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Round 6: Divya - Sakshi: 1-0

The All-Maharashtra battle between WGM Divya Deshmukh and WIM Sakshi Chitlange was convincingly won by the former.

Position after 23.Nd6

23.Nd6 allows the knight to be firmly placed as it is tactically defended.

Position after 28.Ne1

Black had to play 28...a4 to continue the fight. She did it after 28...Ke6 29.Nd3 a4. It was too little too late by then.

Vaishali - Priyanka K: 0.5-0.5

WIM Priyanka K (TN) had a very small window of opportunity in the endgame against IM Vaishali R (TN). The bishop vs knight endgame lasted for 45 moves which is more than 50% of the game.

Position after 49.Bd1

Try to find out what Black could have done after 49.Bd1 to keep her chances.

IM Vaishali R (TN) - WIM Priyanka K (TN): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WIM Isha Sharma (KAR) - IM Padmini Rout (PSPB): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WFM Harshini A (TN) - WIM Savitha Shri B (TN): 1-0 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WGM Nandhidhaa P V (TN) - Vrushali Umesh Deodhar: 0-1 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WIM Michelle Catherina (TN) - Abhirami Madabushi (TEL): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Round 7: Bhakti - Divya: 1-0

IM Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa) did not respond correctly to WGM Divya Deshmukh's (MAH) attack.

Position after 22...Qh6

The obvious response is to play 23.Kh2. However, that only allows Black to disintegrate White's position faster, 23...f4. Instead, active defense 23.Nc3 followed by 24.d5 would have not only saved the game but also kept White's chances.

WGM Divya Deshmukh on fire at MPL 47th National Women | Video: ChessBase India

WGM Pratyusha Bodda (AP) drew with IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB) which could have gone either player's way | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Mounika - Priyanka Nutakki: 0-1

WIM Priyanka Nutakki (AP) quite possibly won the most creative battle of the day against her state mate WIM Mounika Akshaya (AP).

Position after 13...Rh4

White went 8.g4, 13.Rg1. Black did not want to be left behind either. She played imaginatively, 13...Rh4 14.Be5 Ne4 15.Nxe4 Rxe4+ 16.Be2 f6 17.f3 Rxe2+ 18.Kxe2 fxe5 and it's all over for White.

Priyanka K - Arpita: 0-1

The wildest game of the day was between WIM Priyanka K (TN) and WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB). The former was ont the brink of victory before she missed it and went on to lose the game.

Position after 27...e4

Find out the winning continuation for White after 27...e4. The game continued 28.Bf5 Ne5 29.Bxe4 and soon things turned completely into Black's favor.

WIM Rakshitta Ravi (TN) - IM Nisha Mohota (PSPB): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WIM Chandreyee Hajra (WB) - WGM Varshini V (TN): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WGM Kiran Manisha Mohanty (ODI) - Vrushali Umesh Deodhar (MAH): 1-0 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Abhirami Madabushi (TEL) - WIM Savitha Shri B (TN): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

For more Round 6 and 7 photos, click here.


A total of 102 players including 5 IMs, 8 WGMs and 10 WIMs are taking part in this tournament organized by All Odisha Chess Association. The event is taking place at KIIT at Bhubaneswar, Odisha from 25th February to 2nd March 2022. The nine-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1

Replay Round 6-7 games

Round 7 results

12IMKulkarni Bhakti2388GOA50 - 1WGMDivya Deshmukh2301MAH8
27WGMPratyusha Bodda2328AP5½ - ½5IMSoumya Swaminathan2360PSPB5
315WIMParnali S Dharia2224MAH0 - 1IMVaishali R2403TN1
46IMPadmini Rout2350PSPB1 - 0WFMHarshini A2131TN26
524WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya2145AP0 - 1WIMPriyanka Nutakki2301AP9
614WIMPriyanka K2227TN0 - 1WIMArpita Mukherjee2260WB11
719WIMChitlange Sakshi2205MAH½ - ½WIMSharma Isha2253KAR13
84WGMGomes Mary Ann2361PSPB41 - 04WGMSwati Ghate2136LIC25
910WIMRakshitta Ravi2278TN4½ - ½4IMMohota Nisha2147PSPB23
1016WGMSrija Seshadri2219TN41 - 04Nimmy A.G.2110KER28
1132WIMChandreyee Hajra2001WB4½ - ½4WGMVarshini V2206TN17
1218WFMSalonika Saina2206ORI41 - 04Supriya Maji2093WB29
1320WFMPandey Srishti2177MAH4½ - ½4WFMBhagyashree Patil1974MAH33
1422WGMKiran Manisha Mohanty2168LIC40 - 14Deodhar Vrushali Umesh1974MAH34
1539Velpula Sarayu1875TEL40 - 1WIMMichelle Catherina P2176TN21
1644Abhirami Madabushi1777TEL½ - ½WIMSavitha Shri B2257TN12
1727Bala Kannamma P2120TN1 - 0Azal Nasir1459DEL59
1830WFMJyothsna L2052TN1 - 0Tejaswini G1742TN45
1967Dakshita Kumawat1395RAJ½ - ½WFMKotepalli Sai Nirupama1914AP37
2041WCMBristy Mukherjee1856WB1 - 0Swara Lakshmi S Nair1383KAR69


Round 8 pairings

11IMVaishali R2403TNWGMDivya Deshmukh2301MAH8
25IMSoumya Swaminathan2360PSPBIMPadmini Rout2350PSPB6
39WIMPriyanka Nutakki2301APWGMPratyusha Bodda2328AP7
411WIMArpita Mukherjee2260WB5WGMGomes Mary Ann2361PSPB4
519WIMChitlange Sakshi2205MAH55IMKulkarni Bhakti2388GOA2
613WIMSharma Isha2253KAR55WFMSalonika Saina2206ORI18
734Deodhar Vrushali Umesh1974MAH55WGMSrija Seshadri2219TN16
824WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya2145APWIMRakshitta Ravi2278TN10
926WFMHarshini A2131TNWIMPriyanka K2227TN14
1033WFMBhagyashree Patil1974MAHWIMParnali S Dharia2224MAH15
1117WGMVarshini V2206TNBala Kannamma P2120TN27
1241WCMBristy Mukherjee1856WBWFMPandey Srishti2177MAH20
1321WIMMichelle Catherina P2176TNWFMJyothsna L2052TN30
1423IMMohota Nisha2147PSPBWIMChandreyee Hajra2001WB32
1512WIMSavitha Shri B2257TN44Ishvi Aggarwal1833HAR42
1643Singh Neha1833BIH44WGMKiran Manisha Mohanty2168LIC22
1725WGMSwati Ghate2136LIC44Abhirami Madabushi1777TEL44
1828Nimmy A.G.2110KER44Anupam M Sreekumar1724KER48
1929Supriya Maji2093WB44Dakshita Kumawat1395RAJ67
2035WFMLakshmi C1968TN44Smaraki Mohanty1725ORI47
2149Keerti Shree Reddy1721TN44Meenal Gupta1941JK36


Contact Us