chessbase india logo

MPL National Teams 2023 R8: AAI on the verge of second consecutive triumph

by Shahid Ahmed - 16/02/2023

AAI defeated Kerala B 2.5-1.5 with only three members. Since GM Sankalp Gupta was absent, GM Aravindh Chithambaram and the reigning Asian Junior Open Gold medalist, IM Harshavardhan G B scored important victories. GM Abhimanyu Puranik averted disaster and drew his game to ensure AAI move closer to second consecutive triumph at this event. They just need to draw their last round match against Tamil Nadu B to clinch the tournament. PSPB is two points behind at 13/16, followed by RSPB A 12/16. Both AAI and PSPB won their respective matches in the Women's event. Therefore, they are still in the lead with 11/12 each. AAI needs to tie the result with PSPB to become champion. Round 9 Open and Round 7 Women starts today at 10 a.m. IST. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Women: AAI and PSPB are guaranteed a top two finish

Irrespective of the result of how AAI and PSPB fares in the last round. They are going to finish in top two as no other teams have a mathematical chance to catch up with them. If PSPB wins, AAI must win, in case PSPB draws, AAI also needs to score a draw minimum to win the tournament, as AAI is four game points ahead of them. They registered their fifth whitewash of the event against Tamil Nadu A. Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu B and Andhra Pradesh are in contention for a third place finish.

AAI is well placed to clinch the tournament for the second year in-a-row | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Open Round 8: AAI - Kerala B: 2.5-1.5

GM Aravindh Chithambaram (2613) and the reigning Asian Junior Open champion, IM Harshavardhan G B (2428) scored comfortable victories over their respective opponents. GM Abhimanyu Puranik (2596) was held to a draw by Nithin Babu (2053). Although, Nithin had a couple of great opportunities. GM Sankalp Gupta was absent for his game against the 34th National Under-12 Open champion, Goutham Krishna H.

Nithin - Abhimanyu

Position after 15...Bd5??

The first opportunity arose when Black blundered 15...Bd5. White had played 15.Ne4 with the intention of jumping one of his knights, preferably the c4-knight to d6. This was mentioned by Abhimanyu and Harshavardhan after the game concluded to Nithin.. So, when the time came to play it, he missed and played 16.Qa4. However, he got another opportunity, a bit discreet but still it counts.

Position after 33...Nf4

White went for 34.Qxc4 and the queens were traded immediately Qxc4 35.Nxc4 Nxd5. Although White was still better but not as much as he would have been had he opted for 34.d6 Rxd6 35.Be5 Nd3+ 36.cxd3 cxd3+ 37.Nc4! and White would have been on the path towards victory.

Final moments: Nithin Babu vs GM Abhimanyu Puranik | Video: ChessBase India

It is not everyday GM Abhimanyu Puranik presents two great opportunities in a single game | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

AAI - Kerala B: 2.5-1.5

RSPB A - RSPB B: 2-2 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

PSPB scored their first whitewash win of the event against Kerala A in the penultimate round 8 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

PSPB - Kerala A: 4-0

LIC - Odisha: 1.5-2.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Tamil Nadu A - Tamil Nadu B: 0-4 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Women Round 6: Tamil Nadu B - PSPB: 1.5-2.5

IM Padmini Rout (2389) and IM Soumya Swaminathan (2308) scored wins. IM Eesha Karavade (2294) drew with WFM Jyothsna L (1910). WIM Isha Sharma (2213) lost to Saranya Y (1920). PSPB defeated Tamil Nadu B to stay in the championship picture.

Tamil Nadu B put up a good fight against PSPB | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Tamil Nadu B - PSPB: 1.5-2.5

Tamil Nadu A - AAI: 0-4 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Maharashtra - Telangana: 3-1 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more Round 8 Open and Round 6 Women photos, please click here.

Replay Round 8 Open games

Replay Round 6 Women games

Round 8 Open results

12AAI13:9Kerala B13
23RSPB A112:210RSPB B5
31PSPB Men114:09Kerala A14
48LIC9:9Odisha A6
518Tamil Nadu A80:48Tamil Nadu B4
621Bihar B8½:8Tamil Nadu C9
710Tamil Nadu D8:8Haryana A20
87Telangana72:26Karnataka B11
912Bihar A6:7Madhya Pradesh15
1127Andhra Pradesh A61:36DASCB19
1225Karnataka A62:26Andhra Pradesh B24
1326Himachal A4½:4Tamil Nadu E22
1430Himachal B4:2Haryana B28
1529Himachal C01:34BSNL17


Standings after Round 8

Rk.SNoTeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
21PSPB Men861113022407,554,5
33RSPB A844012022,5417,858,5
45RSPB B851211220380,348,5
56Odisha A851211020,534352
64Tamil Nadu B842210020,535951
710Tamil Nadu D850310018,529245,5
89Tamil Nadu C850310017,5286,543,5
1013Kerala B83329016,5272,346


Round 9 Open pairings

14Tamil Nadu B10:15AAI2
26Odisha A11:13PSPB Men1
314Kerala A9:12RSPB A3
45RSPB B11:10Tamil Nadu D10
59Tamil Nadu C10:9LIC8
613Kerala B9:8Pondicherry16
720Haryana A8:8Telangana7
819DASCB8:8Bihar A12
921Bihar B8:8Tamil Nadu A18
1023SSCB7:7Karnataka B11
1115Madhya Pradesh7:7Karnataka A25
1224Andhra Pradesh B7:0Himachal C29
1322Tamil Nadu E6:6Himachal B30
1427Andhra Pradesh A6:4Himachal A26
1528Haryana B2:6BSNL17


Round 6 Women results

14Tamil Nadu Women B7:9PSPB Women1
26Tamil Nadu Women A60:49AAI Women2
33Maharashtra Women A63:16Telangana Women5
411Andhra Pradesh Women62:24Odisha Women A7
512Himachal Women B41:34Tamil Nadu Women D8
613Himachal Women C10:44Kerala Women9
710Tamil Nadu Women C34:01Himachal Women A14


Standings after Round 6

Rk.SNoTeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
12AAI Women65101112228854,5
21PSPB Women651011118265,546
33Maharashtra Women A64028015,519938
44Tamil Nadu Women B63127115174,535,5
511Andhra Pradesh Women62317111,514125,5


Round 7 Women pairings

11PSPB Women11:7Andhra Pradesh Women11
22AAI Women11:7Tamil Nadu Women B4
38Tamil Nadu Women D6:8Maharashtra Women A3
49Kerala Women6:6Tamil Nadu Women A6
55Telangana Women6:1Himachal Women A14
612Himachal Women B4:5Tamil Nadu Women C10
77Odisha Women A5:1Himachal Women C13


Contact Us