chessbase india logo

MPL National Teams 2023 R7: AAI continues their winning streak

by Shahid Ahmed - 15/02/2023

AAI continues their winning streak at MPL 42nd National Team Chess Championship 2023 Open. Odisha lost to them 1.5-2.5. GM Abhimanyu Puranik scored the important victory which helped his team AAI win their sixth match. AAI maintains their sole lead 13/14, two points ahead of RSPB A and PSPB 11/14. In the Women's event, PSPB defeated Maharashtra 2.5-1.5. AAI scored their fourth whitewash of the event, it was against Telangana in the fifth round. Both teams are in the lead 9/10. If both teams maintain their match points same, eventually game points will become a factor in determining the champions. Round 8 Open and Round 6 Women starts today at 10 a.m. IST. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Women: AAI and PSPB still in the lead

AAI has won four out of five matches with a 4-0 score. While, PSPB managed only one 4-0 win in the first round. Since they drew with each other in the third round, if both teams maintain their parallel scores in the last two rounds, AAI will have the upper hand as they already have 2.5 game points more than the top seed.

GM Abhimanyu Puranik standing tall and ensured he does what his team needs him to do | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Open Round 7: Odisha - AAI: 1.5-2.5

Three out of four games ended in draws. Utkal Ranjan Sahoo (2371), CM Rajesh Nayak (2139) and Nilsu Pattnaik (1985) of Odisha drew with GM Aravindh Chithambaram (2613), GM Sankalp Gupta (2504) and IM Harshavardhan G B (2428) of AAI, each respectively. GM Abhimanyu Puranik (2596) scored the sole victory for his team AAI against IM Sidhant Mohapatra (ODI, 2378).

Abhimanyu - Sidhant

Position after 44.b5

The rook endgame was quite difficult for Black to defend practically. 44...Rg3? did not help his case. White played the precise correct move 45.b6! Rxh3 46.b7 Rxd3+ 47.Kb2 f3 48.b8Q Black fought for a bit but to no avail. White won the game comfortably and thus maintained AAI's two point lead over the competition.

GM Abhimanyu Puranik (AAI) scored a crucial victory for his team | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Odisha A - AAI: 1.5-2.5

PSPB - Haryana A: 3.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Tamil Nadu C - RSPB A: 0.5-3.5 | Photo: Aditya  Sur Roy

RSPB B - Tamil Nadu B: 3-1 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Kerala B - LIC: 2-2 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Women Round 5: PSPB - MAH: 2.5-1.5

PSPB's IM Eesha Karavade (2294) and WGM Mary Ann Gomes (2334) defeated WIM Mrudul Dehankar (2034) and WFM Vishwa Shah (2127) of Maharashtra, respectively. IM Padmini Rout (2389) lost to WIM Sakshi Chitlange (2239). The last game of the match to conclude was between IM Soumya Swaminathan (2308) and WIM Aashna Makhija (2129). It ended in a draw.

Sakshi - Padmini

Position after 20...f6

20...f6 created an opportunity for White 21.Nc6! Rxe3 22.Qxe3 Ra8 23.Ne7+ Kf8 24.Nf5 Qe5 25.Qh3 and Black's position fell apart in a hurry.. 20...Kf8 is how Black should have continued.

WIM Sakshi Chitlange on her victory over IM Padmini Rout | Video: ChessBase India

PSPB defeated Maharashtra 2.5-1.5 to maintain their lead | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

PSPB - Maharashtra: 2.5-1.5

AAI scored their fourth whitewash of the event, against Telangana in Round 5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

AAI - Telangana: 4-0

Odisha - Tamil Nadu B: 0-4 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The tournament hall | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Ceremonial first moves of Round 7 Open | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more Round 7 Open and Round 5 Women photos, please click here.

Replay Round 7 Open games

Replay Round 5 Women games

Round 7 Open results

16Odisha A9:11AAI2
21PSPB Men9:½8Haryana A20
39Tamil Nadu C8½:9RSPB A3
45RSPB B83:18Tamil Nadu B4
513Kerala B82:28LIC8
614Kerala A73:17Pondicherry16
715Madhya Pradesh71:36Tamil Nadu D10
811Karnataka B61:36Bihar B21
924Andhra Pradesh B6½:6Tamil Nadu A18
1025Karnataka A61:35Telangana7
1130Himachal B40:44Bihar A12
1217BSNL41:34Andhra Pradesh A27
1319DASCB43:14Tamil Nadu E22
1429Himachal C00:44SSCB23
1528Haryana B21:32Himachal A26


Standings after Round 7

Rk.SNoTeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
23RSPB A743011120,533152
31PSPB Men751111118305,344,5
45RSPB B750210018284,545
56Odisha A74129018265,845,5
714Kerala A74129016173,537
813Kerala B73319015213,842,5
94Tamil Nadu B73228016,5256,841
1010Tamil Nadu D7403801621938


Round 8 Open pairings

12AAI13:9Kerala B13
23RSPB A11:10RSPB B5
31PSPB Men11:9Kerala A14
48LIC9:9Odisha A6
518Tamil Nadu A8:8Tamil Nadu B4
621Bihar B8:8Tamil Nadu C9
710Tamil Nadu D8:8Haryana A20
87Telangana7:6Karnataka B11
912Bihar A6:7Madhya Pradesh15
1127Andhra Pradesh A6:6DASCB19
1225Karnataka A6:6Andhra Pradesh B24
1326Himachal A4:4Tamil Nadu E22
1430Himachal B4:2Haryana B28
1529Himachal C0:4BSNL17


Round 5 Women results

11PSPB Women7:6Maharashtra Women A3
22AAI Women74:06Telangana Women5
37Odisha Women A40:45Tamil Nadu Women B4
49Kerala Women41:34Andhra Pradesh Women11
510Tamil Nadu Women C30:44Tamil Nadu Women A6
613Himachal Women C10:42Tamil Nadu Women D8
714Himachal Women A1½:2Himachal Women B12


Standings after Round 5

Rk.SNoTeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
12AAI Women5410911819344,5
21PSPB Women54109115,519739
34Tamil Nadu Women B53117013,510932,5
43Maharashtra Women A53026012,5135,830,5
56Tamil Nadu Women A53026012,579,831,5


Round 6 Women pairings

14Tamil Nadu Women B7:9PSPB Women1
26Tamil Nadu Women A6:9AAI Women2
33Maharashtra Women A6:6Telangana Women5
411Andhra Pradesh Women6:4Odisha Women A7
512Himachal Women B4:4Tamil Nadu Women D8
613Himachal Women C1:4Kerala Women9
710Tamil Nadu Women C3:1Himachal Women A14


Contact Us