chessbase india logo

D K Sharma clinches MP Masters 2021 Classical, Rapid and Blitz

by Shahid Ahmed - 28/11/2021

IM D K Sharma won MP Masters 2021 in all three events - Classical, Rapid and Blitz, scoring 5.0/7, 3.5/5 and 9.5/12 respectively. He played 24 games in five days, including 12 Blitz games on 25th November 2021. Earlier in September he won the 1st Zenith Challenger Cup by winning all eight games and finishing a full point ahead 8.0/8 at Mathura. The stalwart of Uttar Pradesh, D K Sharma won the National Blitz championship in 2018, with a fractured arm. That should definitely give you an inkling of his prowess. Trophies, software products and books were the prizes for the prize winners. Photo: Niklesh Jain

A trifecta triumph

Indrajeet Mahindrakar secured second position in both Rapid and Blitz scoring 3.5/5 and 9.0/12. A last round loss cost WIM Franco Valencia Angela (COL) the championship, and she was placed second in the Classical event. IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni also scored 9.0/12 in Blitz, he was placed third according to the tie-breaks. Saurabh Choubey secured 3rd position in Classical 3.5/5 and Aishwin Daniel was placed third in Rapid 3.0/5.

Champion IM Dinesh Kumar Sharma 5.0/7 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

IM D K Sharma triumphed in Classical, Rapid and Blitz | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Top 3 finishers in Classical (L to R) - 3rd Saurabh Choubey, 1st IM D K Sharma and 2nd Franco Angela Valencia | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Top 3 in Rapid (L to R): 3rd Aishwin Daniel, 1st IM D K Sharma and 2nd Indrajeet Mahindrakar | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Top two in Blitz - 1st IM D K Sharma and 2nd Indrajeet Mahindrakar | Photo: Niklesh Jain

MP Masters Chess Festival 2021 is organized by Chessbase India Training Academy Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

Round 4: Vikramaditya - Aanjaneya: 0-1

Aanjaneya Phatak scored a nice win against IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni who avoided theory in all games with white pieces by starting with 1.a3.

Position after 14...e3

A good position allows you to play moves like 14...e3. The idea is simple Black wants to play Ne4, get rid of the protector of the b1 square so that he can play Qb1 and gain material. Another idea is to bring the queen to e4 after exchanging the knights and then open h-file. Aanjaneya did both of them to score a victory.

Vikramaditya's 1.a3 got finally conquered by Aanjaneya | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Aishwin - Siddhant: 1-0

Aishwin Daniel made a good recovery from a difficult position and then launched an attack of his own successfully.

Position after 33.Nxg6

33.Nxg6 gives a clear idea of White's intentions 33...Kxg6 34.Re6+ Kxf7 35.Rxc6 Rxc6 36.Qd5+ and it's all over for Black.

Madhya Pradesh's bright talent - Aishwin Daniel | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Round 5: Angela - Vikramaditya: 0-1

WIM Angela Franco Valencia (COL) went for a trick against IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni.

Position after 21.e5

21.e5 was played with the idea of 22.Bxf5. However, Black stopped the threat 21...Ne4 22.exd6 Bxd6 23.f3 Re5 24.fxe4 Rxa5 and suddenly Black is in the game. 25.Kb1 worsened things for White after 25...Bg3. White eventually lost the game, which was her first loss of the event.

Vikramaditya ended Angela's unbeaten run | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Saurabh - D K Sharma: 0-1

IM D K Sharma joined the lead by beating Saurabh Choubey.

Position after 30.Bg3

30.Bxf6 would have kept White afloat a bit longer. After a few moves, White decided to take the a7-pawn and Black got 35...c4+ which gave him the decisive advantage.

Round 6: Vikramaditya - Saurabh: 1-0

Saurabh Choubey won arguably the most exciting game of the tournament against IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni where the equilibrium shifted back and forth between the players.

Saurabh won a rollercoaster of a game against Vikramaditya | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Aishwin - Angela: 0-1

Angela bounced back with a clinical victory against Aishwin.

Position after 18...Rxf3

How do you defend this position as White? It turns out 19.Kg2 is the only way for White to stay in the game. However, 19.Qd1 was played 19...Qf6 20.Kg2 Rf8 21.Be2 Qg6+ and the white king fell into a mating net.

Angela regained her sole lead 4.5/6 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Round 7: Angela - Siddhant: 0-1

Angela lost her final round game against Sidhant after she lost a valuable pawn in the middlegame.

D K Sharma - Vikramaditya: 1-0

In the battle among IMs, D K Sharma prevailed over Vikramaditya Kulkarni.

Position after 30.Nf5

The above position gives us a clear idea about who is in control. However, after 30...Rd8 White played 31.h3 which allowed Black to take the d4-pawn which he did not take. White managed to convert his advantage into a win, thus clinched the tournament too.

D K Sharma scored a very nice victory to win the tournament | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Photo Gallery:

Runner-up in Classical: WIM Franco Valencia Angela 4.5/7 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

3rd in Classical - Saurabh Choubey 3.5/7 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Chief Arbiter - FA Yash Tulapurkar | Photo: Niklesh Jain

The beautiful trophies for the prize winners | Photo: Niklesh Jain

MP Masters prize winners with the organizers | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Replay the Live stream

MP Masters 2021 Classical Round 7 Live stream | Video: Hindi ChessBase India
MP Masters 2021 Blitz Live stream | Video: Hindi ChessBase India

Replay Round 4-7 games

Round 4-7 results

Round 4 on 2021/11/23 at 04:00 PM
18IND2129Mahindrakar Indrajeet1 - 0AFMChoubey SaurabhIND19536
27IND2288IMSharma Dinesh K.½ - ½WIMFranco Valencia AngelaCOL20895
31IND2355IMKulkarni Vikramaditya0 - 1Phatak AanjaneyaIND22124
42IND1937Aishwin Daniel1 - 0FMGaikwad SiddhantIND20333
Round 5 on 2021/11/24 at 10:00 AM
13IND2033FMGaikwad Siddhant½ - ½Mahindrakar IndrajeetIND21298
24IND2212Phatak Aanjaneya0 - 1Aishwin DanielIND19372
35COL2089WIMFranco Valencia Angela0 - 1IMKulkarni VikramadityaIND23551
46IND1953AFMChoubey Saurabh0 - 1IMSharma Dinesh K.IND22887
Round 6 on 2021/11/24 at 04:00 PM
18IND2129Mahindrakar Indrajeet½ - ½IMSharma Dinesh K.IND22887
21IND2355IMKulkarni Vikramaditya0 - 1AFMChoubey SaurabhIND19536
32IND1937Aishwin Daniel0 - 1WIMFranco Valencia AngelaCOL20895
43IND2033FMGaikwad Siddhant1 - 0Phatak AanjaneyaIND22124
Round 7 on 2021/11/25 at 10:00 AM
14IND2212Phatak Aanjaneya0 - 1Mahindrakar IndrajeetIND21298
25COL2089WIMFranco Valencia Angela0 - 1FMGaikwad SiddhantIND20333
36IND1953AFMChoubey Saurabh½ - ½Aishwin DanielIND19372
47IND2288IMSharma Dinesh K.1 - 0IMKulkarni VikramadityaIND23551


Final Standings in Classical

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
17IMSharma Dinesh K.IND22885,00,017,2542
25WIMFranco Valencia AngelaCOL20894,50,014,5043
36AFMChoubey SaurabhIND19533,51,510,2532
42Aishwin DanielIND19373,51,510,2531
53FMGaikwad SiddhantIND20333,50,011,0031
61IMKulkarni VikramadityaIND23553,01,011,0031
78Mahindrakar IndrajeetIND21293,00,09,7521
84Phatak AanjaneyaIND22122,00,08,0021


Final Standings in Blitz

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11IMSharma Dinesh K.IND23929,50,045,509
27Mahindrakar IndrajeetIND19839,01,042,509
36IMKulkarni VikramadityaIND22799,01,039,758
44Aishwin DanielIND17946,00,023,505
55FMGaikwad SiddhantIND18485,00,022,254
63AFMChoubey SaurabhIND18382,00,06,502
72WIMFranco Valencia AngelaCOL21951,50,04,501


Final Standings in Rapid

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
11IMSharma Dinesh K.IND24223,50,58,2521
22Mahindrakar IndrajeetIND17603,50,57,2520
34Aishwin DanielIND17523,00,05,7521
43WIMFranco Valencia AngelaCOL21972,00,54,7500
56AFMChoubey SaurabhIND17192,00,53,7510
65FMGaikwad SiddhantIND19411,00,02,7500




Related news:
MP Masters 2021 R1-3: Franco Valencia Angela gains sole lead 3.0/3

@ 23/11/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us