chessbase india logo

MP Masters 2021 R1-3: Franco Valencia Angela gains sole lead 3.0/3

by Shahid Ahmed - 23/11/2021

WIM Franco Angela (COL) has taken the sole lead by winning all three of her games. She beat Saurabh Choubey in the third round. Three players are trailing her by a full point. They are - Saurabh Choubey, IM Dinesh Kumar Sharma and IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni. The tournament is played in a single Round-Robin format with a time control of 90 minutes each + 30 seconds increment from move no.1. The average rating of the tournament is 2125. Blitz and Rapid Rating Round-Robin will take place on 25th and 26th November respectively. There is a spot open for each of those events. Round 4 starts today at 4:00 p.m. IST. Photo: Niklesh Jain

All decisive games so far

All twelve games played till the third round yielded decisive results only. The tournament witnesses the participation of two IMs, a WIM and a FM. If you are interested in playing Blitz and/or Rapid FIDE rating Round-Robin tournament on 25th and 26th November at the same venue, please contact: Only 18+ double vaccinated entries will be considered by the organizer.

WIM Franco Valencia Angela has taken sole lead 3.0/3 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

MP Masters Chess Festival 2021 is organized byChessbase India Training Academy Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

Round 1: Aanjaneya - Angela: 0-1

Aanjaneya Phatak made a tactical error in an already difficult endgame against Franco Angela (COL) in the first round.

Position after 26.b4

26.b4 ran into 26...Rxc3 27.Rxc3 Bxb4 and Black gained a valuable pawn which gave her a decisive advantage.

Round 2: Indrajeet - Angela: 0-1

In the second round, Indrajeet Mahindrakar was unable to maximize his bishop pair against a rook. A strange backward move invited all kinds of trouble as he paid the price for neglecting development of pieces.

Position after 20.Qg3

Find out the winning continuation for Black after 20.Qg3.

D K Sharma - Sidhant: 1-0

IM D K Sharma won an interesting battle against FM Sidhant Gaikwad.

IM D K Sharma explains his game against FM Sidhant | Video: Hindi ChessBase India

Round 3: Sidhant - Vikramaditya: 1-0

Sidhant Gaikwad played enterprising chess to beat IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni in the third round.

Position after 18.Nd5

18.Nd5 is an excellent move. It uses the probable pin on the e-file after 18...cxd5 19.exd5 Qc7 and now White played another fantastic move 20.Qg5. There is absolutely no hurry in regaining the piece when you can only further your dominance on the kingside. Soon White focused both bishops on the kingside with a piercing attack.

Aanjaneya - D K Sharma: 1-0

Aanjaneya Phatak defeated IM D K Sharma with a beautiful attack using his active pieces.

Position after 33...gxf5

33...gxf5 tempts White to play 34.Nxf5 exf5 35.e6 which would have given White the full point a bit earlier. Aanjaneya eventually played Nxf5 after four more moves which gave him the win.

Aanjaneya scored a very nice victory against IM D K Sharma | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Angela - Saurabh: 1-0

White managed to create an isolated passed pawn on the d-file which became a thorn on black's territory.

Position after 31...Qc5

Black had to play 31...e4 to make sure things do not go out of hand. Find out how 31...Qc5 completely shifted things in White's favor.

Angela beat Saurabh to gain sole lead 3.0/3 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Photo Gallery:

Three players are at 2.0/3 including Saurabh Choubey | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Former National Blitz champion - IM D K Sharma 2.0/3 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni 2.0/3 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Replay the Live stream

MP Masters 2021 Classical Round 4 Live stream | Video: Hindi ChessBase India

Replay Round 1-3 games

Round 1-3 results

Round 1 on 2021/11/22 at 10:00 AM
11IND2355IMKulkarni Vikramaditya1 - 0Mahindrakar IndrajeetIND21298
22IND1937Aishwin Daniel0 - 1IMSharma Dinesh K.IND22887
33IND2033FMGaikwad Siddhant0 - 1AFMChoubey SaurabhIND19536
44IND2212Phatak Aanjaneya0 - 1WIMFranco Valencia AngelaCOL20895
Round 2 on 2021/11/22 at 04:00 PM
18IND2129Mahindrakar Indrajeet0 - 1WIMFranco Valencia AngelaCOL20895
26IND1953AFMChoubey Saurabh1 - 0Phatak AanjaneyaIND22124
37IND2288IMSharma Dinesh K.1 - 0FMGaikwad SiddhantIND20333
41IND2355IMKulkarni Vikramaditya1 - 0Aishwin DanielIND19372
Round 3 on 2021/11/23 at 10:00 AM
12IND1937Aishwin Daniel1 - 0Mahindrakar IndrajeetIND21298
23IND2033FMGaikwad Siddhant1 - 0IMKulkarni VikramadityaIND23551
34IND2212Phatak Aanjaneya1 - 0IMSharma Dinesh K.IND22887
45COL2089WIMFranco Valencia Angela1 - 0AFMChoubey SaurabhIND19536


Standings after Round 3

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
15WIMFranco Valencia AngelaCOL20893,00,03,0032
26AFMChoubey SaurabhIND19532,00,02,0021
7IMSharma Dinesh K.IND22882,00,02,0021
41IMKulkarni VikramadityaIND23552,00,01,0020
53FMGaikwad SiddhantIND20331,00,02,0010
4Phatak AanjaneyaIND22121,00,02,0010
72Aishwin DanielIND19371,00,00,0010
88Mahindrakar IndrajeetIND21290,00,00,0000




Related news:
D K Sharma clinches MP Masters 2021 Classical, Rapid and Blitz

@ 28/11/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us