chessbase india logo

The Calm Warrior - Arjun Erigaisi on his Tata Steel Challengers 2022 triumph

by Shahid Ahmed - 02/02/2022

18-year-old Arjun Erigaisi became the youngest Indian ever to win Tata Steel Chess Challengers 2022. Harikrishna was the first Indian to win it in 2012 at the age of 26 years. Then Adhiban and Vidit won it in 2016 and 2018 respectively at the same age of 24 years each respectively. Arjun has a set new bar not only in terms of age but also won the event with the biggest margin ever since Challengers started in 2003. Harikrishna, Adhiban and Vidit won with a score of 9.0/13 each. It was bettered by Arjun 10.5/13 which was also his personal aim. IM Sagar Shah conducted a detailed over two-hour long with the boy wonder whose era started last year with Tata Steel Chess India 2021 Rapid triumph. Photo: ChessBase India

Arjun Erigaisi becomes the youngest Indian ever to win Tata Steel Challengers 2022

Arjun Erigaisi on his 10.5/13 victory at the Tata Steel Challengers 2022


0:00 Introduction


1:24 Conversation with Arjun Part 1


11:56 Round 1 - Arjun Erigaisi vs GM Lucas van Foreest


15:37 Round 2 - GM Max Warmerdam vs Arjun Erigaisi


20:18 Round 3 - Arjun Erigaisi vs GM Daniel Dardha


31:06 Round 4 - IM Roven Vogel vs Arjun Erigaisi


45:53 Round 5 - Arjun Erigaisi vs IM Volodar Murzin


1:01:32 Round 6 - Arjun Erigaisi vs GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly


1:08:05 Conversation with Arjun Part 2


1:12:43 Round 7 - GM Rinat Jumabayev vs Arjun Erigaisi


1:18:40 Round 8 - Arjun Erigaisi vs GM Jonas Buhl Bjerre


1:23:30 Round 9 - WGM Jiner Zhu vs Arjun Erigaisi


1:37:38 Round 10 -Arjun Erigaisi vs IM Polina Shuvalova


1:40:18 Round 11 - GM Erwin l'Ami vs Arjun Erigaisi


1:44:45 Round 13 - Andria Marc Maurizzi vs Arjun Erigaisi


2:02:31 Viewers' questions for Arjun


2:12:14 Conversation with Arjun Part 3

Replay Arjun's games


Related news:
Arjun Erigaisi on the art of detaching from results

@ 01/07/2024 by Rasika Ratnaparkhi (en)
Arjun Erigaisi: Missing FIDE Candidates Was Tough, But I Moved On

@ 23/06/2024 by Niklesh Jain (en)
कैंडिडैट से चूकने पर हुई थी गहरी निराशा :अर्जुन एरीगैसी

@ 22/06/2024 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Magnus Carlsen and Valentina Gunina are World Blitz 2023 champions

@ 31/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
When Arjun Erigaisi took on 8 opponents in his first ever blindfold simul

@ 13/07/2023 by Sagar Shah (en)
Sumer Arsh wins the Arjun Erigaisi Death Match 2.0 scholarship of Rs.3,25,000

@ 10/02/2023 by Sagar Shah (en)
Delving deep into the Arjun Erigaisi vs Levon Aronian endgame from Tata Steel Masters 2023

@ 17/01/2023 by Sagar Shah (en)
Arjun Erigaisi signs a Rs.12.4 crore (US$1.5 million) long term sponsorship deal with Quantbox

@ 13/12/2022 by Sagar Shah (en)
The Arjun Erigaisi Livestream!

@ 03/10/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
Your chance to meet Vishy Anand and the young super talents of Indian chess in Bangalore!

@ 06/09/2022 by Sagar Shah (en)
Astounding Arjun Erigaisi finishes third in Lindores Abbey Blitz, now World no.31 in Blitz

@ 09/11/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arjun Erigaisi and Gukesh dominate 2nd Terras de Trás-os-Montes Open

@ 25/08/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Raunak and Arjun Erigaisi shine at Portuguese 1st Division 2020-21

@ 26/07/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arjun Erigaisi clinches Masthanaiah Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 01/05/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arjun Erigaisi - a peaceful warrior and the future of Indian chess

@ 10/02/2021 by Saishyam Srikanth (en)
How strong is GM Arjun Erigaisi?

@ 31/01/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
Victor Mikhalevski on India's 54th GM Arjun Erigaisi

@ 29/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)

Contact Us