chessbase india logo

Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 30/01/2024

IM Himal Gusain scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win 3rd Tours International Open A 2024. He finished a half point ahead of the field. GM Namig Guliyev (AZE) scored 7/9 to secure sole second place. Four players - GM Sergey A Fedorchuk (UKR), IM Guillaume Lamard (FRA), GM Alexandre Dgebuadze (BEL) and Julian Victor (BEL) scored 6.5/9 each. They were placed third to sixth according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was €8000, €6500 for Open A. The top three prizes were €1200, €1000 and €800 along with a trophy each. Himal won the first tournament he played in 2024 an he also started the year in the exact same way he ended 2023, by a winning a tournament. Check out an annotated game by the winner Himal himself. Photos: François Le Guillou

Himal starts 2024 the same way he ended his 2023

IM Himal Gusain was the sole leader 6.5/8 heading into the final round. FM Andrei Filip (ROU), IM Guillaume Lamard (FRA), GM Sergey A Fedorchuk (UKR) and GM Namig Guliyev (AZE) were trailing by a half point at 6/8 each. Himal defeated Filip to become a clear champion. Namig defeated Florian Grezeles (FRA) and Lamard drew against Fedorchuk. Namig and Fedorchuk secured second and third place respectively.

Best Woman and Top 3 (L to R): WGM Tatiana Dornbusch (MNC) 5.5/9, 2nd GM Namig Guliyev (AZE) 7/9, 1st IM Himal Gusain 7.5/9 and 3rd GM Sergey Fedorchuk (UKR) 6.5/9

The prize winners with organizers and France no.1 woman - GM Marie Sebag

"This year, the women were in the spotlight with GM Marie Sebag, France's top female player, who played a simultaneous game versus 26 players, and WGM Tatiana Dornbusch, who won the women's first prize and gave a master class during the week." - François Le Guillou, Tournament Organizer.


Check out the champion, IM Himal Gusain's favorite game of the tournament against GM Sergey Fedorchuk (UKR) from the third round, annotated by Himal himself.

IM Himal Gusain scored an unbeaten 7.5/9, finished a half point ahead of the field and performed at 2651

Players in action

The tournament hall - Salle des Fêtes at Tours Town Hall in Tours, France

Thanks to the tournament organizer - François Le Guillou for sharing photographs and information about the tournament.


A total of 140 players including 4 GMs, 9 IMs and a WGM took part from eleven countries all over the world in this five-day nine round Rating Open A tournament. It was organized by François Le Guillou at Salle des Fêtes at Tours Town Hall in Tours, France from 2nd to 6th January 2024. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Final standings in Open A

Pl NomEloCat.FedeLigueClubPtsTr.Cu.Perf
1mGUSAIN Himal2457 FSenM44½392651
2gGULIYEV Namig2506 FSenMCVLC'Chartres Echecs741½342520
3gFEDORCHUK Sergey A.2550 FSenMARALyon Olympique Echecs44½33½2506
4mLAMARD Guillaume2499 FSenMPACCannes Echecs43½34½2466
5gDGEBUADZE Alexandre2441 FSepMHDFCercle Boulonnais des Echecs43½33½2492
6 VICTOR Julian2216 FCadM3928½2293
7gLALIC Bogdan2349 FSepMARALe Champ du Fou64432½2333
8mFILIP Lucian-Ioan2369 FSenMARAClub d'Echecs d'Annemasse643½30½2329
9fFILIP Andrei2250 FCadM642½31½2281
10 MIDY Robin2154 FSenMPDLEchiquier Club Le Mans640292163
11 BOUVET Florian2221 FSenMPDLEchiquier Club Le Mans639½30½2282
12mBUJISHO Benjamin2353 FSenMPDLCercle d'Echecs de Nantes639½30½2244
13fSAADA Julien2265 FSenMNAQPoitiers-Migne Echecs638½26½2179
14 LEVREBON Florian1900 FSenMCVLEchiquier Tourangeau63829½2129
15 MASSET Jacques1983 FSenMCVLEchiquier Tourangeau637302106



Tournament details

Tournament Regulations

Related news:
Harikrishnan A Ra dominates 2nd Noisiel Blitz Rating Open 2024, third in Classical

@ 07/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st G H Raisoni Memorial Pune Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 22/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 19th Caspian Cup 2023, Kushagra Mohan third

@ 28/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates Surya Trophy Rating Open 2022

@ 22/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us