chessbase india logo

Guru Prakash wins 360 One Wealth Junior Under-15 GP Series 2 Rating 2023

by Praful Zaveri - 15/01/2024

Guru Prakash, Atharv Soni and Darsh Shetty scored 6/7 at 360 One Wealth Junior Under-15 GP Series 2 Rating 2023. Guru won the tournament due to better tie-break score. Atharv and Darsh were placed second and third. Guru drew against the eventual second runner-up, Darsh in the final round. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹250000. The top three prizes were ₹50000 + trophy, ₹30000 and ₹25000 each. This was Guru's third tournament triumph of 2023. It is also his first-ever rating tournament victory of his career. The third event of the GP series will start on 5th February 2024. It will be an Open event instead of restricted to Under-15 players. Photos: FT IA IO Praful Zaveri/Indian Chess School

Guru's first rating tournament triumph

In an exhilarating three-way tiebreaker, Guru Prakash, holding the top seed, emerged victorious in the second leg of the 360 One Wealth Junior Grand Prix. He narrowly outpaced Darsh Shetty, the second seed, and Atharv Soni, the third seed. Despite all three players scoring 6/7 points, Guru's superior tiebreak performance propelled him to the top spot.

Champion - Guru Prakash 6/7

Guru Prakash clinched the first prize of ₹50000 and a dazzling trophy, while Darsh and Atharv received ₹30000 and ₹25000 respectively as their awards.

Runner-up - Atharv Soni 6/7

Second Runner-up - Darsh Shetty 6/7

Top 3 finishers with IA IO FT Praful Zaveri: 2nd Atharv Soni 6/7, 1st Guru Prakash 6/7 and 3rd Darsh Shetty 6/7

Khanak Paharia claimed the title of the best girl player, with Mayanka Rana and Yamini Sriram securing the second and third positions, respectively. The respective awards for these accomplished players were ₹5000, ₹4000, and ₹3000.


The jury of the legendary Grandmaster Pravin Thipsay awarded the best game to Arjun Singh, Arnav Thatte, Guru Prakash, Kshaunish Jaiswal, Prathamesh Gawade, Tanmay More and Atharv Soni. These players were awarded a special board autographed by GM Thipsay

Best Game prize winners

A grand sum of ₹250000 was distributed among the winners of this FIDE rating tournament, organized by the Indian Chess School in collaboration with the All India Chess Federation and Maharashtra Chess Association.

Guru Prakash scored 6/7, remained undefeated and gained 4 Elo rating points

Group photo of the prize winners

The third leg of the series is set to kick off on February 5, 2024, with the grand finale concluding the series on March 11, 2024.


A total of 92 players took part from various parts of the country in this seven-day, seven round Under-15 Rating tournament. It was organized by and at Indian Chess School in Mumbai, Maharashtra from 19th to 25th December 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
Guru, PrakashIND1701629,53024,5005
Soni, AtharvIND160562831,526,5006
Darsh, ShettyIND1650627,53024,2505
Arjun, SinghU08IND12595,52727,519,5005
Ishaan, A TendolkarIND14435,5262922,0004
Kush, Ajay AgarwalIND1404529,532,520,7504
Tanmay, Sanjay MoreIND052932,522,5004
Kshaunish, Prakash JaiswalIND1374528,53221,0004
Arnav, Ashish ThatteIND12275283018,5005
ACMChheda, RivanIND110152729,520,2503
Parv, H HakaniU08IND12015272917,0005
Pasbola, SamvidU10IND1269525,52818,7504
Shah, PurvaanIND1300525,527,518,7504
Agraval, ShravanaIND12375252818,7504
Ekam, ChatterjeeIND10645252817,5005



Indian Chess School

About the Author

Praful Zaveri is the founder of Indian Chess School and holds the titles of FIDE Instructor (1st FI from India), FIDE Arbiter (FA), FIDE Trainer (FT) and FIDE International Organizer (IO). He is also the author of The Chess Course – the book which has sold 100000 copies.

Contact Us