chessbase india logo

Ram Vishal Parab triumphs at 360 One Wealth Junior Under-15 GP Series 1 Rating 2023

by Praful Zaveri - 30/11/2023

Ram Vishal Parab scored an unbeaten 6.5/7 to win 360 One Wealth Junior Under-15 GP Series 1 Rating 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the competition. Arvind Iyer, Arnav Mahesh Koli and Paras Dilip Bhoir scored 6/7 each. They secured second, third and fourth place respectively according to tie-breaks. Ram defeated the eventual second runner-up Arnav in the sixth round. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹250000. The top three prizes were ₹50000 + trophy, ₹30000 and ₹25000 each. This was Ram Vishal's seveth tournament triumph of the year. It is also his first-ever rating tournament victory of his career. Photos: FT IA IO Praful Zaveri/Indian Chess School

Ram Vishal's first rating tournament victory

Ram Vishal Parab secured the championship title in the inaugural leg of the 360 One Wealth Grand Prix Series by securing a comfortable draw in his final-round match against Atharva Soni. Ram, in turn, earned a prize of ₹50000 along with the dazzling trophy. Ram chose a cautious strategy to counter Atharva's Giuoco Piano opening, systematically exchanging pieces at regular intervals. Despite gaining a pawn advantage on move 27, he ultimately opted for a truce.

Champion - Ram Vishal Parab 6.5/7
The rising talent of Mumbai chess - Ram Parab wins 360 One wealth Under-15 GP1 | Video: ChessBase India

A tie occurred for the second-place position, with the top-seeded Paras Bhoir, second-seeded Arvind Iyer, and third-seeded Arnav Koli all scoring 6 points each. The tie-breakers ultimately favored Arvind, securing him the second-place position, while Arnav and Paras had to settle for third and fourth place, respectively. Arvind received a prize of ₹30000, while Arnav and Paras were awarded ₹25000 and ₹15000 respectively.

Runner-up - Arvind Iyer 6/7

Second Runner-up - Arnav Mahesh Koli 6/7

Anirudh Subramanian, Aaren Malhotra, and Bharati Shlok were named the top unrated players of the tournament while Aum Bhat, Sherwin Prabhudabholkar, and Sarah Jacob were recognized as the standout players from the Indian Chess School. The winners of the tournament organized by the Indian Chess School received a total of Rs.2,50,000 in cash prizes and 24 medals.

Best Game prize winners

The innovative concept of the series is to adjudicate 'Game of the Day'. The legendary Grandmaster Pravin Thipsay was the jury. He used to examine the games on top 15 boards and decide the winner. The prize was an autographed board signed by him.

Best Game prize winners

Round 1 - Paras Bhoir

Round 2 - Atharv Soni

Round 3 - Arnav Mahesh Koli

Round 4 - Darsh Shetty

Round 5 - Ram Vishal Parab

Round 6 - Samvid Pasbola

Round 7 - Arvind Iyer

Ram Vishal Parab scored 6.5/7, remained undefeated and gained 55.6 Elo rating points

Players in action at Indian Chess School in Mumbai, Maharashtra

The giant 5 feet long champion's trophy and medals

The second leg of this series, evolving into a significant platform for young talents, is set to commence on December 19, 2023.


A total of 133 players took part from various parts of the country in this seven-day, seven round Under-15 Rating Open tournament. It was organized by and at Indian Chess School in Mumbai, Maharashtra from 15th to 21st November 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
14Ram, Vishal ParabIND16306,530,532,529,7506
22ACMIyer, ArvindIND1846630,53327,5005
33Arnav, Mahesh KoliIND17746303326,5006
41Bhoir, Paras DilipIND1875628,532,527,0006
57Soni, AtharvIND15595,5323627,0004
65Guru, PrakashIND16165,531,53525,5005
76Darsh, ShettyIND15995,531,533,524,7505
815Shah, PurvaanIND13005,526,529,522,2505
911Vageesh, SwaminathanIND13945,524,525,517,5005
1036Pasbola, SamvidU10IND110452932,520,5005
1121Agraval, ShravanaIND121752829,518,0005
128Jagesia, DakshIND1549527,53020,5004
1323Naksh, MalikU10IND120452730,520,5005
1410Mayuresh, Laxlabh DesaiIND143252729,518,7504
1516Ruchit, D AcharyaIND1299526,530,520,0005



Indian Chess School

About the Author

Praful Zaveri is the founder of Indian Chess School and holds the titles of FIDE Instructor (1st FI from India), FIDE Arbiter (FA), FIDE Trainer (FT) and FIDE International Organizer (IO). He is also the author of The Chess Course – the book which has sold 100000 copies.