chessbase india logo

Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

by Shahid Ahmed - 12/11/2023

GM Deep Sengupta and GM Sayantan Das scored 7.5/9 each at Capechecs Open part of 21st Cap d'Agde Grand Prix International 2023. Deep won the tournament due to better tie-breaks, Sayantan secured second place. Deep remained unbeaten. He went into the final round with a sole lead 7/8, a half point ahead of the rest and drew against GM Bilel Bellahcene (ALG). Bilel finished third 7/9. Sayantan defeated IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H to finish second. Mehar was placed eighth. GM Raja Rithvik R is the only other Indian to make a top ten finish. He scored 6.5/9 to finish ninth. The total prize fund was €12000. The top three prizes were €3000 + trophy, €1800 and €1400 each respectively. This is Deep's second tournament triumph of the year after winning 22nd Najdorf Memorial 2023 few months ago. Photos: ©PTextoris-CAPECHECS

Deep's second tournament triumph of 2023

GM Deep Sengupta drew against the Algeria no.1 GM Bilel Bellahcene in the final round to win the tournament with an unbeaten 7.5/9 score. GM Sayantan Das also scored the same. He secured second place according to tie-breaks. This is Sayantan's second consecutive runner-up finish in France.

Champion - GM Deep Sengupta 7.5/9

Runner-up - GM Sayantan Das 7.5/9

GM Deep Sengupta pondering over his next move

GM Deep Sengupta scored an unbeaten 7.5/9, performed at 2663

8th IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H 6.5/9

9th GM Raja Rithvik R 6.5/9

GM Deep Sengupta en route his penultimate round victory over GM Raja Rithvik R

A total of 204 players including 16 GMs, 32 IMs, 2 WGMs and 5 WIM took part from 18 countries across the world in this tournament. The eight-day nine-round Swiss League Rating Open tournament was organized by Capechecs at Ccas Cap d'Agde Holiday Center in Cap d'Agde, France from 28th October to 4th November 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds per move starting from move no.1.

Final standings

Pl NomEloCat.FedeLigueClubPtsTr.Bu.Perf
1gSENGUPTA Deep2467 FSenM43½52½2663
2gDAS Sayantan2486 FSenM39½47½2604
3gBELLAHCENE Bilel2520 FSenMESTBischwiller745½54½2601
4mGIREL Joseph2494 FJunMPACMarseille-Echecs744532603
5gSHCHEKACHEV Andrei2505 FSepMIDFTremblay Athletique Club - TAC Echecs742512627
6gFEDORCHUK Sergey A.2564 FSenMARALyon Olympique Echecs741½502551
7mDROIN Augustin2468 FCadMCVLC'Chartres Echecs736½442491
8mMEHAR Chinna Reddy C.h.2361 FSenM46½552575
9gRAJA RITHVIK R2495 FJunM44542527
10gSIVUK Vitaly2454 FSenM41½512536



Official site

Tournament Details

Related news:
Harikrishnan A Ra dominates 2nd Noisiel Blitz Rating Open 2024, third in Classical

@ 07/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani wins double in France

@ 30/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Melkumyan wins O2C Doeberl Cup, Deep and Kunte finish tied third

@ 24/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us