chessbase india logo

Antonio Viani wins double in France

by Shahid Ahmed - 30/10/2019

IM Antonio Viani D'cunha scored an unbeaten 7.0/9 to become champion in 5th Liffré International Open in France. He finished a half point ahead of the runner-up IM Pierre Bailet of France. IM P Konguvel also scored 6.5/9 and he finished shared second. GM Sundararajan Kidambi and IM Satyapragyan Swayangsu scored 6.0/9 each to finish at shared seventh position. All four Indians who participated in this tournament finished in top ten. Antonio also won the Blitz event by scoring 8.0/9 and suffering only one loss. He finished a full point ahead of the runner-up Raphael Lemasle of France. A brief report of the tournament with games and photos. Photo: Anne Ruhlmann / Liffré Open 2019

Antonio Viani wins 5th Liffré Open International

IM Antonio Viani D'cunha scored an unbeaten 7.0/9 to win 5th Liffré Open International. He defeated strong Indian GM Sundararajan Kidambi in the final round to win the tournament.

Champion Viani with the podium finishers runner-up Pierre Bailet (right) and second runner-up Nikolov Momchil (left) | Photo: Anne Ruhlmann / Liffré Open 2019

Viani faced both second and third place finishers

Antonio also won the Blitz event with a score of 8.0/9, suffering only one loss in the third round of the tournament. He finished a full point ahead of the runner-up Rafael Lemasle.

Antonio dominated the Blitz event too | Source: Official site

Konguvel scored 6.5/9 and finished joint second | Photo: Anne Ruhlmann / Liffré Open 2019

Antonio's best win was against compatriot IM P Konguvel in round 7. The eventual champion played the rook endgame correctly which eventually made Konguvel commit an unforced error which helped him secure the full point.

Antonio - Konguvel, round 7

Find out the correct plan for Black here

What is the correct continuation for White here?

In the final round, Antonio faced another compatriot in the form of strong GM Sundararajan Kidambi.

The final round game at the top board was a wild one | Photo: Anne Ruhlamann / Liffré Open 2019

Kidambi - Antonio, round 9

Position after 20...Nxf2

Photo Gallery

Kidambi scored 6.0/9 and finished at shared seventh position | Photo: Anne Ruhlmann / Liffré Open 2019

IM Satyapragyan also scored 6.0/9 and finished at shared seventh position | Photo: Anne Ruhlmann / Liffré Open 2019

The tournament hall | Photo: Anne Ruhlmann / Liffré Open 2019

Top boards in action | Photo: Anne Ruhlmann / Liffré Open 2019

The beautiful trophies, mementoes and medals for the prize winners | Photo: Anne Ruhlmann / Liffré Open 2019

The Prize winners | Photo: Annel Ruhlmann / Liffré Open 2019

Fun Fact

All four Indian players finished in top 10. In all five editions of the tournament, Indian players have always participated in this event. With the exception of the year 2018, all previous editions were won by Indians, 2015 - Stany, 2016 - Thejkumar and 2017 - Venkatesh.

Final Standings in the Open A section

Complete standings


Official site

History of the tournament

Related news:
Harikrishnan A Ra dominates 2nd Noisiel Blitz Rating Open 2024, third in Classical

@ 07/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhimanyu Puranik clinches 40th Cappelle la Grande Open 2024 with a 2686 performance

@ 13/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sushanth Kamabathula wins 1st Festival du Manoir Hotel Touquet Golf Resort Open 2024

@ 11/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharath Subramaniyam H clinches 37th Cannes Open 2024 with a 2661 performance

@ 04/03/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sankalp Gupta sensational at 20th Bois Colombes Master 2023 with a 2712 performance

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh M wins 32nd Caen Open 2023, Nubairshah third

@ 14/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta clinches 21st Capechecs Open 2023, Sayantan Das second

@ 12/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Petrov wins 1st Annemasse International Festival 2023, Sayantan second and Sahaj third

@ 06/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karthikeyan Murali clinches 1st Imaweb Trophy GM Tournament 2023

@ 03/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Iniyan wins 27th Creon Open 2023, Bharath Subramaniyam second

@ 30/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian Bogner clinches 96th Paris IdF Masters 2023, Harshavardhan second and Karthik Venkataraman third

@ 26/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishna wins French Top 16 for Asnières le Grand Échiquier

@ 13/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Rohith Krishna clinches 19th Malakoff Open 2023

@ 15/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christian Bauer wins 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial, Priyanka second and Karthik third

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshavardhan wins Manoir hotel Touquet golf resort Open 2023, Iniyan second and Nitin third

@ 13/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sayantan Das convincingly clinches 6th Cannes Chess Open 2023, becomes India's 81st Grandmaster

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sethuraman wins 39th Cappelle la Grande Open 2023 on his 30th birthday, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 25/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pranesh conquers 33rd City of Cannes Summer Open 2022

@ 24/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marc' Andria Maurizzi clinches 2nd Bastia Open 2022, M R Venkatesh second

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil clinches 7th Noisiel Open, Vignesh second and Karthik third

@ 20/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Andrei Shchekachev triumphs at Paris IdF Masters 2022, Harsha Bharathakoti second

@ 18/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Maxime Lagarde triumphs at 20th Sautron Open 2022, Sidhant second and Bala Chandra third

@ 13/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaly Sivuk wins 2nd La Plagne Chess Festival 2022 Masters, Iniyan second and Sayantan third

@ 10/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deep Sengupta triumphs 18th Vandoeuvre Open 2021

@ 25/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Antonio Viani dominates 2nd Kudremukh All India Rapid Rating 2019

@ 17/12/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Karnataka State Open: Viani is the champion

@ 27/05/2017 by IA Vasanth BH (en)

Contact Us